We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were so lucky to find this spot!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northern Lights Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Northern Lights Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We were so lucky to find this spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had a very negative experience with a different resort adjacent to Northern Lights (a simple google maps search will help you figure that one out). We had planned our summer vacation in Ely months in advance and, having never been to this area before, relied on photos and online reviews. Well that place was a complete dump, the online photos a lie, and I'll leave it at that. On a whim, in a moment of complete desperation, I called Northern Lights to see if they had anything available. They had one of their suites open (a family had just happened to cancel last minute) and we took it. Overall Northern Lights was fantastic - exactly what we had in mind for our up north vacation. Next time I would rent one of their cabins. The suites are nice (very clean, with a jetted tub, updated interior and gorgeous view) but not necessarily private or quiet. You can hear your neighbors quite well. Another downside is little storage space, so pack light. But overall, it was a truly wonderful place to stay and Marie, the owner, goes above and beyond to make it a fun and enjoyable experience. There are so many fun family activities and games onsite, free kayak and canoe usage, motor boats and pontoons to rent, fire pits, sauna, the list goes on. I HIGHLY recommend this spot for families with young children. And while I can't speak from experience about the cabins, when we visit this lodge again (which I'm sure we'll do) we'll probably rent a cabin. You will get your money's worth at this resort and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Lights_Ely, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Jennifer--thank you for the review. I'm glad that we were able to accommodate your family and that you were able to enjoy your Ely vacation. It was a pleasure having you here, Evan was such a fun little man to be around and I learned a few things about bugs from Billie too! Enjoy the rest of the summer and we'll see you next time!

Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnestoa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our family just visited and had a wonderful time. The activities that are available are wonderful and kept our 3 and 5 year old busy. Being able to rent a boat, take out a paddle boat or kayak and fish from the dock were great fun! Thanks for being such wonderful hosts and we will be back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolazure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Lights_Ely, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for the TripAdvisor review. We are glad that the family enjoyed their stay with us here on Bear Island Lake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed at Northern Lights Lodge last summer and had a great time. My wife loved the cabin. It was a modern "classic" cabin and it was spotless. The kids were never bored once because there were so many things for them to do and they never missed having a TV. We all had a great time in and on the water. Bear Island Lake is beautiful. This fishing was pretty good for mid summer although the walleyes were hard to find. We've sort of always hopped from destination to destination, never staying in the same place twice but we are returning to Northern Lights Lodge. The owners were friendly and accommodating and they made us all feel right at home. The other really nice thing about our stay is that there were no surprises at check out and our bill was exactly what it was supposed to be because everything that we did at the resort is included except for our boat rental but even that included the gas! I shouldn't say it, the rates could have been higher and it would still have been a good value.

Room Tip: The best tip I have is to tell Marie exactly what it is you are looking for your in your vacation an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Lights_Ely, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Jessie, thank you so much for the TripAdvisor review. We are looking forward to our 2014 summer season and your third stay here with us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend in November. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite and it was very nice. The room was perfect- nice bedroom and bathroom, with a living room and fire place, and full kitchen. We were really impressed with the room, the grounds, and Marie was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyeddywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Lights_Ely, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for your review--the holiday was so peaceful this year and it was lovely to have you here with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove Mn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Cancelled 8 months in advance and was charged a fee of $100 for the privilege; be cautious about planning. We were visitors for a minumum stay of 3 days over the New Year's holiday.
Cold outside. Different place to gather and visit. Cabin was clean and well thought out.

Room Tip: all cabins would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NancyMapleGroveMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Lights_Ely, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
NancyMapleGrove -- I'm glad your enjoyed your holiday stay with us. Your review comments about your cancelled summer stay catch me by surprise because you said nothing about it when you were here over New Years! When you first made the summer reservation I reviewed the cancellation policy very carefully because you were a new guest and you were making the reservation a year in advance. This same cancellation policy is outlined on our web site and this same cancellation policy was repeated in your reservation confirmation for a 7 night stay: Deposits will be refunded minus a $100.00 cancellation fee. Thank you for providing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at Northern Lights Lodge for three nights over the Labor Day Weekend. We have been to Ely many times and we have stayed at other cabins - this was one of the best. It's about a 15 minute drive from town - so you have the flexibility of staying in a 'cabin in the woods' and cooking your own meals - or - driving to town for lunch or dinner.

From the moment we arrived, we were warmly greeted and checked in. We stayed in cabin five, which was perfect for us (2 people). The cabin was nicely decorated and comfortable and spotless. We really appreciated how well the property was maintained. We loved sitting on our deck with a beautiful view of the lake. Although we didn't use it - we had our own private dock.

Although this was a 'get away from it all' stay, we were able to use our ipad at the main lodge. We appreciated the ability to 'check in' and keep up to date on news.

My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Would love to spend a full week in a cabin at Northern Lights Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bab0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Lights_Ely, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you staying with us! We're so glad that you enjoyed your time here in Cabin #5. It was a pleasure meeting you and I enjoyed visiting with both of you. It really was a great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

It was a great way to relax, unwind and have some laughs. It was our first trip to Ely and we were to stay at a lodge that could only book us for one night so I found this on trip advisor. What a blessing in disguise. The place was so clean and comfortable. The view was nice and everything was so close. Who knew I liked kayaking?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mardi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Lights_Ely, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Mardi -- so glad you enjoyed your stay and your time out on Bear Island Lake! I only wish we could have had you with us longer. Until next time, when you can really experience it all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ely
22.0 mi away
The Lodge at Giant's Ridge
9.5 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
0.2 mi away
Timber Wolf Lodge
Timber Wolf Lodge
#1 of 34 in Ely
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Junction Inn Suites & Conference Center
9.8 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
9.1 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#2 of 3 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Lodge

Property: Northern Lights Lodge
Address: 9089 Highway 21, Ely, MN 55731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Lights Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximize your vacation days all year long at Northern Lights Lodge for an experience of a purely unforgettable nature! Guests will share in the classic Minnesota resort experience on the shores of Bear Island Lake on the edge of BWCAW. Our charming cabins and suites are the perfect place to relax after experiencing every seasonal wilderness adventure your heart desires: fishing, canoeing, kayaking, boating, swimming, birding, hiking, skiing, snowshoeing, dog sledding, snowmobiling, hunting and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Northern Lights Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing