We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“duluth comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Downtown Duluth Inn
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Best Western Downtown Duluth offers the most value for your money and the caring staff goes out of their way to insure your comfort. The room was great and roomy with comfortable bedding. Only thing missing form room was the ability to use a microwave but there is one in the lobby for use.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Fred R,

Thanks so much for sharing your nice comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations and that you found us to be a good value. We value your business and appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. I hope you will be our guest again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

vvOur room was right next to an entrance door that continuously slammed through the evening, night and morning. The room was clean though very small and on a busy street. We got no sleep with all of the door slamming and stair stomping. The free breakfast was good, with french toast and sausage. If you can manage to get a room away from the street and entrance door you may get some sleep. I would not recommend for a stay longer than one or two nights. Staff was friendly. In the summer, you may be able to walk to Canal Park and Fitgers, but it would be a good 15-20 min walk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Christine R,

Thanks for posting comments about your recent stay with us. I am truly sorry you were unable to sleep due to noise and offer my sincere apologies. We value your business and your input and appreciate your positive remarks. We'd like to make this up to you and hope you will contact us via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can continue this conversation personally. I hope you will give us the opportunity to make amends.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Duluth, MN in February is frozen. Lake Superior is covered in ice as are the city streets and the hotel parking lot. The hotel rooms are dated but clean and most important well heated when it is -20 F. At breakfast, the coffee was hot and hearty and food offerings varied enough for most travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaymondCChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear RaymondCChicago,

Thanks for posting your positive review about your recent stay with us. Guest safety and comfort are our top priorities and we work hard to make sure our guests are happy during their stay with us. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel is a great value if you want to stay in downtown Duluth. The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and helpful and the price was cheap. There is off street parking and that is very hard to come by in downtown Duluth. If you are in Duluth and are looking for the best value for a clean place to stay this is it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bradley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Bradley J,

Thank you for making the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. It's guests like you who make our jobs keeping the hotel at the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a good, clean, basic hotel in the heart of downtown Duluth, Minnesota. I am very appreciative to have a pet-friendly accommodation option to choose from when planning a fun weekend with friends. Very close to shopping and dining options as well as an excellent local theatre company.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Pamela S,

Thanks for choosing our hotel and sharing your review. It's fun for us, too, when guests bring their pets and we get to know them during their visit. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

For a very reasonable price I got clean, decent room that while definitely dated, but comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Being right downtown I was within walking distance to pretty much everything. So while it needs some updating it's a good place to stay and I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Kristina H,

Thanks for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you like what and how we do things here and hope we can serve you again the next time you are in Duluth.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

If your looking for a place to just crash for the night and be close to downtown then this place is great for the price. Stayed here on a Sat last Oct with some friends on our way to Minni. Our room was basic but clean, front desk staff were super. We arrived late at night, the main parking was completely full and we were directed to the back parking lot, which in the dark was hard to find the entrance. This is one area I thought needed some improvement, the lot was dark and could use some re-paving. But otherwise, it had the free breaky and was close to canal park where we went to party at Grandmas sports garden, had a blast. We will be staying here again in June, happen to get it on hotwire for an even better deal, was glad we got it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiVs_2_TraVeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear LiVs_2_TraVeL,

Thanks for choosing our hotel and sharing your great review. We are proud to provide excellent service and accommodations at a reasonable price and pleased to know you found us to be a good value. I appreciate your comments about our parking lot and want you to know we are looking at various options to make it better. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#5 of 31 in Duluth
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downtown Duluth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Inn

Address: 131 W 2nd St, Duluth, MN 55802-2193 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range: £57 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing