We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Duluth, United States
1 review
“Needs Renovation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Don't be fooled by the pictures or the prices. This hotel is in serious need of a renovation and a big cleaning. Most of the hallways and rooms (I had to switch twice, so I've seen 3 rooms) have stained carpets and smell bad. The bathrooms look like they haven't been touched since 1990, nor does the rest of the hotel except for the lobby. Ruined my weekend trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We do apologize that your stay was not up to the standards we are known for. I would like to try to put some rumors to rest, as we are not misleading people at this point, we have recently been purchased by new owners who are in the planning stage of our full renovation. This renovation will include a full floor to ceiling update. We are simply waiting for the Brand to approve our renovation proposal. Once this happens we plan the renovation to begin as soon as October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    292
    265
    279
    201
See reviews for
421
380
52
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel room was extremely dirty...gross. Did not have updates, no fridge. The sheets were not changed, had stains on them. Not vacuumed, very, very dirty. The swim pool was extremely dirty. Food very overpriced with not a ton of choices however the view was good. Would not recommend. Totally outdated as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank JAY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We apologize for the disappointments you experienced during your stay in regards to the condition of our hotel. I can assure you that this is not the type of product that we at Radisson pride ourselves upon. We are working diligently to resolve these sorts of problems so future guests do not experience similar disappointments.

We hope you get the chance to stay with us in the near future so we have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Minneapolis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Duluth Radisson is dusty, dingy and slightly depressing. It's a neglected property in dire need of a significant renovation. The parking ramp is an eyesore with peeling paint everywhere. The hallways were dirty and littered with pizza boxes. The area outside the elevator, where customers stand and wait, is dirty and the garbage piled up on top of the receptacle. The walls are thin and not soundproof, so other guests are heard frequently late at night. Finally, the staff seemed not to care about our satisfaction. An example: the drainplug in the bathtub didn't work. This should be a simple fix for a Radisson hotel. When staff was notified of the problem, we were told that someone would be sent up to fix it. No one ever came to fix it over our 2 day stay.
We will never stay at this hotel again, and will opt for other chains besides Radisson in the future.

Room Tip: In the addition the walls are thin so it's noisy. I'd think the original tower has thicker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnesota_egger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was a great place to stay for comfort, location and amenities. The pool and spa were wonderfully large, the rooms were quiet and clean. The location was right in Downtown and close to all sites. We loved splurging on the top floor restaurant which rotates and gives a great view of the city from all angles.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 991th0mash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and review. We look forward to having you back again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had early morning hearing in federal court. I was "upgraded" to concierge floor room carpets were stained. door on cooling system was off and leaning. Later found the number bed to be hard as a rock without controls. Was moved to another room at 2 am and that number bed had a controller but only worked one side of the king size bed the other side was a rock. Morning came quick.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are sorry to hear you did not have a good night’s sleep due to the comfort of your bed. We know a good night’s rest is very important. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here many times over the years. It was in much better condition this time. Its an older hotel but in updated nice condition. Staff was excellent. We were on motor cycles and were treated good. Price was much nicer than some of the newer hotels. Convenient to the whole town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jsam28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will also be starting a facelift this fall so we will be even better next time you visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I understand that this facility is getting a facelift, I sincerely hope it's not losing any of it's charm. The JJ Astor restaurant on the 16th floor revolves in around 60 minutes, from that height even the hill is worth the look. Prices were reasonable and the food/service were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Patrick & Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for visiting and reviewing us here. Yes our JJ Astor restaurant is an amazing experience. We encourage all our guests to check it out and get the best view in downtown Duluth from many angles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#20 of 33 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#23 of 33 in Duluth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Property: Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Address: 505 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-1513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's landmark hotel located in the heart of Downtown Duluth. Enjoy our large indoor heated pool, whirlpool & sauna located on the lobby level. The fitness center is open 24 hours a day on the 2nd floor. Enjoy relaxing by the fireplace in our spacious lobby or using the business center on the main floor. Also enjoy the only 360 degree rotating restaurant JJ Astor located on the top floor of the hotel Breakfast 6:30am - 11am, Lunch 11am - 2pm, (closed 2pm-5pm daily)Dinner 5pm - 10pm. Bowery Brothers Sports Bar in the lower lobby open evening hours Friday/Saturday's during the winter. Radisson-Harborview is within walking distance to numerous attractions, restaurants, and the DECC. Duluth's Skywalk system is available 1/2 block from Radisson on Superior Street at Starbuck's. The recently renovated skywalk is heated/cooled, patrolled by "The Clean & Safe Team". Renovations 2015 Stage #1 renovations of all 268 rooms was completed as of 12/02/15 with new wall vinyl, new drapes, new blackout drapes, sheers, and new carpet. We also have replaced 400 of the Sleep Number beds that were full-size with queen size Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses back in early June. King Sleep Number beds will be replaced by December 31, 2015 with the Sealy pillow top mattresses; then we will no longer offer the Sleep Number experience at our property. We have recently added Keurig coffee brewers to all 268 rooms; as well as, upgraded hair dryers and upgraded linen package. Stage #2 will be the installation of our new custom furniture package starting mid-December. The design is a built-in design that we are sure all of our guest will enjoy. The rooms will be completed over a period of time and we will post updates as we get them completed. We are starting with the tower portion of our hotel and will end up with the hillside rooms in the annex. Room amenities to include, but not limited to, flat screen television tower section), I-Home radio, cordless phones, upgraded lighting package, additional outlets at the desk level, custom art, refrigerator/microwave in all 268 rooms; as well as, many more upgrades. Stage #3 will be the guest bathroom renovations that will be completed over the next few months in sections. Updates will follow. Grab & Run Breakfast each morning 5am - until the restaurant (JJ Astor opens) at 6:30am 7 days a week. Grab & Run is a Radisson brand standard available at all Radisson Hotels worldwide. Shuttle service available (please call for details) Pet friendly ($45/night per pet - please call for details) 100% non-smoking property Complimentary on-site parking Complimentary Wi-Fi Complimentary newspaper M-F in the lobby (WSJ, Duluth News, or USA) Keurig coffee brewers with upgraded condiments in all rooms 1875 Watt Hair dryers in all rooms Upgraded linen package in all rooms Lake view rooms ($45/night additional) Refrigerator/microwave ($10/night additional) Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses available (Qn/Qn) Sleep Number bed (King)until December, 2015 Sealy pillow top (King)as of December 16th, 2015 Our hotel has been serving guest for over 45 years; we are proud to be a union hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Duluth Harborview
Duluth Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing