We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Downtown Duluth Inn
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Mora, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Walking distance from downtown which is nice! If your upstairs it's a great view of Duluth. Dog friendly but if you're down stairs its a long loop through the hotel to get out back where the grass is. Some of the rooms are small but the price is right.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zenbaby02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear zenbaby02,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your nice review. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    111
    89
    45
    39
See reviews for
89
128
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winsted, MN
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Our stay at this Best Western was a good experience. It is a good location for anything downtown and it is near Canal Park. The rooms are small but nicely furnished and very clean. The parking area and entrance are on a slant -- but what isn't in Duluth! The Continental Breakfast was good -- fresh and tasty. There is coffee at all times in the lobby and popcorn! That was a treat. We only stayed one night but were very pleased with the accomodations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank KLD-DPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear KLD-DPD,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your nice review. It is always gratifying to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We love the location. Sometimes the rooms have an issue but it's never been bad enough to quit staying. The positives far outweigh any negatives. We have stayed many weekends in the past few years. We feel the price we pay is a good value compared with other places we've stayed at in the past in the Twin Ports area. Some issues in past stays: Small bathroom/shower Cold floor Noisy heater blower Heater located too close to the side of the bed Room entry door difficult to unlock/close or open

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Rose L,

Thank you for your loyalty, and for taking the time to share your comments. I'm glad you now you can count on us to meet your lodging needs when visiting Duluth. I'm sorry about the issues you've experienced here and hope you were happy with our response when you reported them to us. Please continue to let us know how we can best serve you during your future visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walker, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Best Western Downtown Duluth offers the most value for your money and the caring staff goes out of their way to insure your comfort. The room was great and roomy with comfortable bedding. Only thing missing form room was the ability to use a microwave but there is one in the lobby for use.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Fred R,

Thanks so much for sharing your nice comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations and that you found us to be a good value. We value your business and appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. I hope you will be our guest again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

vvOur room was right next to an entrance door that continuously slammed through the evening, night and morning. The room was clean though very small and on a busy street. We got no sleep with all of the door slamming and stair stomping. The free breakfast was good, with french toast and sausage. If you can manage to get a room away from the street and entrance door you may get some sleep. I would not recommend for a stay longer than one or two nights. Staff was friendly. In the summer, you may be able to walk to Canal Park and Fitgers, but it would be a good 15-20 min walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Christine R,

Thanks for posting comments about your recent stay with us. I am truly sorry you were unable to sleep due to noise and offer my sincere apologies. We value your business and your input and appreciate your positive remarks. We'd like to make this up to you and hope you will contact us via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can continue this conversation personally. I hope you will give us the opportunity to make amends.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Duluth, MN in February is frozen. Lake Superior is covered in ice as are the city streets and the hotel parking lot. The hotel rooms are dated but clean and most important well heated when it is -20 F. At breakfast, the coffee was hot and hearty and food offerings varied enough for most travelers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaymondCChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear RaymondCChicago,

Thanks for posting your positive review about your recent stay with us. Guest safety and comfort are our top priorities and we work hard to make sure our guests are happy during their stay with us. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
remere, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel is a great value if you want to stay in downtown Duluth. The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and helpful and the price was cheap. There is off street parking and that is very hard to come by in downtown Duluth. If you are in Duluth and are looking for the best value for a clean place to stay this is it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bradley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Bradley J,

Thank you for making the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. It's guests like you who make our jobs keeping the hotel at the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#7 of 33 in Duluth
376 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downtown Duluth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Inn

Property: The Downtown Duluth Inn
Address: 131 W 2nd St, Duluth, MN 55802-2193 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing