We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like coming home, but better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sharon, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just like coming home, but better!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Tim and Angie continue to outdo themselves and amaze us with all they provide and offer with such generosity and passion. You will not find a B&B that can hold a candle to theirs in terms of elegance, warmth, hospitality, sophistication, cleanliness, accomodation, and decadent cooking-- their breakfasts are works of art. It's clear to see that they strive to use seasonal and local ingredients whenever possible and that a lot of care is taken in planning meals to make each breakfast a memorable experience and true delight. Each guest is welcomed into their home like family; you're made to feel comfortable and important. Tim & Angie truly cater to every tiny detail, no matter how small....they absolutely sweat the small stuff and make it their personal mission to have guests leave their inn in a better state of mind than when they arrived. Everytime my husband and I leave A.G. Thomson House, we are well-rested and smiling, though it always tugs at our heartstrings a bit; it's like we're leaving our family... you will not find that anywhere else and it's why we cherish this place, and Tim and Angie, and what they've done to make it feel like our home too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinnamoncortney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We cannot thank you enough! Seeing the two of you each time you visit is like seeing family! You both exude happiness and it spreads to those of us around you! We hope everything works out, and we are seeing you in our neck of the woods soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
628
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at the A.G. Thomson House recently for three nights. It is in a quiet neighborhood with beautiful grounds. Our room had a whirlpool tub for two--perfect for relaxing after a day out and about. My husband remarked that Angie and Tim have done everything right. Being B&B fans for many years and having traveled extensively in the US, Canada, and Europe, we have a list in our heads of the "required" accoutrements. The Thomson House has them all, plus, the breakfasts are delicious and beautifully presented. Angie or Tim are always close by with dinner advice or just to chat. They have thought of everything. If we didn't live so far away we'd surely frequent this beautiful place. The Thomson House has become our new benchmark for the type of Inn/B&B we want to stay in.
Please check the A.G. Thomson website for Angie's amazing recipes.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Salyards room and loved the view of Lake Superior. Very sunny and cheerful with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenAndPatSacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you Ken and Pat! We had such a wonderful time getting to know you and learning of your connection to the area. We hope we were able to offer a relaxing place to call home after your very busy days, and we surely hope you will make it back here again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A.G.Thompson House B&B was very enjoyable! The grounds, rooms and amenities were fabulous and left is wanting for nothing. The Ryerson Room was very comfortable and the extra sitting room was such a nice addition. It is close to many restaurants, shopping and the beautiful north Shore of Lake Superior. Breakfasts are delicious and the company enjoyable. It was a great 3 day stay and we look forward to going again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornyPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siren, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is an excellent B&B! The owners are very welcoming, they keep the house and rooms spotlessly clean, and they provide a range of complementary amenities.
They will serve you breakfast in your room, or in the dining area (whichever you prefer). The food is delicious! We stayed two nights and enjoyed the breakfasts both mornings. Coffee, tea, cookies, and fresh fruit are made available throughout the day and night. A large selection of DVDs are also available to be watched in your room at any time.
The house is absolutely beautiful, both inside and out. The inside is very spacious but decorated so as to make it feel warm and comfortable. The outside has elaborate landscaping with several sitting areas surrounded with lovely planters and flowering shrubs. There are trails through the backyard and large gezebo in the front.
All in all, this is definitely the best B&B we have ever been to. I was surprised they could offer it at the price it is! We will definitely be visiting again!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a whirlpool, others have a balcony, or a fireplace. Just check the description -ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words! It was so nice having you here, and you were especially sweet when I didn't have my names straight! (: We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights for our wedding anniversary, and everything was wonderful. Tim and Angie were very friendly and accomodating hosts and had some good tips for exploring Duluth. The breakfasts were amazing and hot out of the oven, including the homemade scones and muffins. The breakfast room has a 24/7 supply of perfectly baked chocolate chip cookies and tea/coffee/cider. We did not eat dessert at any restaurant because of those cookies! Our room was also very comfortable and quiet, and we enjoyed just spending some time relaxing by the fire with our books. The rooms come with bathrobes, which is a nice touch, and they have a huge collection of DVDs that can be watched in the rooms. I would absolutely stay there again and recommend it to my family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My new husband and I could not have asked for a more warm and romantic location to spend our elopement in Duluth. We did a great deal of researching, and no other Bed and Breakfast could compare to the AG Thomson House. Once there, Tim and Angie were gracious hosts. You can tell they put a great deal of energy into the house and the grounds. The breakfasts were delicious and it was hard to go anywhere else in Duluth when there were so many lovely places to sit out and read on the grounds.

Room Tip: The Ryerson room was a beautiful sweet that felt very private. The bed was incredibly comfortable a...
See more room tips
Green Features: I was very impressed with the AG Thomson House's efforts to be environmentally friendly. They make it known on their website and in their rooms the efforts we can take during our stay to reduce the environmental impact of the B & B.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Tim and Angie are wonderful hosts as we have made this an annual fall getaway. This mansion converted into a b&b is a great place to get away for some r&r. The rooms are very cozy and accommodating with all the amenities. The morning breakfasts will be the highlight of your stay. They consist of fresh ingredients with unique blends of flavor and tastes. I could not think of a single improvement that could be made.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the Lake Superior Suite. It is the favorite of my wife and I.
See more room tips
Green Features: Information is posted in your room about making your stay environmentally-friendly, though it is entirely up to you.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.0 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#8 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
1.8 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#14 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Property: A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812-1944
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where Elegance meets Casual Comfort at our award winning Bed and Breakfast. Ideally located in the heart of Duluth's mansion district on 2 acres of private grounds with award winning gardens just minutes from extraordinary restaurants, shops, Canal Park and majestic Lake Superior. Featuring 7 exquisite guest rooms with modern amenities such as two-person whirlpools, A/C, Fireplaces, TV/DVD's, King and Queen Beds, free high speed Wi-Fi and so, so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing