We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST experience ever!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 July 2009

If you are looking for a nice, quiet, relaxing getaway in Duluth, you need to stay here!! Tim and Angie are so GREAT!! They were so welcoming to me and my boyfriend. They made us feel like it was our home as well and we were so comfortable there! They have the most beautiful home!! Neat, Clean and GREAT food!! Beats any hotel, hands down!! We have already decided we are going to make this an every year trip and we will be staying at AG Thomson House!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khillmcgraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agt2007, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2009

You guys were (are) so great!! Thank you again for giving a B&B a try - we are so glad it was a good experience! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2009

My sister and I wanted to get away for some long overdue "bonding" time and the AG Thomson House couldn't have been a more perfect choice. We spent several days touring the cities of Duluth and Two Harbors, but the highlight of our trip was staying in this beautiful home. Tim and Angie are the perfect hosts and made our stay very comfortable. The inn is warm and inviting - to the point that we even headed back from the North Shore early one day, just so we could spend the afternoon enjoying the cozy sunroom. (Yes Angie - I am still trying to figure out how to get your sunroom to my home in Minneapolis! ) The breakfasts are first class - Angie is an amazing cook. I can hardly wait to return with my husband for a more romantic get-a-way. Thanks again!

Linda (Minneapolis) and Susan (San Francisco)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agt2007, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2009

Linda and Susan - thank you so much!! It was our pleasure to offer a nice space for the two of you to spend some quiet sister time! Have you figured out how to get that sunroom home yet?? Well, you'll just have to come back and visit it!! See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Tim and Angie helped to make our 10th anniversary trip to Duluth very relaxing and memorable. We loved the Superior Suite in the Carriage House. All the little details made us feel very pampered - the wine and soda in the fridge, the scented soap and the plush towels and comfy robes were all so nice. We especially loved the privacy of our own deck and the beautiful yard with wildflowers, colorful annuals and relaxing hammocks and deck furniture throughout the premises. We were delighted to find a beautiful walking path just blocks north of A. G. Thomson house alongside a lovely babbling creek for our morning run.
Thank you for everything, Tim and Angie. I will be recommending you to all our friends and family for a lovely get-away.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke_Minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agt2007, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2009

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to share our home to celebrate this big anniversary. We couldn't be more pleased that you had a wonderful time and enjoyed not only your fantastic room, but our grounds and flowers. We hope to see you on your 11th, 12th, 13th, .... Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We read consistently fantastic reviews on this B&B. After staying for two nights this week, we can say that the reviews are 100% accurate. This is a wonderful place...and innkeepers too. We've done lots of B&Bs over the years, all over the country. The A.G. Thomson House is right at the top. Probably the best breakfasts we've ever had in a B&B....rooms that are well appointed and extremely clean....and best of all innkeepers who are wonderful people. Angie and Tim are superb hosts. As we pulled out of the driveway to go home, my wife said she would love to be friends with Angie. Too bad we live so far away. Enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DogloverMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agt2007, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2009

You guys are so great!! Thank you so much; we really enjoyed our time with you and only wish it would have been a little longer. I have to agree with you; we can see being friends and Mpls is not that far away!!! (-: Give your puppy a hug for us! I'll bet you were missed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

A big thank you to Tim and Angie for their hospitality during our recent anniversary trip to Duluth. The accomodations are beautiful! The hosts are incredibly gracious. I requested a specific bottle of wine to be in our room when we arrived and there it was! The breakfast will not leave you hungry! Though it was cloudy and rainy the entire time we were there, we felt as though this was our home away from home. All in all an excellent place for a well needed rest! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lutherandleenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agt2007, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2009

Hi guys! Thank you so much for your kind words - it was a great pleasure meeting you and being able to provide a much needed rest. We hope to see you again when you are able to get away to visit your daughter at UMD. (All the best to her!) You will have a home away from home! Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

My husband ran the marathon in Duluth. We heard about the A.G. Thomson House from some friends who knew the owners, Tim and Angie. We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, so decided to give it a try. We had a wonderful experience. Tim and Angie went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Their personal touches were what made the stay a lot of fun. The rooms were well decorated and clean. The food was wonderful! They even were up to accomodate the runners at 4:30 A.M. with a special "runners breakfast." We will definitely stay there again if we travel to Duluth.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

From the moment I initially called to book our stay to the moments before we left our memorable weekend Tim and Angie were hospitable, warm and kind. The room was beautiful, the breakfast and amenities were fantastic and the atmosphere of the home in general was exactly what we had hoped for - inviting and relaxing. As a first timer, I can safely say that my expectations for the bed and breakfast experience are now incredibly high - so much so, that I don't plan on staying at any place but the A.G. Thomson House the next time we are in Duluth!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardenlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 31 in Duluth
524 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#12 of 31 in Duluth
351 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
3.1 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 31 in Duluth
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812-1944
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range: £202 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where Elegance meets Casual Comfort at our award winning Bed and Breakfast. Ideally located in the heart of Duluth's mansion district on 2 acres of private grounds with award winning gardens just minutes from extraordinary restaurants, shops, Canal Park and majestic Lake Superior. Featuring 7 exquisite guest rooms with modern amenities such as two-person whirlpools, A/C, Fireplaces, TV/DVD's, King and Queen Beds, free high speed Wi-Fi and so, so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing