We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Suites Canal Park, Duluth, Minnesota”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Comfort Suites Canal Park, Duluth, Minnesota”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A pleasant surprise for the chain. Great accommodations, excellent location, lake view on the Lake Walk (next to the aerial lift bridge), excellent staff, very good complimentary breakfast. Next to Canal Park shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a Lake view room. I had 308.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Localmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
I am so glad that we can surprise you being a Comfort Suites and part of the Choice Hotel brands. We really aren't your typical Comfort Suites but pride ourselves as being one of the best in our brand. Our location next to the lake and other sites makes us a prime destination for many of our guests vacations. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    159
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
257
168
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My family has been coming to this hotel for the past 5 years, and we still love it! This hotel has the best room rates in canal park, and is right on Lake Superior. The rooms and building are clean and look nice. You also get a complimentary breakfast with your stay, which has a great selection of food!
I will defiantly be coming back to this hotel again, and I recommend it to anyone else wanting to stay in Duluth.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BVELock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Greetings! Thank you so much for being one of our loyal, returning guests! Five years is a long time and we appreciate you. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudsonville, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Very nice accommodations . Friendly desk personnel. Called by the front desk within a short time of getting to room to check if it was OK and if we needed anything else. Beautiful area next to Lake Superior...with a nice lake walk along the shoreline. Tasty breakfast buffet...plenty to choose from. Beautiful room....clean, comfortable beds....pillow choices(soft vs firm). Had reasonable good wireless internet speed and usb plugins to charge portable devices.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you so much for our comments on Trip Advisor about the Comfort Suites Canal Park. It sounds like we meet your expectations with all the amenities in our hotel. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
445 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We had only one night scheduled for Duluth on our Lake Superior Circle tour & are so glad that we selected this hotel for that one night. It is located on the canal so it is walking distance to several Restaurants & shops which was nice after traveling in a car all day.
As we arrived, we were instantly greeted by a smiling face behind the counter & this pleasant young lady handled our check in quickly.
We had a large clean room & were called by the front desk within the hour we checked in to see if everything was OK with our room & to please call if we had any needs.
If back in Duluth, we will stay in this nice well located hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for choosing us to be your lodging choice on your tour of Lake Superior! Our location is one of our biggest assets as we are right in the prime of Canal Park. Perhaps you will plan another tour and come stay with us longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
357 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We found a good Senior rate at this hotel in Canal Park. It's a great location with a view of the aerial bridge and close to everything. Once we parked our car we didn't have to drive anywhere else. The 50 cent trolley ride was located at the end of the parking lot and looped through downtown if you wanted a ride. The lake walk is right outside the door.

The hotel staff was accommodating and let us check in early since the room was ready. The beds were very comfortable with a selection of soft or firm pillows on each bed. The bathroom was spotless and looked like it had been recently updated. Towels were large enough and soft/fluffy. There was a microwave and refrigerator in the room. Controlling the temps in the room was easy and the air conditioning unit was quiet enough and not annoying.

Happy hour consisted of a cash bar and the only food item was a pan of meatballs so we passed.

There is outside seating on the lakeside and a large porch on the street side that had several Adirondack chairs and a couple of picnic tables. My only complaint was that smoking is allowed on the porch which was very annoying; I wanted to sit and read for awhile but couldn't sit long because of the constant flow of smokers polluting the space. It's a perfect place to relax and enjoy the area but smoke ruins it.

Breakfast was substantial and the dining area is large but when the hotel is full, it gets very busy and congested. Not a problem taking a breakfast tray back to your room though.

We will definitely book this hotel next time we go to Duluth.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd or 3rd floor room for the best views. We were on 2nd floor and In hindsight I wish I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you were able to get a great Senior rate at our hotel. Right now, we have alot of Seniors travelling and enjoy giving the discount to those who qualify. In reply to your comment about the smoking areas of the hotel. We are a completely non-smoking facility. We have areas on our deck that smokers may use. I apologize that you weren't able to fully enjoy our deck because of the smoke. We hope to be more specific about where smokers may smoke so that others may enjoy the beautiful deck too. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife and I took our two grandsons to visit Duluth in July. We enjoyed every aspect of the Comfort Suites Canal Park. Friendly and helpful staff, free parking (very meaningful in this busy location!), good hot breakfast and a lovely indoor pool. Had a ball!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosierdaddy12500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for the wonderful compliments about the Comfort Suites Canal Park. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Branch, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights during the Bayfront Blues Fest. We love the location and it's walking distance to the event. Staff were extremely friendly from the check in to the housekeeping staff and the people that serve the morning breakfast. Breakfast was very good and the staff did a great job keeping up since it was very busy and the hotel was full. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. On our checkout, we made reservations for next year for the same weekend. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNGrandma55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us during the Blues Festival. I am sure that you had a wonderful time at the event. I am glad that our location was perfect for getting back and forth between the Festival and the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 33 in Duluth
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#7 of 33 in Duluth
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Property: Comfort Suites Canal Park
Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802-2317
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#4 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing