We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot, Cold, and Freezing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Edina
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Edina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Hot... We had a red-eye flight and the hotel let us check in at 9am. We were able to have a hot breakfast, warm shower and nap.
Cold... The temperature has slide dials to set, but no matter what number we chose the room was either really hot or really cold. We finally ended up sticking with really cold because the hot was too uncomfortable.
Freezing... That was the temperature of the shower the last morning we were there. When I checked out I mentioned this and the response was "That can happen on low occupancy days, sometimes it takes a long time to get through the pipes." I told him that I waited about 15 minutes and it was still cold. He simply shrugged his shoulders.
While we were thrilled to get in early, a cold shower with no response to the complaint was not great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Edina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Good afternoon Kris,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Residence Inn Minneapolis Edina was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future. Thank you for letting us know that the heater and hot water in your room was not up to your standards. I apologize if this interrupted your stay with us at all, but I will be sure to pass this information onto my maintenance department so they can adjust it accordingly. I am glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us with the exception of the heater and the hot water.
Sincerely,
Heather Helm
Accounting Manager
Marriott Residence Inn Edina
hhelm@shanercorp.com
9522291288

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed there while in town for business. My room was clean, spacious, and everything was in good workking order. Only complaint was that the heater was a little noisy and I wished they had provided some hand lotion (outside temp was -2 degrees). I noticed a sign by the elevator saying the elevator was the last part of their renevation. That might be why everything looked so new.

The hotel offers a substaintal free breakfast and (Mon-Thu) free reception with three drinks and snacks from 6-7:30pm. The reception area has ample seating, flat screen TV and fireplace. I got two glasses of wine, a salad, carrots, chips and small tuna salad wrap at the evening reception. It was enough, for me, that I did not need to go to dinner.

There is an indoor park with running track and swimming pool connected to the property. Staying at the hotel allowed you access to the pool and track for free. The track area had two treadmills, an elipctical and a weight machine. The track was banked and looked like it might be about 10 laps for a mile. The track area has no TVs so bring some music or go without during your workout.

I did not partake but heard the front desk talking to someone about getting a ride to and from the Mall of America. I plan to stay there again when I return to Minneapolis.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I've stayed at a couple Residence Inns and I have to admit the others were nicer than this and I was expecting a little more, but overall it isn't bad.

The front desk staff is friendly and helpful. The lounge area is spacious. The beds are very comfortable. The layout of the rooms are nice.

The heater is loud and does not give off enough heat to heat the entire room. The breakfast is just OK.

The housekeeping lady I dealt with spoke zero English. I asked her to change the sheets one time and she just made the bed instead. Another time I had asked her to just do one specific thing and nothing else, and again she didn't understand me and did something else. I am really not trying to be insensitive (my parents are immigrant cleaners) but it was just a little frustrating that she could not communicate with me at all.

Overall, a decent hotel but nothing special. If it is convenient for you and the rate is good, go for it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryJane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay in a one bedroom suite which was 2 double beds and a full size sofa bed. It also had a small fridge, microwave, cooktop, dishwasher which was nice. We had a very nice driver who picked us up from the airport and shuttled us to the mall of america a few times. He was full of information on things to do and see and was very sweet. The complimentary breakfast had a nice variety and lots of seating area. We had our luggage stored at the hotel and went back to the Mall of America. The hotel was kind enough to bring our luggage to us when they picked us up from the mall to go back to the airport! The 3 story park next to the hotel was very cool but we weren't aware it cost to go there when we booked the room. But that was okay considering we have 2 teeens and a younger child. It was nice walking around with all the fresh snow and having fun playing in it since we don't get very much in Texas. Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Love this hotel.
Excellent for families of all ages.
The young kids will love the 3 story play structure located right next door.
Centennial Lakes Park is located directly behind the hotel. Beautiful in the summer and in the winter you can skate on the lake.
Close to Mall of America.
Hotel has a shuttle to the airport if required.
Rooms were recently redone. Beds are very comfortable.
Breakfast is included with your stay and is fantastic.
We have stayed at many hotels in the area and this is our top pick.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S8691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We had a great weekend break from the sub zero frozen tundra at the Residence Inn.
We had a one bedroom suite which was great! It had a separate living area from the bedroom and had a decent size fridge, microwave, dishwasher etc. The beds were very comfy, the only issue with the room is the bathroom was very small but really that is so minor.
We took advantage of the hotel being connected to Edenborough Park which is always a great way for the kids to burn off energy on a cold winter day. The hotel does provide passes to use the pool but we didn't use it.
The complementary breakfast was good--decent variety of breads, oatmeal, waffles, fruit etc and no hassle to find an open table.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank jworm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I'm finally back at home for some much needed family time after a couple of months of travel. After a couple of dozen hotel rooms and a hundred restaurants and who knows how many pleasant faces of the service industry army, one or two stand out. I was in Minneapolis before the North Pole came to visit them, there for but a few hours at a Residence Inn in Edina. Their shuttle service was busy in the morning when I needed it to return to the airport, and I asked for a taxi. The night person who checked me in, Keith I think his name is, said he would take care of everything. The next morning, I discovered he had arranged an alternate shuttle driver to take me. I used to work at a hotel front desk and know taxi companies often tip hotel clerks. Not only did Keith forfeit that tip, when I tried to tip him myself he said it was part of his job and I should tip the driver, instead. The hotel was fine, nice rooms and a cold shower, not all that unlike the couple of dozen others I visited. I'd like to think the entire staff at the hotel in Edina is like Keith. As Christmas approaches, I'd like to think we all are.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Everett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edina
1.1 mi away
The Westin Edina Galleria
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
0.8 mi away
GuestHouse Inn-Bloomington
GuestHouse Inn-Bloomington
#38 of 43 in Bloomington
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Bloomington at Mall of America, MN
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
4.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Edina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Edina

Address: 3400 Edinborough Way, Edina, MN 55435-5255
Region: United States > Minnesota > Edina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Edina
Price Range: £86 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Edina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Edina, we strive to incorporate comfort and value into our on-site guest services and amenities, and we make life easier for travelers by providing them with the following unique features. All of our Edina, Minnesota hotel's guest rooms are spacious suites that are complete with fully equipped kitchens including coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, stove top, dishwasher, and cookware. We also offer free wireless high-speed Internet throughout our hotel. Our complimentary shuttle service runs from 6 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. to anywhere within 5 miles, including the Mall of America (just 4 miles E of hotel) and the airport. There are voicemail and separate data ports for easy Internet access in every suite and we include a free “USA Today” newspaper available at the Front Desk. Our retail store open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Please call today to find out how you can book your next getaway to Edina, Minnesota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Edina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Minneapolis Edina Hotel Edina
Residence Inn Edina
Edina Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing