We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check your itemized bill carefully.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Check your itemized bill carefully.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

Be wary of the additional charges for the room safe, automatically tacked on to your bill every night. They appear in your bill as "Safe w/Ltd Warranty" and "Safe Tax." The desk clerk at check out told me that you are supposed to let them know when checking in whether you will be using the safe or not. Because there was no posted notice and because I was not informed ahead of time I say they have a scam going here. I suspect many unknowingly pay this additional charge.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqTravelr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    429
    214
    53
    31
See reviews for
356
323
81
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

Days Inn in Duluth is my preferred Duluth hotel. We stay there often, and in fact I had a very nice stay there 3 days ago. Staff members are mostly very helpful, rooms are simple but very clean, and the location is not scenic but it is right in the heart of Duluth's shopping area. I've previously written one of the better reviews of this hotel on Trip Advisor.

This hotel is 5 minutes from DLH, so I'm disappointed to say that this is not the hotel to reserve if you are flying into Duluth. If your flight gets cancelled or delayed and it's after 4 PM, even if you call as soon as you know, you will be charged for the room. There are limited flights into Duluth and for various reasons, a fair number get waylaid or delayed (the #1 reason is called Chicago O'Hare, the source of many Duluth flights). In my case, I knew by 5 PM Duluth time that my flight had been grounded and our first call was to the Days Inn. There was a fair amount of time left to re-rent that room. Instead, I'm paying a premium June Saturday price for a Days Inn where I'm not staying, while I pay 1/3rd the price for a luxury Hyatt hotel where I am.

We'll stay at the Days Inn again, no doubt. I'll even continue to recommend it through our business under the right circumstances. But I won't stay there again or recommend it again if airline flights into Duluth are involved. Considering their unforgiving cancellation policy, it's an unnecessary risk.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcsue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert Lea, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

This is a great hotel to stay at! The rooms were outstanding and very clean, and the staff was excellent and very nice! The location is good too, it took about 8 minutes to get downtown or to canal park, but, all in all it was a great place to stay at! Thank you for a great stay and service!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhbellydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
196 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

Stayed 3 nights on a business trip. This is about the 5th + time I have stayed in this hotel over the last few years. Some, if not all, rooms have been remodeled. Comfortable bed, small bathroom - have to shut the door to get the toilet paper. Large TV in room with fridge. This area is set back up in the hills, so there is no view for those looking for glimpes of Lake Superior. Morning complementary breakfast is okay. I appreciate popcorn, chips and salsa when arriving in the evening. There is a computer to use for those without laptops, but the service is very slow - and people are usually waiting to use it.
Important notes: No elevator. Shower heads low. Not enough open electrical outlet plug-ins.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNSandSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

We have stayed here fairly often and it gets better with every stay. The breakfast continues to get better and they have added a cookie, nacho, and popcorn evening snake time which was great after a cold day of snowshoeing.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happycow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenora
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

The nonsmoking rooms near back still permeated into hall way.
I saw a SAFE in the room but did not use it. Upon check out they charged ~2.50 per day but with a lobby busy with people checking out, I thought the amounts listed on bill were taxes. I phoned back to ask for credit adjustment and they REFUSED to consider request, simply because I did not complain at time of check out?

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenoraMusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

This is an extremely nice place to stay for the price. Very clean. New decor is really nice. Soft towels, good linens, comfortable bed, breakfast is good. Staff was very friendly. Terrific value. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fun_St_Paul_Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
3.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#12 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#22 of 33 in Duluth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall

Property: Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Address: 909 Cottonwood Avenue, Hwy 53 North & Hwy 194, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#12 Family Hotel in Duluth
#13 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn Miller Hill Mall is located just minutes from major recreational areas and the stunning north woods beauty. The all new beautifully decorated interior and superb customer service will make you glad you chose to stay at the Days Inn Miller Hill Mall. Located one block north off the junction of Highway 53 North and Highway 194, the Miller Hill Mall is just across the street and is the largest retail mall in northern Minnesota. Duluth is Minnesota's largest city outside of the Twin Cities area. With its lakeside setting and an incredible array of things to do, Duluth offers both excitement and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Duluth
Days Inn Duluth
Duluth Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing