We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our team manager was very disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Shoreview, Minnesota
1 review
“Our team manager was very disappointed.”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The place was no fun at all. It was like being in a reform school the people at the front desk were rude and had WAY too many rules. It was well below zero and we had to leave our hockey gear in the car and by morning all our stuff was frozen and wet because of the strict rules that said we weren't allowed to bring our hockey gear inside. There was a 10 o-clock lock down. They clearly did not want any hockey teams or groups staying. Duluth is a great town for a hockey tournament but this place was not the right place to stay. We had a co-op team that was trying to get to know each other, but that wasn't possible, unfortunatley. It is a great place to stay if you are old and go to bed super early except that the parking lot needs 4 wheel drive just to get to the inn. The maids were extremely friendly and helpful. The management likes their rules more then they like people.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    116
    100
    71
    59
See reviews for
195
89
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was our first time staying here. We were very disappointed. The room was clean and fine, but we had a connecting door to the room next to us and we could hear everything they were saying clearly. Also, the floors above us were so creaky that we could hear the people above us walking around. So much that we couldn't fall asleep until they went to bed and we woke up because we heard them walking. I live in an apartment and am used to hearing some noise from neighbors, but I have never experienced anything like this before, not even when I lived in the college dorms. Also, the beds were extremely uncomfortable and the heating unit was either really hot or really cold. The continental breakfast was disappointing and you could barely step into the room to look at the food it was so busy. Also, there were kids running around the halls up until midnight and again in the morning as well. We could hear people closing and opening their doors clear as day. We were very disappointed, needless to say we will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: I would suggest the top floor, so you don't have to deal with creaky floors above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Duluth hotels

New Hampton, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We have stayed here 3 time and have been treated very well on every visit. The staff was very nice and went out of their way to help us. The pool and hot tub were very nice. Breakfast was always very good. Will be staying there again and recommending it to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have stayed here 4 times and have been treated very well on every visit. The manager went out of his way to accomodate and assist us. There have been upgrades to the rooms and they are clean. The pool and the hot tub are a bonus, especially after a long days drive. Breakfast is good, especially waffles. The breakfast area is always clean. We will be staying again on our way thru the Duluth area. Thanks to all the staff for a place well run.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil3090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windom, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I called to check the cancellation policy of this hotel a week and a day before my check-in date. I was told by a very nice woman that I had until the Tuesday before til 4PM. (72 hours) Because our plans did indeed change I called the Tuesday before at 8AM....spoke with thee most RUDE MAN ever....he told me there was no way I could cancel this reservation...If I wanted it cancelled I had to do it 72 hours after I originally made it which was 4 weeks ago! NEVER in my life have I been spoke to like this from a front desk MANAGER as he claimed to be. I was able to go online and cancel the reservation, did receive a cancel confirmation number and did call the 800 reservation line to make sure it was cancelled. Now I will wait and see if he still tries to charge my credit card!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Mankato, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The room was old, but clean. The room was cheap, and my expectations were low; yet, this place didn't meet them. I don't know what the people upstairs were doing, but it was causing my entire room to shake. I called the front desk and it only became worse. The bed was lumpy. In the morning I was able to make my own waffles. That was fun. Check out is at an odd time, 10 am.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Spend 1 night here. Hotel is close to Spirit Mountain if looking for that location. Hotel was freshly painted and very clean. Front desk people are friendly. Pillows are terrible. Hallways are noisy and rooms are not sound proof if you are a light sleeper good luck. Beds not very comfortable as mattresses and box springs are both wrapped in plastic, so noisy every time you roll over.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duluth
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
6.9 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#23 of 33 in Duluth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#10 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Property: Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810-2127 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing