We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fishing again.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Timber Trail Lodge and Outfitter
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Ely
East Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fishing again.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The fish treated us equally well as our gracious Hosts did. My 2nd year back, but this time it was Sept. instead of June. Cabin was as clean and as well supplied with utensils and china as it was last year. Fortunately there were extra blankets already in place in the drawers as the weather turned cold and very wet..The last 2 mornings were in the 30's. Hot soup for Shore lunch was very welcome. Also,per usual, the guides were exceptional.. Till next year..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    8
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
28
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torrington, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My son and I stayed at the lodge from Aug 10 thru Aug 14, 2013. We packaged a three day fishing adventure with Rob Nelson owner of the Ely Fishing Guide Co. Our cabin was clean and very comfortable. The owners and staff could not have been more accommodating. The location is very convenient to the shops and restaurants in Ely. The fishing was outstanding. The guides were extremely competent an worth every penny. Caught numerous walleyes, northern pike and two massive muskies. The total experience was well worth the trip from Connecticut. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Art M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We just had a week long vacation at Timber Trail Lodge, and we have mixed opinions on rather we'd go back or not. Overall it was good, and we are VERY low-maintenance, laid back travelers. It's a beautiful area and a beautiful lake.

What we didn't enjoy was having no privacy in the particular cabin we were in - Aspen. It looked wonderful on their website, maybe one of the nicest cabins, but you must know that it is on TOP of the "community" area of the campground. Like literally, 5 feet from your deck is the beach area for the whole resort, so with our early morning coffee on the deck we were dodging frisbees, listening to screaming kids, and staring right off our deck at many people. NOT very private. But I could see the appeal of this if you were taking a multi-family trip, that all these cabins share one main area and you're right on it would be great in that situation. However, we were not - it was just our immediate family. Just something I wish we had known - not a total deal breaker.

Another thing, in our particular cabin, it was sadly needing a furniture overhaul. The futon was so flat that we couldn't even sit on, the loveseat rocker was broken, we could pretty much only sit at the dinner table - no evening family enjoyment in the living room. Kind of a bummer, again, not a deal breaker, but not what we'd expect for $2000 a week.

Lastly, we have a dog. A dog that we religously follow the rules with and keep on a leash and pick up after. The grounds/owners also have dogs. They do not follow the same rules. And yes, you are totally allowed to do what you like at your own resort, but it made the trip less enjoyable for us. We had to be constantly on the lookout for their dogs, lest our dog make a run after them. Their dogs bark and would get our dog on edge, so it almost was like watching over our shoulders all the time for their dogs. As we picked up after our dog, theirs sh@ all over and made us less inclined to pick up after ours.

Other than those things, it was a perfectly fine place. But perfectly fine probably won't lure us back for as expensive as this cabin was. Again, can't complain too much about being in such a beautiful place in MN, so it wasn't a total loss, but we thought we'd share what we thought!

Enjoy MN folks! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyTraveler622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My family has been staying at Timber Trail for many years. We have stayed in many of the cabins available and all are quite nice. This is not a place you go looking for all of the high class items, this is the place you go to enjoy peace, quiet, and wilderness how God created it. There is cell phone coverage now through AT&T and maybe spotty with other carriers. Beautiful views of Farm lake from almost all of the cabins. Wonderfull fishing for walleye and pike. Take a trip into the BWCA with a local guide "Ely Fishing Guide Co. of course" if you want to make the most of your trip. If you are not a fisherman or woman, just sit by the campfire and read a book. Many nice shops in town as well as museums. The owners are at the utmost peak of nice people. Their staff and or them will make sure you have what you need. Their are paddleboats and kayaks at the beach for kids as well as motorboats available for rent. Their is no air conditioning in the majority of the cabins, but this is Minnesota and even when it is in the 90's during the day it gets nice in the evening and a fan (which our cabins have always had) will keep you comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTruthAboutAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Ranger cabin, a "primitive" structure moved from inside the Boundary Waters log by log and reassembled on site - cast iron woodstove and other "no-tech" (no TV, no telephone, and so on) made this a return to earlier times experience. Of course, cellphone coverage and wifi are here too, but I was more interested in walleye fishing. Our second trip here, very unusual for us vacation nomads.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 263310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, MN, USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

For the past 8 years, we have chosen Timber Trail Lodge as the location for our week long Retreat for Women. Our experience at Timber Trail has been exceptional in every way. We stay in the Evergreen & Diamond Willow cabins and love their comfortable & cozy atmosphere, fireplaces in each cabin & fully equipped modern kitchens. Another plus for us is the very private & secluded feel of these cabins, yet being close to the main lodge and cheerful assistance from Timber Trail staff whenever we need it. Each cabin has a large deck, a private outdoor area with fire-pit and trail or stairs leading down to a private dock that goes with the cabin. It's so inviting for an early morning swim or padding from our dock right into the BWCA. Timber Trail is a place to relax, recharge & build memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kali999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This place "rocks"! ... in a quiet way. Right next to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. More water to paddle on in a lifetime, right from your cabin. The cabins are spotless, the kitchen in Evergreen is big enough to cook a dinner for twenty & I should know I was the cook du jour for the week. The staff is incredible and even the resort dogs are like family... especially Chance. The fishing is great on the "Chain"... that is the White Iron chain of lakes. I spoke to Bill today & he says that the lakes are starting to freeze up and dog sledding & skiing will be "happening" soon. He says that you can sled up to places in the BWCA in just a morning that it took days to paddle to in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
3.3 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
7.4 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
15.4 mi away
Timber Wolf Lodge
Timber Wolf Lodge
#1 of 34 in Ely
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 8 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
15.1 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
3.1 mi away
Silver Rapids Lodge
Silver Rapids Lodge
#34 of 34 in Ely
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Trail Lodge and Outfitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Trail Lodge and Outfitter

Property: Timber Trail Lodge and Outfitter
Address: HC 1, Box 3111, Ely, MN 55731
Region: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Ely
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing