We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more then a hotel!”
Review of A Stay Inn Ely

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Stay Inn Ely
Ranked #2 of 2 Ely B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

My family has stayed at the "A Stay Inn Ely" quite a few times in the past few years. It is so great to have more then a room. The common area kitchen and living room is great. Especially with young kids you want to put to bed, and the adults can stay up later in the other room.
We really like the AMBER room. Although you can hear the road on the ground floor, it is nice to have the larger space and outside entrance.
We would recommend this place to all our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dazzlingdaveyoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

We had several nights at this inn, our room was great and we enjoyed talking to the other guests. The open tea with full kitchen, couches , dining table and fireplace was most welcoming and a great place to relax in the evening. We chose our breakfast at the bakery after steps away and did lots of research on the amazing canoeing options.

Good location - good price!!

Room Tip: I think they all looked very welcoming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank trvel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Right on the main drag in Ely ( yes you do here some traffic) I walked thru the whole town and lots of great shops. The place is clean, fairly quiet and inexpensive. It has a nice bonus of a great room with a fireplace and kitchen. The complimentary pastries and coffee is a nice touch. The heating was a little wierd I was either freezing or roasting. There was no thermostat for our room just a small portable heater. Not a rug to be found in the whole place, nor an extra bath towel, blanket or a place to put your toiletries in the shower. But what can you expect for $69. We enjoyed our stay, the bed was comfortable and the rooms were modern, it is a decent and very convenient place to stay in Ely.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dixoninn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed in the attic rooms above the Basketree bakery and it was great. We really enjoyed going down to the bakery in the morning for breakfast and also were very pleased we had the opportunity to go out in the free canoe that owners set up for us. Really lovely people and a great hotel. Location was also perfect - you could walk right out the door to great restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leateach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We are here for four days to pick our son up from Outward Bound. A Stay In is the perfect location and such a quaint place. It is located on the main drag and walking distance to eat, shop and hike. This is the slow season, so we are the only guests for three of the four nights. It is a house and feels like home. I am sitting in the open living area and kitchen enjoying the fire. Our room is spacious and everything is very clean. The owner owns the bakery two doors down. This morning we walked down there for a wonderful muffin and scone and some coffee. Since the bakery Isn't open on Sunday, they let us pick out some bakery items for tomorrow morning. The kitchen at the inn is a common area and well equipped. While we won't be doing any cooking, it was nice to be able to bring home the leftovers for lunch. Great place and price!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I went to Ely, MN, for a business meeting and decided to stay a day longer to take in the town. Although this is a remote, and a long drive to get to, it does have a few hidden treasures besides being the gateway to the boundary waters.
So when making the reservation, negotiate a bit during their off season. I asked for a hair dryer and iron/board and Don, owner, had it in my room before i arrived. I stayed in the room on the top floor. there isnt a table next to the bed, which i like having for all my "things". The pillows were hard. and the bathroom mirror was, well, odd. it's a corner sink, but instead of having one mirror with the sink angle, they have two mirrors on each side, so one has to tilt head to see self. it was annoying because, well, i'm a woman and trying to put on makeup, etc.
Nice big shower, quiet and restful. another man was a long term guest, and i wasn't sure of the set up or dominance of the kitchen. but i was only there for two nights. i liked the freedom to come and go and since the owners were not on site, i didn't have to make small talk when coming and going. The place was very clean, bed comfortable, and has alot of beautiful wood. the fireplace in the main gathering place was enchanting, wish i wasn't there alone.
Okay, food... i went to the microbrewery. that was a treat as it's MN, and i use to live in Oregon, so i'm a bit of a snob when it comes to my homebrews. I had a guest stout and a local and both beers were good. Prices were big city rate, as the town has a big city attitude with high end shops, etc.
Now, absolutely the best find was the italian restaurant. It's authentic with Italian wines. I got spaghetti, which was delicious and all home made, including the noodles. the price very reasonable. My waitress was young and new as unable to answer my wine questions. The owner answered but i would say not personable, not sure why, maybe it was me.
I also went to a bear center and the wolf center. Don't bother with the bear center, it was like all the members got to submit their photos and there was a ton of reading material. plus i was put off with the description of the majority of bears who die each year is caused by murder. Now the wolf center was better and the speaker stressed they did not hold a political position on hunting, etc. That's the best way to go in rural midwest.

Room Tip: Very clean. Excellent Value. Nice to have a real kitchen. The cable tv selection is poor, the pillow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pj-Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The convenient "main street" location in Ely, provided a nice home base for a two-night winter stay. We were able to walk to restaurants for dinner, and walk a little further to pick up a couple things we needed at the grocery store down the street. The BaskeTree bakery also run by the Inn owners was just a couple doors down, where we picked up the tasty pastry to start our day -- complimentary with our room. Don, the owner, was welcoming and friendly, calling before we arrived to confirm our arrival time and telling us where to find information to access the room lockbox if he wasn't at the bakery to check us in. He helped us with directions to the sled dog kennel we were spending the following day with, which was great in light of the detour that had just gone into effect.

The old house has been renovated to a cozy small lodge, with gathering room warmed by the gas fireplace and comfortable seating. While we did not use the common kitchen during our brief stay, it was a nice touch that hot chocolate, tea and coffee were available for guests to make at any time. Books, games and cards were available for guests to use, and I could envision the Inn working perfectly for a multi-family or multi-friend gathering, renting out multiple rooms and enjoying the common areas for visiting or cooking a group meal.

Our room and beds were so comfortable we were out like a light early both nights, sleeping well (although the heating/cooling unit was a little noisy as it kicked on, but kept the room comfortable). Love the little touch of the homemade soaps, made by a local business. This is not a full-service hotel or resort; it is an excellent choice if you are looking for more of a B&B atmosphere. The decor and colors are so welcoming, you feel as if you are staying at a good friend's home.

Room Tip: The Amber Room is spacious for a family, with a double bed in one room and open door to adjacent roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNnortherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.9 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 8 in Ely
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
5.2 mi away
Silver Rapids Lodge
Silver Rapids Lodge
#31 of 34 in Ely
109 reviews
6.1 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Stay Inn Ely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Stay Inn Ely

Address: 112 W Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731-1123
Region: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Price Range: £68 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Stay Inn Ely 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 'Old House' was remodeled by the owners themselves. Each room is paneled with locally harvested lumber, oiled and varnished to a beautiful luster allowing each room to achieve a rustic eloquence of its own. The spacious bathrooms have white cedar ceilings and large showers. Plush mattresses and deluxe pillows will provide guests with a luxurious night's sleep. There's a fully equipped kitchen, dining room, and a Gathering Room with a fireplace for all guests. All rooms can control heat and air-conditioned individually; and all rooms have cable TV and access to FREE wireless internet. Guests receive a complimentary fresh baked pastry with an assortment of coffees, teas, and hot chocolates at our Bakery & Coffeehouse. We accept VISA & Mastercard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your A Stay Inn Ely reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing