We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Elk River
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Will start off with the positive - We were very happy with our room - quite spacious, clean and just overall nice. The pool staff was very attentive. Note - this waterpark is ideal for children 12 and under.

Not impressed with desk staff. Customer service is not this hotel's strong suit.

Room Tip: Corner room was great!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsoften265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your large and clean guest room, as well as your time in the waterpark. I will share your comments with our front desk team so we can address the issue you mentioned.

Thank you again,

Greg Pike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

I wrote a review in March 2013 about breathing issues in the pool area. We were given passes to return another day. After a year, the boys decided to try it again but decided not to go into the hot tub...the place where they had problems breathing. Everything seemed to be going fine. The pool was packed and spectators were elbow to elbow amongst the tables and chairs. A little girl walked up to her dad coughing and complaining about how suddenly it had come on. I had a flashback of our experience a year ago. Sure enough, a few minutes later my boys came to me in a panic and said we needed to get out of there. They said their chests were feeling heavy and they had mild coughing. Even though it wasn't as bad as the last time, we definitely will not be returning. They obviously have some ongoing issues with the chemicals or ventilation or something, and I don't want to risk my children's health.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank NL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

NL99,

Thank you for your feedback. I have shared your comments with our maintenance team for review. I did look at our pool logs to ensure the readings were in line. Our maintenance department checks the chemical levels a minimum of 4 times when the park is open.

Sincerely,
Greg Pike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here for one night while in town for a work-related conference. Had extremely noisy neighbors (upstairs and next door), thus a restless night of little sleep, had a completely unacceptable meal from the restaurant via room service, and received no forms of apology from the staff for our inconveniences. Very unsatisfied customer, would not recommend.

Room Tip: Walls are paper thin, make sure you don't have neighbors!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca0500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Rebecca,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your experience. I would like to apologize for the lack of follow through from our staff. I will share your comments with our management team so they can address them with their teams and correct the deficiencies.

Sincerely,
Greg Pike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We brought the grandkids to stay at the Holiday Inn and use the waterpark. We chose to spend a little more and got a suite which had two bedrooms--one King bed and two bunk beds. The living area also had a pull-out couch. Our room had a microwave and fridge. At check in we were given certificates for free dinners and breakfast for the kids. (The restaurant does not serve lunch.)

My grandkids are 10, 8 and 6. They were all excited to use the waterpark. There is a lazy river, a pool with basketball hoops, several slides (including one called the "Toilet Bowl") and an area for little ones to play. Thursday, the day we went which was during spring break wasn't too crowded.There are several lifeguards watching the kids at all times.

There is a snack bar where you can buy items to eat and drink. Tables were adults can sit and watch if they'd like. During Spring Break the hotel also provides an activity each night for the kids. On the night we were there, the hotel provided a staff person and materials to do arts and crafts.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was a great winter get-away for us!

Room Tip: For a family a suite is ideal.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you very much for the taking the time to share your excellent family experience! We are thrilled that your visit was outstanding and you were able to enjoy all the wonderful offerings we provide.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Greg Pike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The staff at the hotel/waterpark were really great and did provide good service under the circumstances. We tried to check-in to our room (along with many other guests) at the check-in time and ended up making two different trips to the front desk and waiting an hour to get our room. The waterpark locker rooms were a mess and used towels were everywhere on the floor. The waterpark didn't have any towels available because they weren't able to keep up with laundry. When we had breakfast in the morning, we waited 15-20 minutes for our server to come by and it was a buffet. We stayed over the Presidents' Day weekend and the hotel was full but it seemed like they didn't have enough staff on duty to keep things moving smoothly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback abour your stay with us over the President's Day holiday. I am happy to hear that our staff was helpful during this busy weekend. Unfortunately we did experience some issues with our laundry equipment that did affect our production. I certainly apologize for the delays you encountered, as our team always works hard to deliver the service levels are guests expect.

Thank you again.

Greg Pike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have stayed at this hotel/water park before and had a great experience which is the only reason I am giving it an average rating instead of poor. It started out with a long wait at the front desk just to be told that our room wasn't ready. We were able to get in around 4:40 but considering it is such a late check in the way it is we wanted as much time in the pool as we could get, so yes the extra 40 minute wait with 3 young kids was annoying. Also the pool was ridiculously cold. It would be nice to enjoy some time in the pool without having to get out every ten minutes to warm up. The kids all had blue lips even. Like I said we have enjoyed this water park before and it might be worth another try since we live so close but the thought of freezing in the pool isn’t exactly appealing so I don’t think we’ll be back anytime soon.

Room Tip: We had a 2 queen bed 2 room suite and the other part of our party had just a 2 queen room and their...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darcie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Darcie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I will speak with our maintenance department about the water temp to be sure it is at the proper level.

Thank you again fo ryour feedback.

Greg Pike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed the night on February 14th and we had a great stay. Our room was huge for having the standard two queen beds. Check in took a while with a long line, but check out was quick. We stayed at this hotel just for the water park and overall we were happy with it. It was pretty busy, but we expected that with a holiday weekend. Things that I noticed about it were that, although the lifeguards that they had seemed to be doing a good job, I never saw one by the lazy river where our table was at and I almost saw a few kids get swept up in the current. I could easily see someone drowning! It was also hard to find a table or chairs because of how busy it was. The snack bar really needs help. I would have avoided it if we wouldn't have bought the pizza and pop package with our room. The line took forever, with no one working that seemed to know what they were doing. If you were getting alcohol no problem, pizza.. forget it! The people that were working were rude and acted like the customers were a huge inconvenience. My sister waited in line for about twenty to thirty minutes.This was the only real negative of our stay. We looked the variety in the park for all ages, but the little ones were freezing with the water being a bit cold. In the morning we went to breakfast, and even though we had to wait, the service was great. The hostess was super nice! Overall, we will probably come again, but I won't be using the snack bar at the pool but instead ordering out from our room!  

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Ashley,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us, I am happy to see that your overall experience a good one!

I will be sharing your comments with our front desk and food and beverage managers so they can coach the team members in these areas.

Thank you again.

Greg Pike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk River
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elk River
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Maple Grove - Arbor Lakes
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rogers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albertville
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rogers
7.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River

Address: 9200 Quaday Ave NE, Elk River, MN 55330-6661
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Elk River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Elk River
Price Range: £74 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Wild Woods Waterpark Hotel. Home of one of the largest Indoor Water parks in Minnesota! Our full-service hotel is a new facility located minutes from Graco, Great River Energy, Albertville Premium Outlets, Lowes, Cabelas, Cargill, Siemens, Sci-med and Ramsey Industrial Park. Our guest rooms are well-outfitted for the traveling executive, including a spacious and well-lit work area, and Corporate QUIET Floor. Our on site lounge and restaurant, the Mississippi Valley Grill and Bar, is a great place to relax and enjoy dinner in a Northwoods atmosphere. In-room dining is available 7 days a week. The waterpark takes you back to the River Town of old. With three water slides, a lazy river, basketball water court and a child's play area, there is fun and variety for all ages. The waterpark is open daily in SUMMER. WATER PARK HOURS: SEPTEMBER through MAY: Mon. Closed, Tues. Closed, Wed. Closed, Thursday 4pm-9pm, Fri. 4pm-10pm, Sat. 8am-10pm, Sun. 8am-9pm. Call for availability we are open for some school vacations! The conference/ meeting area features 7 breakout rooms with multiple room combinations and up to 120 people for general sessions, parties and/ or receptions. Our constant caring team is empowered and dedicated to providing you with a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Minneapolis Nw-Elk River Hotel Elk River
Holiday Inn Otsego Mn
Otsego Water Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing