We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
North Branch, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed 2 days with two granddaughters. We requested a balcony lake view and it was wonderful. We liked watching the ships enter and leave the port from our balcony. Our room was very spacious with 2 queen beds and a pull out couch. The breakfast was excellent with many selections and I was impressed that they had several gluten free options and even soy milk for those of us that prefer that. Lake view is definitely worth the extra money!

Room Tip: Lake view with balcony on 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNGrandma55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    151
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
250
160
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here on a Friday night in July on our way back from a Thunder Bay vacation. I couldn't ask for a better experience. We were not sure what to expect and were pleasantly surprised to have room on the first floor with a lake view. I could have spent the entire night and morning just staring out of the window. The rooms were very spacious and wi-fi was excellent. I was also impressed with the pool area and the fact that they had two hot tubs available. This was nice as we were able to use the hot tub in a more relaxing/quiet environment (without kids) while other families with children used the other hot tub.

The hot breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had. Personally, as someone who does not eat much meat, I liked that they had breakfast burritos instead of the normal egg, bacon, sausage and cereal options that come with the free breakfast.

Location was fantastic. We definitely took advantage of being able to walk around the canal. It was also nice being able to walk to nearby restaurants for a cocktail. We will definitely be back someday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esmara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We just came home to Iowa after two great nights at the Comfort Suites Canal Park in Duluth. If you like the Comfort Suites chain, this one will not disappoint. We chose a lakeside room with a balcony and were fortunate to be on the second floor. It cost more, but it was definitely worth it. The views of Lake Superior were fantastic with the boardwalk and bike path beneath us. Adjacent to the hotel is the famous lift bridge and shipping canal, where the giant "lakers" pass through on a regular basis during the shipping season. This hotel also features a complimentary hot breakfast that lasts until 10 am. Another great feature of this hotel is it's close proximity to restaurants and attractions in the canal park, where everything is within easy walking distance.
We travelled to Duluth to enjoy the "sea side" atmosphere of the Canal Park. The Comfort Suites just made the experience better than ever.

Room Tip: Lake side and balcony rooms are more expensive, but worth it to maximize your enjoyment of the Canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel! We reserved one of the jacuzzi suites with fireplace and lake view balcony. I called and requested the 2nd floor and they were able to grant this for us. Very clean, friendly staff and breathtaking views of Lake Superior from our "living room" window as well as balcony. Close and convenient to everything! The only complaint was that some of the TV channels kept going out on us, but that is quite minor compared to everything else. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCarter217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our daughter got married in Duluth last weekend and we reserved many rooms here for our family. We really enjoyed our stay and the views were amazing. The indoor and outdoor seating area for the free breakfast and cocktail area worked great as a gathering place for our family. The rooms were large and clean and had high thread count sheets. The day of the wedding many of us rented bikes right outside for $10. We were able to ride the lakeside trail many miles to the north thru many parks with nice scenery. Comfort Suites Canal Park is a fine place to stay when in Duluth...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FocusFactor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We loved our stay here. Granted, the price was steep, but all Duluth hotels are steep in the summer. We had a ground level King Suite, we put six people in the room with no problems. We were so pleasantly surprised to have a little porch sitting area... we could see the pier and lighthouse right from there! It was walking distance to our concert at Bayfront Park, which was really, really convenient. We also walked downtown one evening. Very pleased with the stay and everything about the hotel. The only disappointment is that we didn't have time to use the hot tub in the room!
Oh, and the pillows were fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissawolf14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel numerous times. It is our only choice, as we travel through the Duluth area. The rooms are lovely and, if you get a balcony room on the lakeside, the views are spectacular regardless of the season. It is fun to watch the huge ore and grain carriers moving in and out of the harbor. The continental breakfast is superb and has everything a traveler could hope for in the morning. There is usually a cocktail hour with complimentary snacks and an open bar. Nearby, within easy walking, are several excellent choices for restaurants, and enough stores to satisfy the most ardent shoppers. There is also the Lake Walk and the famous lift bridge right outside the room, and rental bikes and horse drawn carriages in the summer season.
This is a busy hotel in popular seasons, so make reservations far in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, lakeside in the "new" section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bud B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.3 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Property: Comfort Suites Canal Park
Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802-2317
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#4 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing