We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always start with dessert first.”
Review of Va Bene Caffe

Va Bene Caffe
Ranked #4 of 260 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Family owned and operated, fresh Italian. Not your nonna's trattoria. Pastas, salads,pizzas, staek,fish, fresh baked desserts and gelato. Full bar, fantastic wine list and specialty cocktails. Perched over looking Lake Superior with the best view of the lift bridge and harbor.
Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always start with dessert first.”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have always eaten on the deck. Who would miss a chance to have a view of that lake. The service is always friendly and helpful. The food is marvelous. Sometimes we just stop in for coffee, bread and soup. Don't forget the gelato. You have to make room for that!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frammaolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    147
    45
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable, not flashy”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We live in Duluth and eat at this restaurant often. Frankly, their porch overlooking Lake Superior is the primary reason we go there. There isn't anyplace else to eat in Duluth with a location this nice. The top of the Radisson has a revolving restaurant with an exceptional view, but Va Bené is much closer to the big lake.

Their pasta is okay but not exceptional. I ordered something with their own home-made pesto on it, and, as far as I could tell, it had NO GARLIC in it! Perhaps they are trying not to offend Minnesotans with timid taste buds. It seemed bizarre to me. I like their salads and seafood. The wine list is not very long, but if you pick carefully, you can get a decent glass.

Living here in the non-tourist season means we get a table immediately and receive good service. Like any other tourist town, Duluth's restaurants will have less service and fewer tables for you during the season. Be sure to sit on the annex-porch near sunset. You'll be glad you did.

Helpful?
2 Thank Zanytrio684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
652 reviews
472 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Beraducci has a hit!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

What a great place to stop in Duluth! We enjoyed the food and the view!

Inspired: the great view of Lake Superior

Food: very good

Service: good

Atmosphere: busy and friendly

Return: Absolutely!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 275GTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Very good!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I have been to this restaurant 3+ times and it has always been good. The service is very very good, and the restaurant is the perfect size upstairs. I have never been downstairs, but I believe large parties go down there. The food is great, the best you can get by canal park.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Willie3130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, MN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little gem”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Every dish is made from scratch, if you love pasta this is it. Good salad selections, front row seat to Lake Superior.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNGirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Va Bene Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing