We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A matter of expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Tri-Cities, WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A matter of expectations”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I spent a lot of time reading the reviews before I decided to book this hotel. This is really a matter of expectations. If you have stated other Raddison properties, then you may have high expectations that will not be realized. At least I didn't think that the stay at this hotel was any different, than stays I've had at Red Lion hotels, Holiday Inns, or even some older Hilton Hotels. And for the rate I was able to negotiate, with an upgrade to a small suite, I received value for money. This is often the case with older hotel properties (this hotel was built in 1969). The reason this is not a four star review is because, the hotels Wi-FI connections were difficult if not impossible to use. This is the first thing that the hotel needs to fix. Because the business traveler, needs wi-fi, and it needs to be good. As a leisure traveller this wasn't a necessity, but it appeared to be a problem in past reviews. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The pool area (while it could use an update) was adequate. We had breakfast at the restaurant, the view is spectacular. The room was clean, the bathroom was small, but clean. The room had a fridge and flat screen TV. So if you know what this property is and you get a good rate. Then you should have a good stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PMcBurney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your review. It is true we are showing our age, but to inform you we are going to be doing a full renovation. The renovation will begin this fall, the wifi will be included in this renovation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    308
    275
    290
    209
See reviews for
439
404
56
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

It's 3:00 AM, and I've had better experiences at Motel 6. Neither remote for either Sleep Number bed works (must be stuck on 100). The pillows are old and flat. The A/C unit sounds like a concrete mixer. The freezer compartment in the refrigerator has frost over an inch thick. The Wi-Fi is so slow, I'm not able to connect on my laptop. The TV is at least 20 years old. I had to walk the gauntlet of 8 employees having a group smoke right outside the front door to check in.

Oh, how the mighty have fallen. It's clear this place has been neglected for years, and the management team just doesn't give a damn.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Greg, thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologize on behalf of the Radisson Duluth and our team that your stay was less than satisfactory. It is our policy and promise to use a Yes I Can attitude and hope to make things right 100% of the time. We were not on our game in this situation and I am deeply sorry. I have addressed all these concerns with our team as to not let this happen in the future. I also would like to let you know that yes our hotel is 44 years old and we recently took on new ownership and management. The new owners have a planned renovation to begin Fall 2014 so hopefully you'll try us out again and we can give you a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Only thing good about this Hotel is the building looks good from outside and lobby area is good.
Once you enter the actual room then you will realize you made a big mistake..

Beds are like a decade old every thing in the room was really old.

I had seen some copper wires also hanging around AC.

I would never go to this Hotel again, this is not 3.5 Star only 0.5 Star for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raju_MSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Corporate at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards. Thank you for reaching out and taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is wore out - plain and simple. Everything felt worn and old. From the lobby to the bathrooms...time to remodel.

Elevators shook, hallways dark and dingy, rooms are outdated, noisy air conditioning that really didn't work. Shower drain was pulled out and of course didn't drain.

It was quiet, seemed pretty clean, and the beds were fine. Free parking, decent location, but careful walking around in DT Duluth. Construction right next door.

Staff was friendly, but they were wore out too. They just kept apologizing for everything that guests were complaining about.

No breakfast - coffee was good.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry that your stay was not satisfactory. I would like to inform you that we are recently under new ownership and management with a plan for a full hotel renovation to begin this fall. The areas of concern you pointed out have been noted and will be in the plans. Check back soon for a look at the plans for our renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Radisson in Duluth. This was advertised as a 3 1/2 star hotel, but the only thing deserving of the star rating that I could think of was the lobby & presumably the restaurant (which we did not have the occasion to try). The wear & tear of the parking garage and elevators are downright scary. The receptionist at the front desk had nothing but attitude when we asked if there was a room with a single available & didn't give us an answer, just handed us keys (which did turn out to be a single). The room was average, with a Select Comfort bed that felt like we were sleeping on an air mattress. It was not comfortable regardless of settings. The bathroom was the strangest setup I have ever seen, with the toilet attached to the vanity & barely enough room to turn around. Not impressed! For what this hotel normally charges per night, I have to be grateful we didn't have to pay full price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am very very sorry your stay was not satisfactory. We have been serving guests here for 44 years and we strive to give 100% satisfaction every time with a Yes I Can attitude. I am sorry you did not receive that from our Guest Service Representative. I would like to let you know that we are doing a full renovation in the fall and we hope to get back to that 100% satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waconia, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Run down needs a lot of work. Not what you expect from a Radisson Hotels. The restaurant on the 16th floor overpriced another disappointment. Not much more to say its out dated, rundown that has a lot of potential. REMODEL every floor with a clean slate instead of covering it up.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lnfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry that your stay was not satisfactory. I would like to inform you that we are under new ownership and management with a plan for a full renovation to begin this fall. Please check back soon to find out more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The entire hotel will undergo a full remodel starting Fall 2014. Like any property that is requiring updates, your experiences will probably be a direct reflection of the quality of your room.
We stayed at this property the weekend of UMD college graduation, so the entire town was booked. Parking can be a challenge, however there are two overflow lots the hotel uses when the ramp is full. Check-in was smooth. I last stayed at this property in 1999 and not much has changed. Our room however was OK. There were two double beds (sleep number beds, I am not a fan) and a clean shower with a wrap-around shower curtain. A newer flat screen TV, desk, no fridge but two complementary bottles of water. Also lots of towels in the bathroom. We were actually surprised the room was this nice based on other reviews we had read.
On the top floor is a rotating bar/restaurant. It is a nice place to relax and have a night cap before turning in.
I would stay at this property if the newer Canal Park hotels we normally stay at were already booked or overly priced. If you do stay here ask the front desk for a newer room.
Starting Fall of 2014 look for remodeling and construction to begin.

Room Tip: inquire about a newer room. Be aware remodeling is starting Fall 2014
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imreading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry your stay wasn't up to what should have been standard. Yes its true our hotel is showing its age, but like you said we are in the planning of a full renovation to begin this fall. Until then we still do have many rooms that are ready for a good night stay, frdges and microwaves are available upon request if not available standard to the room. These items will be available in all rooms at no additional charges. Expect brand new beds, the sleep number beds are no longer part of the Radisson standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#24 of 33 in Duluth
354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#20 of 33 in Duluth
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Property: Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Address: 505 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-1513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's landmark hotel located in the heart of Downtown Duluth. Enjoy our large indoor heated pool, whirlpool & sauna located on the lobby level. The fitness center is open 24 hours a day on the 2nd floor. Enjoy relaxing by the fireplace in our spacious lobby or using the business center on the main floor. Also enjoy the only 360 degree rotating restaurant JJ Astor located on the top floor of the hotel Breakfast 6:30am - 11am, Lunch 11am - 2pm, (closed 2pm-5pm daily)Dinner 5pm - 10pm. Bowery Brothers Sports Bar in the lower lobby open evening hours Friday/Saturday's during the winter. Radisson-Harborview is within walking distance to numerous attractions, restaurants, and the DECC. Duluth's Skywalk system is available 1/2 block from Radisson on Superior Street at Starbuck's. The recently renovated skywalk is heated/cooled, patrolled by "The Clean & Safe Team". Renovations 2015 Stage #1 renovations of all 268 rooms was completed as of 12/02/15 with new wall vinyl, new drapes, new blackout drapes, sheers, and new carpet. We also have replaced 400 of the Sleep Number beds that were full-size with queen size Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses back in early June. King Sleep Number beds will be replaced by December 31, 2015 with the Sealy pillow top mattresses; then we will no longer offer the Sleep Number experience at our property. We have recently added Keurig coffee brewers to all 268 rooms; as well as, upgraded hair dryers and upgraded linen package. Stage #2 will be the installation of our new custom furniture package starting mid-December. The design is a built-in design that we are sure all of our guest will enjoy. The rooms will be completed over a period of time and we will post updates as we get them completed. We are starting with the tower portion of our hotel and will end up with the hillside rooms in the annex. Room amenities to include, but not limited to, flat screen television tower section), I-Home radio, cordless phones, upgraded lighting package, additional outlets at the desk level, custom art, refrigerator/microwave in all 268 rooms; as well as, many more upgrades. Stage #3 will be the guest bathroom renovations that will be completed over the next few months in sections. Updates will follow. Grab & Run Breakfast each morning 5am - until the restaurant (JJ Astor opens) at 6:30am 7 days a week. Grab & Run is a Radisson brand standard available at all Radisson Hotels worldwide. Shuttle service available (please call for details) Pet friendly ($45/night per pet - please call for details) 100% non-smoking property Complimentary on-site parking Complimentary Wi-Fi Complimentary newspaper M-F in the lobby (WSJ, Duluth News, or USA) Keurig coffee brewers with upgraded condiments in all rooms 1875 Watt Hair dryers in all rooms Upgraded linen package in all rooms Lake view rooms ($45/night additional) Refrigerator/microwave ($10/night additional) Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses available (Qn/Qn) Sleep Number bed (King)until December, 2015 Sealy pillow top (King)as of December 16th, 2015 Our hotel has been serving guest for over 45 years; we are proud to be a union hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Duluth Harborview
Duluth Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing