We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B we have ever stayed at.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sterling, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Best B&B we have ever stayed at.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The A.G. Thompson House is tops for us. We stay at 10 -12 B&B's each year, most of which are Select Registry members and the A.G. Thompson House has put together a package that has it all. Customer service was outstanding, just the right balance of friendly and business. The facilities lack nothing. The house is decorated in such a way that it is very beautiful yet comfortable and inviting. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable but the common areas simply draw you to their embrace. Snacks, freshly baked cookies & beverages are always easily available to relax with as you settle into an oversized chair and soak in the soft music while perusing one of the inn's good books. Breakfast is a 15 out of 10 - save your appetite - and you can get it delivered to your room! We spent so much time enjoying the house that we had little time left to enjoy the tranquil & beautifully decorated outside porches and grounds. Duluth has a lot to offer to visitors. We seldom return to a location once we have visited as there are so many places and so little time, but we will definitely return to A.G. Thompson and spend more time on the patio.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Walter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
643
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Like many of our trips/vacations over the past couple of years, my wife suggested the A.G. Thomson House because of the stellar TripAdvisor ratings. We stayed for 3 nights the week before July 4th in the Ryerson Suite.

Room:
The Ryerson Suite was great! It was our own private getaway from the hustle and bustle of life. Decorations, furnishings, everything was top-notch. The Suite has a very nice jacuzzi tub as well. In addition, there is a smaller sun room in the Suite that was wonderful to hang out with a blanket at night (yes, it's summer in Duluth!)

Breakfast:
What can I say, but wow! From getting breakfast delivered to our door in a basket on the first day to having breakfast served by Angie and Tim in the dining room, the food was amazing. You will NOT go hungry staying here, nor will you probably have food like this anywhere in Duluth. Breakfast seemed like something served in a Five Star European villa (not that I've had that). Well-thought out menus, using seasonal ingredients, and just amazing tastes and flavors! Angie is an amazing chef!

Hosts:
Angie and Tim are the best hosts. Tim met us in the driveway when we arrived and helped us inside. Once in, Angie showed us to our Suite and gave us a tour. She provided recommendations for dinner that first night (check in was 4-6pm) and even offered to call and make reservations for us. Truly, you don't see Angie or Tim much unless you come down for breakfast in the morning, but when you do see them, they are the nicest people.

Grounds:
The landscaping around the A.G. Thomson House was breathtaking. Our last night, my wife and I shared a bottle of wine in the gazebo and just enjoyed the peace and quiet while reading books. A great end to an awesome vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wiedenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironwood, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The A.G. Thomson House B&B is such a great getaway from home. Having now stayed in both the “Hewitt” and “Salyards” rooms on different occasions, my fiancé and I find ourselves looking for another excuse to pack our bags for another weekend stay (and we really hate living out of our suitcases for any amount of time, so that really says something about what Tim and Angie have done with this place!). Perhaps we’ll try yet another room next time; it seems like each has a little something different and special to offer.

If you’ve got the time, here are the things we’ve learned we won’t skip the next time we stay: 1) Muffins!...If they happen to be on the menu. Our favorite is the pistachio chocolate chunk muffin…absolutely incredible! We loved it so much the first time we requested it on our return visit and they made it for us. Everything about the breakfast is amazing! 2) Take a walk around the property and just take in all the beautiful flowers, plants, and lawn decorations that all fit perfectly in their respective places. Sit in the gazebo or lay in the hammock, and you’ll likely even encounter a few deer. 3) If you’re staying multiple nights, check out the impressive collection of DVDs that Tim and Angie have specifically for guests! Seriously! They must really be on top of getting the newest releases as soon as they’re available. My fiancé and I watched a couple movies that we didn’t even know were in theaters yet!

Tim and Angie have clearly put a lot of effort into making a stay at their inn relaxing and memorable, and the kind messages in the guest books in the rooms make that pretty clear. We'll definitely be back again and again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vernon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennison, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The A.G. Thomson House Bed & Breakfast is an amazing place to stay. Not only is Duluth an incredible vacation destination but this Bed and Breakfast can stand on its own as a soul refreshing experience.

On this particular stay I spent the first night with my daughter whose career is in home decor. We stayed in the Lake Superior Suite. It is a warm, comfortable yet high class slice of heaven. Even she commented on how Tim and Angie had "thought of absolutely everything." When her car had a flat, Tim pumped it up and set up an appointment at a service station. Breakfast, delivered to our door, was a delightful experience of its own.

The second day I had some desperately needed alone time at the A.G. Thomson House. This Bed & Breakfast lies in a neighborhood full of the Duluth architecture and history. The mansions on the walking tour were interesting. Tim provided me with a guide which told the history of each of the homes. Their stories included date and cost to build, along with the careers of the owners. The architects were also named. I am into landscaping and these homes abound in ideas. After the walk I sat on the most comfortable rocking chair in the Thomson House's gazebo, surrounded by lush flowers and water features. A soft rain was falling as I read my book undisturbed by anyone or anything. They do an awesome job with their yard. It has a warm, beautiful character. In fact, if you take the time to walk their two acre yard you will find hidden treasures all along the way. Amazingly enough, you won't realize there are neighboring houses as the house is nestled among beautiful long needled pines and many other beautiful trees.

The third day my husband arrived and of course the A.g. Thomson House is beyond the perfect romantic retreat. The retried is stocked with wine and other refreshments, the whirlpool awaits complete with plush bathrobes. The bath towels are thick and plush. We had a very private patio, and the most incredibly comfortable king size bed that swallowed us up and provided the best nights sleep.

This Bed & Breakfast is among the best, if not the best. Family time, alone time, or couple time it fits the bill...actually going beyond your expectations. Thank you Tim& Angie. Your efforts are a true talent. Your hospitality, cooking, baking, gardening, and every aspect of providing a great experience are creative and way above the norm!

Room Tip: The Lake Superior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 159BKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in the north shore retreat for our honeymoon. We could not have been more pleased! The food was out of this world, and the amenities were incredible. We loved the always available chocolate chip cookies, fruit, and tea! Tim and Angie were so friendly and visited with us throughout the week. They gave us hugs as we left and said they hoped we would return soon! They were always willing to do anything for us, but they never bothered us. We would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bau21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimball, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It doesn't get any better than this...the B & B is tastefully designed and comfortable, and in one of Duluth's best neighborhoods. Our hosts, Tim and Angie, are wonderful, they make you feel like family and are extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the City. Breakfasts are amazing...words cannot describe how divine they are. The B & B is close to everything. You can drive or take a taxi. They have fresh homemade cookies, coffee, juice, water, and pop always available for you. Their gardens are amazing too! You really do not want to leave...it is simply heaven!

Room Tip: A.G. Thomson house takes great pictures on their website. I would look at those. We have liked the...
See more room tips
Green Features: A.G. Thomson House follow environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LadyJen10451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We've stayed at various B&B's throughout MN. This is by far the best to date. Will definitely be returning. The food was exceptional and the little touches (i.e. coffee/tea, wine, cookies, privacy, property) do not go unnoticed.

Matt+Taylor

Room Tip: Stayed in the Hewitt Room (Balcony was great but partial views were not really there as advertised).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Taylor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.0 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
505 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
1.8 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#14 of 33 in Duluth
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.8 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
3.1 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 33 in Duluth
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Property: A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812-1944
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where Elegance meets Casual Comfort at our award winning Bed and Breakfast. Ideally located in the heart of Duluth's mansion district on 2 acres of private grounds with award winning gardens just minutes from extraordinary restaurants, shops, Canal Park and majestic Lake Superior. Featuring 7 exquisite guest rooms with modern amenities such as two-person whirlpools, A/C, Fireplaces, TV/DVD's, King and Queen Beds, free high speed Wi-Fi and so, so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing