We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Air Conditioning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eagan
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Eagan
Faribault, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No Air Conditioning!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Immediately upon entering the lobby I noticed how hot it was in there. I arrived several hours before checkin hoping we could get our room early as we weren't going to be back to the hotel until late that night. No such luck but honestly I didn't expect that we would get our room earlier than the official check in time. The front desk person was very nice but made no mention of the lack of air conditioning. I had to ask if there was still ac in the room. The answer was yes and that only the public areas were affected. No apologies were offered. She mentioned that a repairman had come the day before and found nothing wrong. The lobby, breakfast area, and hallways were very warm. It's obvious that the air conditioning isn't working but not to acknowledge the problem or to apologize for the impact on my stay is not good customer service.

Our room was what you expect from a Country Inn but it was certainly showing its age. Mattress was a bit soft for my taste. Pillows weren't firm enough. My wife and son went to breakfast at 9:25 am thinking that it was available until 10 am (typical for most places we've stayed). Boy, were they wrong. Breakfast ends at 9:30 and much of the stuff was already put away. Fortunately, one nice employee retrieved waffle batter (the other attendent was as accommodating).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohcoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    102
    51
    39
    31
See reviews for
155
67
11
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here for one night to extend our vacation...

Rooms:

2 Queen beds - fairly comfortable if a bit worn. Bedding and pillows were comfortable and clean. TV was an old style CRT, and there was a working microwave and fridge in the room. The AC unit worked well. There was a bit of an odour to the room that I can't place (it was a non-smoking room). Bathroom was small and a bit worn, but clean.

Pool & Hottub:

We didn't utilize it, but it looked clean, albeit very small.

Continental Breakfast:

Unfortunately this was probably one of the worst continentals we had ever had. Even our 8 yr old son didn't enjoy it. It had some type of egg... patties that were flacid and cold. The sausage patties were dry, very spicy (think pepper) and overcooked. It did have the usual waffle maker/cereal/bagel items, as well as yogurt and instant oatmeat. The banana's were mostly bruised.

For the price ($86/Sunday night) it wasn't bad. It was clean and quiet. The breakfast was a wash and we had an early lunch.

Although it wasn't a bad place, there are a lot better options out there in that price range, IMO.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azarius74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I have stayed at the country inn twice on business trips. The hotel shuttle very useful,it has picked me up from the airport and dropped me back-- and dropped me off to the work site. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and temperature control function. The toiletries in the room come in un-useable small packs-- not sufficient to get a shampoo in. The only aesthetic complaint I have is the rooms are so very depressingly beige---a small issue, I know. The only walkable place to get food is McDonald-- not my idea of dinner. They do have a few places that deliver for a few dollars to the room. I ordered from the Green Mill -- they took an hour and a half to deliver dinner (I was famished). The breakfast at the hotel is mediocre.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 4th floor-- they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchattoraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Fairly typical Country Inn. Was surprised the queen rooms had no bed skirts. They seem to be a standard faire with Country. Another strange thing was none of the blankets in bags matched. Some were cream color and another was an old blue velour one. Best part about our stay was out lift to the airport on Sunday morning. The driver was great! He was careful and very friendly. I would definitely stay here again because of him! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoodlasMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
200 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Booked on hotels tonight. Drove past nice hotels to stay at this hotel. Queen beds resembled twin and soft as a sleeping bag at camp. Woke up with a stiff neck. I spend 100 night a year in hotels and this in in lowest 10%.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RSTT3959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothsay, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I made reservations for two nights, but regretting it. After checking in, we found several stains on our sheets (don't want any STDs) and dirty blankets. I called to have them changed, but had to do it myself because there was only the front desk attendant available. I went down to get them and there were in fact two personnel present. They did not have any blankets so I ended up having a sleepless night. I checked back in the morning and still no blankets. Paid way to much for dirty bedding and a sleepless night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at the Eagan Country Inn & Suites for 5 nights. We originally booked 4 nights and had booked another, more expensive room at the Best Western Plus across from Mall Of America. Since we were comfortable at the Country Inn, we decided to save $50 and stay another night there instead. Every staff member we met was very courteous and friendly. The pool area was nice. Pool temp was warm which was nice. Also has two hot tubs. The breakfast was very good - something for everyone in our family of 2 adults, a 14 and 10 year old. Only downside is there are only about 10 small tables that hold 2 chairs and one 4 chair table. When many families are eating there isn't much room for them to sit together. The food staff did a good job keeping everything filled. We enjoyed the hot food on the buffet every morning, varied between sausage, eggs, and biscuits and gravy plus they had make your own waffles, fresh fruit and a variety of cereals and breads/pastries. The room was a little smaller than we've had in the past with Country Inns. We had a 2 queen room but since we weren't in the room much it suited us just fine. Beds were comfortable and pillows were awesome. Good channel selection on tv and hi speed internet worked well. Our room's air conditioning took forever to cool room down but once it was cool it was comfortable. Only complaint was bathroom lighting was horrible, and it wasn't much brighter in the room. Other suggestion would be to have the Park and Fly people park their cars in the back of the lot. Many cars were in the front row of the hotel parking and they weren't even there. We would definitely return to this hotel and will recommend to others. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: 4th floor is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dellsfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagan
3.5 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Inver Grove Heights
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Inver G...
#3 of 3 in Inver Grove Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis / Eagan
5.9 mi away
Minneapolis Airport Marriott
Minneapolis Airport Marriott
#37 of 43 in Bloomington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge
5.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eagan-Mall Of America
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Eagan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eagan

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eagan
Address: 3035 Holiday Ln, Lone Oak Rd & Hwy 55, Eagan, MN 55121-1582
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Eagan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Eagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eagan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Renovated Guestrooms! Located minutes away from the Mall of America and Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (MSP), the Country Inn & Suites hotel in Eagan, MN provides exceptional accommodations for business and leisure travelers. The Country. It's not just a place - it's a feeling that comes from being treated like family. As our guest, you don't just stay in our hotels, you live in them for a little while. Our comfortable atmosphere makes it easy to stay productive when taking your office on the road. And when you stay with us on vacation, we make sure your family feels like part of ours. We invite you to experience our hotel. Because, when you do, you'll be sure to say "I love this Country." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Eagan Hotel Eagan
Country Inn And Suites Eagan
Country Inn Eagan
Eagan Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eagan Minneapolis, MN

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing