We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not The Best Place To Stay”
Review of East Grand Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Grand Inn
Steinbach, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not The Best Place To Stay”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

They Advertise a Free Contiantial Brearfast But they DO NOT have any breakfast or even Coffee. Room was a non smoking room but it reaked of smoke as did parts of the hall way. Staff was very friendly. The sheeets on the king size bed were very clean but had holes in them. The room had a fridge in it which worked good. It is located quite far from the main shopping area of Grand Forks But the price was quite good for a Saturday. WE proberly won't stay here again unless a lot of improvements are made.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paakjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    9
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
7
14
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I'm really confused as to all the negative comments. We didn't find the accommodations that bad. We stayed during the first week of Dec. 2012. Our room came with a king size bed, a fridge and enough room to stretch a bit. The bed only had three pillows, but it was no problem asking for another pillow. Everything was clean in the room. The hotel rooms were divided with more than half of the hotel being non-smoking. The smoking rooms were separate and located at the back of the hotel. We are smokers so this hotel was perfect, now that North Dakota has banned smoking in all hotel rooms.The hotel is actually located in Minnesota, but all you do is cross over a bridge (2 minute drive) and your in Grand Forks. There were NO police or rowdy parties as other reviewers have mentioned. The rates were on par with Grand Forks hotels. This place was much SAFER than some of the accommodations we've stayed at in Grand Forks. As we have said in some of our other reviews. You get what you pay for. If your looking to find a place just to sleep, than this place is good. If your looking for hot tubs and fancy pillows etc. then why are you reading reviews of moderately priced places. Go and start searching the $100-200. rooms. I'm sure some of you that complain will also find problems with those places. We'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The hotel needs a huge remodel! We stayed but we will not stay again! They fold their laundry on the couch in the lobby, the smell of the hotel is stale cigarette smoke - even in the no smoking rooms. Drape was hanging on to a bent rod that had no end, refrigerator was dirty, king size bed had 3 tiny pillows, police came looking for someone that ran out the back door, etc. etc.!

Room Tip: Keep going and stay at the Hilton!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Grand Forks hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Hard to say anything positive except the staff at the front desk was kind enough to give us a refund 10 mins after we checked in.if you are not abe to afford anything more than 50 per night this will do. The place smelled of old cigarette smoke. When we went into the room the first thing we sensed is the smell followed by the curtain rod dangling from the wall. noisy a/c unit which added to the ambience. If you need a roof over your head, can tolerate the smell of a old motel, and are looking for a cheap place to stay this is your place. Oh and when we checked in the sign on the door said no vacancy but that soon changed 15 mins after we arrived. There was a room available

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busydiver1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This Inn was clean, comfortable & reasonably priced for overnight accommodation with a pet. It's on Highway 2. The single most annoyance was the sugar beet plant (stench) to the east which is usually not an issue but one morning the winds were from the east. This is a rare event and many other motels/hotels in the area have the same problem.

Room Tip: Near the front (west end) as seasonal workers use the east end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLloydGamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Then the decor won't be such a big deal. This is not the Ritz. Nor is it anything like a chain bargain hotel/motel either. It's an older and somewhat tired independent hotel that looks after the basics at an almost unbelievable price. Yes, the room badly needed a coat of paint and some of the fixtures were looking tired, but the bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. Unlike some bargain rooms, East Grand Inn supplied facial tissues and shampoo in the room. The room was quiet even being close to the front of the hotel near the breakfast room and front desk. It was very warm when we visited and the newer air conditioner worked wonderfully. The front desk staff were wonderful no matter what time of day you spoke to them. They were all eager to see that you had a great stay. We had no problem getting extra towels when we asked. The breakfast wasn't the best and I have had better, but here was plenty of bread, bagels and English muffins with cream cheese, peanut butter and an assortment of jams. Tea and coffee were available anytime. Of course when you remember how little you paid, you could easily afford to go out if you wanted something more substantial.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WpgBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg MB
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

I was late booking a room for may long. According to the web this was the only place left that had rooms. Took a chance. The room was good , a little old fashion but clean. The outlet didn't hold cords which was weird. The tv had one channel and it was baseball, the breakfast offered I never seen as it was over by 930am. For 130$ for two night for four of us was pretty good. I highly doubt I would go back I would shell out more money and have a better location to malls, tv, and pools and hot tubs.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyrodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grand Forks
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites East Grand Forks
Fairfield Inn & Suites East Gran...
#1 of 4 in East Grand Forks
54 reviews
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks
#4 of 28 in Grand Forks
549 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ramada Grand Forks
Ramada Grand Forks
#9 of 28 in Grand Forks
224 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Grand Forks
Travelodge Grand Forks
#26 of 28 in Grand Forks
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Grand Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Grand Inn

Property: East Grand Inn
Address: 606 Gateway Dr NE, East Grand Forks, MN 56721-2604
Region: United States > Minnesota > East Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in East Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — East Grand Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Breakfast, Winter Plugins, Smoking and Non-Smoking Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your East Grand Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Grand Hotel East Grand Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing