We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, relaxing getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ottertail, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Beautiful, relaxing getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Tim and Angie do such a wonderful job of making you feel at home, without all of the work! We decided to spend our honeymoon at this bed and breakfast and will definately be making our way back very soon! I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone!

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LOlson87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
625
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

My fiance and I stayed at the A.G. Thomson House in August and it was exactly the romantic, relaxing night away that we needed!! I can't say enough good things about our night here - Angie and Tim are incredibly nice; our room was clean, cozy, had a TV (some people wouldn't like that, but it was a small flat screen and we napped with it on); a whirlpool tub; fresh baked cookies were out when we arrived; breakfast was delicious; we were able to walk to dinner. We will never stay anywhere else in Duluth. It is so easy to relax and reconnect here! I would love to go back again soon! Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luckygirlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

We have stayed in many B & Bs and this one rates up there with the best! Beautiful, quiet home in an upscale neighborhood. Lovely personal touches all through out the stay. The breakfasts were delicious and the Inn Keepers - Angie and Tim - are warm hearted and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MToner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

My daughter and I were looking for an extended weekend trip to the Duluth area and North Shore Lake Superior. We heard about the A.G. Thompson House and wanted to try an historic bed and breakfast. What a fabulous experience from the quaint, very comfortable rooms to the amazing breakfast that Angie and Tom prepared for us the next morning. They have spared nothing in providing a very welcoming ,comfortable lodging experience. The house and grounds are beautiful, and service was exceptional! We won't hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakelover17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

I chose the AG Thomson House Bed & Breakfast when I was planning a getaway to relax and refresh. My two requirements were that the B&B be in the north and that it serve vegan breakfasts. When I made the reservation, I spoke with Angie to let her know that I needed vegan breakfasts and she told me that it would be no problem, asked if there were certain foods that I wanted, and told me of several dishes that she has prepared. When I arrived, I was met at my car by Tim and Angie. They showed me the house, where there were vegan cookies waiting for me in the dining room. Tim showed me to my room and gave me directions on getting to the lake walk from the house. The sumptuous breakfasts consisted of fresh fruit, home baked muffins, scones, lemon blueberry french toast, wild rice casserole, scrambled tofu wrap, wild rice patties, and more. Tim and Angie took the time and effort to make all of these dishes vegan for me. After breakfast, Angie sat with me for a few minutes visiting and giving me tips on where to go depending on what I wanted to do that day. In the afternoons, when I returned from my day, there were always vegan treats waiting for me and on more than one occasion, Tim or Angie was there to inquire about my day and ask if I would like them to make coffee for me. Tim and Angie definitely have the gift of hospitality. While I was sorry to leave, I look forward to my next stay at AG Thomson House.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at the A.G. Thomson House for our 10 year anniversary. We both thought the house was very beautiful and cozy. Angie and Tim greeted us with a very warm welcome. The warm chocolate chip cookies that were presented to us when we arrived were delicious! Our room (Edwin H. Hewitt) was gorgeous, and it was so neat to see the original fixtures from the early 1900's in our bathroom. We relaxed and took a rejuvenating nap in the hammock on the beautiful grounds. Angie and Tim were so accommodating; they put our breakfast together in a basket, and my wife and I enjoyed one of the best breakfasts we have ever had outside on our deck/porch. It was very special! Angie and Tim are such gracious and wonderful hosts, and we thank them very much for having us! We definitely hope to return soon!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dirtgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Our stay at the A.G. Thomson House in Duluth, MN was among the most special that we have experienced at any bed and breakfast in the United States. The decor, comfort, and conveniences were superb, but we were also truly appreciative of Angie and Tim's attention to detail as it related to virtually every aspect of our visit, including the glorious breakfast basket that was graciously delivered to our room each morning. These are innkeepers who care, and we miss them already!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott1385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.0 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#13 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Property: A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812-1944
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where Elegance meets Casual Comfort at our award winning Bed and Breakfast. Ideally located in the heart of Duluth's mansion district on 2 acres of private grounds with award winning gardens just minutes from extraordinary restaurants, shops, Canal Park and majestic Lake Superior. Featuring 7 exquisite guest rooms with modern amenities such as two-person whirlpools, A/C, Fireplaces, TV/DVD's, King and Queen Beds, free high speed Wi-Fi and so, so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing