We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful customer service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Eagan
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I was on a college visit trip with my two teenage boys and we stayed one night. Our room was clean with nice updated decor and the beds were comfortable. The room had a small refrigerator and microwave, and even though we were right off the lobby the room was quiet. The breakfast was very good (coffee, several cereals, several juices, yogurt, several types of bagels, toast, mini muffins, waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage patties). There seemed to be more than enough seating with additional seating in the lobby area. They even provided to go cups and lids for the coffee.

There were three computers in the lobby with a printer (great for printing out boarding passes and directions to attractions). While there isn't room service (we didn't have a car), they included menus of restaurants that provided delivery. It was actually a nice break for my wallet.

The most outstanding feature of this Best Western is their customer service. When we used the shuttle to get picked up from the airport and mentioned we were interested in seeing the Mall of America, the driver gave us a thick coupon book to look at and told us to take any coupons we wanted ($5 off of $50 at Nordstrom's Rack). When I asked Andrew and Allison at the front desk the best way to get to Macalester College they first checked on Google Maps to see if the shuttle could take us (unfortunately, it was outside the shuttle range) or to take a taxi from the hotel or take a taxi from the airport. And when it looked like it was closer from the airport, they gave me the Google directions to make sure the taxi took the shortest route. They also offered to hold our luggage at the hotel and said when we got back to the airport after our college visit to call the hotel and they would send our luggage over with the next shuttle since we were flying out that afternoon! Pat drove us to the airport the next morning and the hotel shuttle location is conveniently right by the taxi stand. The staff at the hotel really made our visit easy!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anpcnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    196
    55
    35
    20
See reviews for
207
137
36
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed here the night before flying home from MSP airport. We registered, unloaded our luggage, and returned our rental car. There were at least 2 gas stations on the way to the airport. The pick-up from the airport was timely and the driver was courteous. In the morning, the shuttle left on time. The hotel was clean and comfortable. We found the refrigerator to be handy and appreciated the easy chair. There was a bar/restaurant right next door that we could easily walk to in less than 1 minute. The menu had a large selection and the food was good. There was also a mexican restaurant, chinese restaurant, and pizza place within easy walking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BowlingGrandma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

AC wasn't working well and was never fixed. Hot Breakfast entree ran out with more than 1 HR to go and wasn't replaced. Hotel clean and a good value.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrainingPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Air conditioner was set on 60 degrees and wouldn't kick in and was very humid in there. TV stopped working at about 10:30 pm so we decided to go to bed, woke up sweating because the air wasn't working so I was gonna call down to front desk but the phone didn't work, therefore we never received our wake up call at 4 am either. Thank goodness we set the alarm on our cell phone or we would've missed our flight. If they couldn't reach us with the wake up call they should've knocked on our door. Filled out comment card to complain at front desk when we checked out and they said manager would be contacting us but we never heard anything....it was terrible!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeymooners84_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHenry, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Stayed one night en route to Northern Minnesota from Illinois. Easy access near the expressway was a time saver. (They have a special 10% summer discount, so it was a good value for us.) Rooms very clean and beds super comfortable! Bonus was a mini frig in our room, to cool down extra pop & water we brought along. Husband happy we could pull up their free wi-fi on our IPad. Bath towels kind of thin, but they provided 2 each, so just used them both! Stayed out past midnight visiting relatives in the area, and it was nice to see they had a security feature at the front door and had to buzz us in. Breakfast area was small & could use some sound proofing, but complimentary breakfast was very good...scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, yogurt, waffles, juice & coffee, muffins, etc. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask about their 10% summer discount, and if your room comes with mini-frig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midwestm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel offers free shuttle service to the airport, light rail and Mall of America. It's very nice to be dropped off at the front entrance at the MOA and not have to worry about parking. The hotel even gave us a free MOA bag and coupon book.

Hotel looks like it has been remodeled recently. The rooms have a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Plenty of nice pillows on the beds. Beds are nice. I would have preferred a bed a little softer but everyone else thought they were fine. Good breakfast with waffles, eggs, sausage, yogurt, cereal, toast, etc. Hotel has a small fitness room but no pool. There is a washer and dryer for guest use near the fitness room. Free wireless internet in the rooms that always worked.
There are good restuarants within walking distance of the hotel. We had pizza one night and mexican the other night-both very good choices. The area of the hotel was clean and seemed safe.
Overall it was an excellent stay and we got great rates for staying four nights. We will definitely stay there again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shotchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We chose this hotel because of the low rates. But we realized now that it was a big mistake. To make the long story short, our room was never cleaned well since day one. They either forgot to pick up dirty pillow cases and left them on the floor or forgot to completely make the bed. They almost never replaced used soaps or shampoo, we had to go to the front desk and request soap or shampoo. Tonight, when we got back to our room, we found that they have forgotten to clean the room! When I called the front desk, the lady answered matter-of-factly that it is a busy day and it is not their priority to clean occupied room. Another problem is that they do not have heater in the summer. Two days ago, the temperature reached below 55 in Minneapolis at night, so the room was freezing. That is how we learned about this. They did send us a space heater. But it was very loud and didn't work well. I will skip the breakfast part, but the problem is still management related. The room is tiny compared to the size of the hotel (only have 6 tables) and they usually don't fill up food quickly enough, which leaves you waiting forever! We will not stay at another Best Western again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amber068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Value4u, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to Tripadvisors and informing us of the recent experience you had while staying at our hotel. We are appalled to hear about the lack of customer service you experienced.

The housekeeping service you endured is unacceptable at any level of hospitality. The comments you have written are vital to us as operators. We can’t train on what we don’t know. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to re-visit basic skills with our housekeeping staff to sharpen their sensitivity to situations that make a huge impact on your experience.

In response to the replacement of half used guest amenities in the room we are sorry we did not communicate effectively enough that we are in the process of being a green hotel. Extra amenities are available to every customer upon request at anytime, but we try to avoid throwing away half used guest amenities in stay over reservations. We apologize for this confusion.

The heat in your room, I couldn’t agree with you more, no one likes to be cold and a space heater, mild as the attempt was to correct the situation, can’t replace being warm and comfortable. I apologize we did not make a better effort to move you to a room with a more efficient heater.

“Breakfast Area” we agree!! Thank you for identifying the same issue we did as it concerns the breakfast room. We understand 12 tables are not enough in the current room. In the past we purchased more tables and set up additional seating to utilize the large lobby area we have to accommodate overflow from the breakfast room. But again I agree when our 108 rooms reach an occupancy level of 100% it can be cumbersome to move around. We have addressed prep and stocking procedures with our breakfast attendant to better prepare herself for the unexpected rush of customers throughout the morning.

In closing please believe us when we say we are not in the position of loosing one customer. We know you have too many hotels to select from and you leaving our hotel with a negative impression is simply not acceptable in our eyes. We don’t expect you to give us a second chance, but if you would give us the ability to serve you again, it will give us a chance to demonstrate the customer service you deserve. Please contact us directly as we would be more than willing to make this situation right in your eyes.

Sincerely,


Area Manager
Best Western Plus Dakota Ridge
651-452-0100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eagan hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis / Eagan
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport/Eagan
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eagan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eagan-Mall Of America
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Eagan
1.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge
Address: 3450 Washington Drive, Eagan, MN 55122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Eagan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eagan
#4 Business Hotel in Eagan
#4 Family Hotel in Eagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dakota Ridge Hotel Eagan
Best Western Hotel Eagan
Best Western Eagan
Eagan Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge Eagan/Minneapolis, MN

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing