We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish, swim, boat, relax, play, bonfires, enjoy, repeat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Northern Lights Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Reviewed 7 August 2013

3rd year with NLL and we've doubled our stay for next year! Perfect for kids of all ages. Lots of places to explore and activities to keep thrm busy! Friendly hosts and fellow resort guests make our stay even more enjoyable. We love the flexibility of being close to town but not in town. Lots of walleye and sunnies and noryhern on our lines. Fish house is worth its weight in gold. They have thought of everything! Lots going on in Ely; be sure to visit the playground next to the farmers market, try some local fare. Visited the golf course this trip-well cared for, fun course.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ERIN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Lights_Ely, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you so much for the review! I know you are counting the days just like we are and we are ready for summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had a very negative experience with a different resort adjacent to Northern Lights (a simple google maps search will help you figure that one out). We had planned our summer vacation in Ely months in advance and, having never been to this area before, relied on photos and online reviews. Well that place was a complete dump, the online photos a lie, and I'll leave it at that. On a whim, in a moment of complete desperation, I called Northern Lights to see if they had anything available. They had one of their suites open (a family had just happened to cancel last minute) and we took it. Overall Northern Lights was fantastic - exactly what we had in mind for our up north vacation. Next time I would rent one of their cabins. The suites are nice (very clean, with a jetted tub, updated interior and gorgeous view) but not necessarily private or quiet. You can hear your neighbors quite well. Another downside is little storage space, so pack light. But overall, it was a truly wonderful place to stay and Marie, the owner, goes above and beyond to make it a fun and enjoyable experience. There are so many fun family activities and games onsite, free kayak and canoe usage, motor boats and pontoons to rent, fire pits, sauna, the list goes on. I HIGHLY recommend this spot for families with young children. And while I can't speak from experience about the cabins, when we visit this lodge again (which I'm sure we'll do) we'll probably rent a cabin. You will get your money's worth at this resort and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Lights_Ely, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Jennifer--thank you for the review. I'm glad that we were able to accommodate your family and that you were able to enjoy your Ely vacation. It was a pleasure having you here, Evan was such a fun little man to be around and I learned a few things about bugs from Billie too! Enjoy the rest of the summer and we'll see you next time!

Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our family just visited and had a wonderful time. The activities that are available are wonderful and kept our 3 and 5 year old busy. Being able to rent a boat, take out a paddle boat or kayak and fish from the dock were great fun! Thanks for being such wonderful hosts and we will be back again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolazure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Lights_Ely, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for the TripAdvisor review. We are glad that the family enjoyed their stay with us here on Bear Island Lake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed at Northern Lights Lodge last summer and had a great time. My wife loved the cabin. It was a modern "classic" cabin and it was spotless. The kids were never bored once because there were so many things for them to do and they never missed having a TV. We all had a great time in and on the water. Bear Island Lake is beautiful. This fishing was pretty good for mid summer although the walleyes were hard to find. We've sort of always hopped from destination to destination, never staying in the same place twice but we are returning to Northern Lights Lodge. The owners were friendly and accommodating and they made us all feel right at home. The other really nice thing about our stay is that there were no surprises at check out and our bill was exactly what it was supposed to be because everything that we did at the resort is included except for our boat rental but even that included the gas! I shouldn't say it, the rates could have been higher and it would still have been a good value.

Room Tip: The best tip I have is to tell Marie exactly what it is you are looking for your in your vacation an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Lights_Ely, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Jessie, thank you so much for the TripAdvisor review. We are looking forward to our 2014 summer season and your third stay here with us. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend in November. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite and it was very nice. The room was perfect- nice bedroom and bathroom, with a living room and fire place, and full kitchen. We were really impressed with the room, the grounds, and Marie was wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilyeddywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Lights_Ely, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for your review--the holiday was so peaceful this year and it was lovely to have you here with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Cancelled 8 months in advance and was charged a fee of $100 for the privilege; be cautious about planning. We were visitors for a minumum stay of 3 days over the New Year's holiday.
Cold outside. Different place to gather and visit. Cabin was clean and well thought out.

Room Tip: all cabins would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NancyMapleGroveMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Lights_Ely, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

NancyMapleGrove -- I'm glad your enjoyed your holiday stay with us. Your review comments about your cancelled summer stay catch me by surprise because you said nothing about it when you were here over New Years! When you first made the summer reservation I reviewed the cancellation policy very carefully because you were a new guest and you were making the reservation a year in advance. This same cancellation policy is outlined on our web site and this same cancellation policy was repeated in your reservation confirmation for a 7 night stay: Deposits will be refunded minus a $100.00 cancellation fee. Thank you for providing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at Northern Lights Lodge for three nights over the Labor Day Weekend. We have been to Ely many times and we have stayed at other cabins - this was one of the best. It's about a 15 minute drive from town - so you have the flexibility of staying in a 'cabin in the woods' and cooking your own meals - or - driving to town for lunch or dinner.

From the moment we arrived, we were warmly greeted and checked in. We stayed in cabin five, which was perfect for us (2 people). The cabin was nicely decorated and comfortable and spotless. We really appreciated how well the property was maintained. We loved sitting on our deck with a beautiful view of the lake. Although we didn't use it - we had our own private dock.

Although this was a 'get away from it all' stay, we were able to use our ipad at the main lodge. We appreciated the ability to 'check in' and keep up to date on news.

My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Would love to spend a full week in a cabin at Northern Lights Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bab0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Lights_Ely, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you staying with us! We're so glad that you enjoyed your time here in Cabin #5. It was a pleasure meeting you and I enjoyed visiting with both of you. It really was a great weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ely
22 mi away
The Lodge at Giant's Ridge
12 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
9.8 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 8 in Ely
190 reviews
9.5 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
12 mi away
Silver Rapids Lodge
Silver Rapids Lodge
#30 of 34 in Ely
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Lodge

Address: 9089 Highway 21, Ely, MN 55731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Price Range: £197 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Lights Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximize your vacation days all year long at Northern Lights Lodge for an experience of a purely unforgettable nature! Guests will share in the classic Minnesota resort experience on the shores of Bear Island Lake on the edge of BWCAW. Our charming cabins and suites are the perfect place to relax after experiencing every seasonal wilderness adventure your heart desires: fishing, canoeing, kayaking, boating, swimming, birding, hiking, skiing, snowshoeing, dog sledding, snowmobiling, hunting and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Northern Lights Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing