We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“where not to stay in duluth mn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Downtown Duluth Inn
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed 23 September 2013

bathtub rust stained, safety lock on door broke if no rooms availabe in the entire town, better off sleeping in car. staff will lie to you, not very helpful. it will be a very cold day in hell, when I stay in another best western. the staff really didnt give a damn. i booked a smoking room, many months prior, confirmed a few days prior, then upon checkin, said no smoking was state law not true, because i stayed in another motel, which was previously booked as smoking, and asked the desk clerk about the law, never heard of it. up yours best western!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Ronald B,

I am truly sorry we did not provide you with an excellent stay and offer my apologies. Please don't let this one bad experience reflect poorly on the Best Western family of hotels, which are all independently owned and operated. We would like the opportunity to discuss this personally with you and hope you will contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com at your convenience. We value your business and your feedback and hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is not a very nice Best Western hotel. There is obviously a big difference in room quality at this hotel. My colleague and I have first floor rooms with outside entrance doors. These rooms are poor at best - no amenities and small. There are second floor rooms with internal entrance doors that must be better based on other's comments. Room 121 has a very small stand-in shower, not a tub shower. Breakfast area is super small. This hotel is very old and is in need of a makeover. Will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetaGuardPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear BetaGuardPM,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your review. I'm sorry you were disappointed in us and offer my apologies that we did not meet your expectations. We value your business and appreciate your feedback. We are an older property and some of our rooms are small, with showers only. Our downtown location is the most important thing to most of our guests, and we endeavor to provide a clean and comfortable stay for everyone. If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com. I hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

First time stay at the downtown Best Western location in Duluth. Would definitely stay again. Continental breakie and -price of accommodation very good. Did not expect French toast and sausages at breakfast so this was a bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Grandma037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The parking was unhandy (steeply sloped), traffic difficult on a busy one-way street, and the room was so small that one of the beds was up against the heating/cooling unit. It was impossible to reach the window/ curtains due to the bed in the way. Definitely not the place for elderly or anyone with any sort of mobility issues. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear KathPM,

I am very sorry you were unhappy with us during your recent stay and offer my sincere apologies for any discomfort you experienced here. I agree, we are not a great choice for folks who have mobility issues, understand your frustration. We appreciate your business and value your input, as it helps us improve in areas that need attention. We would like the chance to make amends and hope you will contact us via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can continue this discussion personally. I hope you were able to enjoy other aspects of your visit to Duluth.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We just spent 2 nights at this motel and we were pleasantly pleased. Rooms were updated and clean, and it was very quiet. We enjoyed the downtown location as it was with in walking distance to most shops, bars etc. There were some homeless people as reviews had stated but they were harmless. There was enough parking the first night but the second night we had to park in the back lot. It was well lit and I felt comfortable leaving my vehicle there. The motel was one of the nicer ones I have stayed in. The flowers out front were very pretty and the staff was nice for the most part. Watch out for the brown haired lady that works the front desk, she was very rude and had the personality of a stick when we checked in. It was a busy labor day weekend and pride in Duluth so I could see how you could be over whelmed. We had issues with our TV and the night staff came right over and was very helpful. I mentioned the checkin and she apologized and said that wasnt the first complaint she had recieved that day and that the lady was the assistant GM. She was way more helpful in offering suggestions in the downtown area and canal park. You are about 3/4 of a mile from Canal park but can take the walk way through the Holiday Inn. We explored the crap out of Duluth so we were rarely in our rooms. I would stay here again. The breakfast looked decent but we did not have it.

Room Tip: Room 246 is where we stayed. By stair way was noiser in am but otherwise a great location and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoopy2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Myself and my boyfriend went on a weekend trip to Duluth and stayed at the Downtown Bestwestern. We had a wonderful stay, the room was extremely clean and well maintained. The beds were very comfortable. The main lobby was great and the people working the front desk were very helpful! There was enough parking provided for all guests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This has been our 4th trip/stay in Duluth at this hotel & each time the experience has been the same; clean rooms, friendly & helpful staff & a great value for our money. Location allows us to leave our vehicle parked & walk to most of the sights that we want to visit. This hotel is easily in walking distance to many fine eating establishments & bars. The rooms have always been clean & everything in the rooms have worked, ex.: TV, showers, lights, a/c, etc...! The breakfast is simple, but good. It's a nice way to start your day. Plus it's fun to interact with some of the other guest in the cozy setting. As long as there are rooms available here when I visit Duluth, I'll be staying again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Robert J,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your many stays, and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#3 of 31 in Duluth
424 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downtown Duluth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Inn

Address: 131 W 2nd St, Duluth, MN 55802-2193 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range: £55 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing