We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moose Track Adventures
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful View!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

This was our third year staying at Moose Track. Jim and Joan are so nice!! We always can find things to do in or around Ely. Nice location. See ya next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueQQ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
33
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

My husband and I have 3 kids, 10, 7 and 2. We traveled to Ely with my parents and wanted to stay at a laid back campground that was private. Moose Track was perfect! we got to be right on the lake - which was perfect for the kids to swim in - shallow and right on our camping spot. The older boys got to go fishing also! I would go back again with the family - and bring more friends to enjoy it together!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sjurek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Not wanting to rough it in the BWCA this year, we opted for a cabin just outside its boundaries. This place gave us a very pleasant stay that allowed us to enjoy the quiet and beauty of the BWCA and come home to a hot shower, cold beer and a bed!!

Jim and Joan own this small group of cabins, situated steps from the lake and near their private home on the edge of the BWCA. They (and their dog Maggie) are welcoming and friendly and take great care of this place. Jim and Joan are extremely knowledgeable about fishing, gear, and the weather.

Our "Moose Antler" cabin was a small two bedroom, clean, with knotty pine throughout. Bed is on the smaller side. We had a full kitchen with toaster, coffeemaker, dishes, etc, a small bathroom with shower, large dining table (all furniture was log type furniture), two bedrooms with full dressers (one room had full bed and a bunk on top) and small closets. Outside there is a small sitting area with charcoal grill and a firepit. Property had many flowers.

Ely is less than a 10 minute drive away, but we made most of our meals in the cabin. We paddled a half hour from the dock outside our cabin door (Farm lake) into the BWCA (entry point 31), spent the day, and paddled back home by dark. The Kawishiwi river is beautiful. Kevlar canoes and small motorboats for rent (motors allowed in Farm lake and portions of BWCA South Farm lake).

Jim is remodeling the lower portion of his home which doubles as "the lodge", and the landscaping is pretty and incorporates large boulders from the property.

Room Tip: White pine is larger cabin but not on the lake like the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussytraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed in the Moose Antler cabin for 2 nights and the Wolf Den for 2 nights... last-minute booking and the owners were great in accomodating our two families. The cabins were quaint and more importantly, clean and well-kept. We had plenty of room for 4 adults and 3 small kids. What really impressed us about Moose Track were the owners. Jim and Joan were very responsive to our needs and any request was taken care of immediately. Although their place was booked, they made us feel like their number one priorty and you just don't see that kind of customer service these days. We had a blast with Mike (one of their guides) on a 1/2 day eco tour of the boundary waters, hiking at Kawishiwi Falls, and just exploring the area around Ely. Although we enjoyed the solitude that we were seeking on this vacation, we were also delighted to discover that Moose Track had a mid-week social where you got to meet-n-greet fellow guests and share in a pot-luck meal (kudos for Jim's bbq and Joan's beer margaritas). Definitely would recommend this place!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darin38135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

My son and I had a fabulous time fly fishing for smallmouth and pike with Jim on local lakes just a short drive from Moose Track Adventures. Jim was our guide and he really knows his stuff. He is a superb teacher, as he is a certified flycasting instructor! Jim works hard to make your day on the water both fun and successful. Our recently remodeled cabin was snug and comfortable, and we slept like logs in that special pine-soaked air and quiet of Ely. We highly recommend Moose Track Adventures!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FinsandFeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Jim and Joan are fabulous, they have a great place and work hard to ensure you have a great time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d1369b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We arrived at Moose Track Adventures during a wet, rainy week. Didn't matter, glad to be there and not at work. We have a small tent and was very please with the campsite. There are only 4 sites, two on the water (Farm Lake) and the other two across the way. Not very crowded, compared to other campsites in the area and the other campers were nice. It was clean, quiet, and well maintained. Each of the four sites has access to electricity and water. We had access to the campsite dock for our boat and once the wind stopped, we caught fish! There was a garbage area nearby which was frequently emptied by the same fella who cleans the fish guts out of the fish house.

There is a shower house/toilet for women. Nothing fancy, but the water was always hot and I oddly never had to wait for a shower. There was even a heater in the shower building. Nice.

The first day, Jim invited us to the lodge/main house for wine and cheese as there were no fish to be fried due to the horrible wind and rain. I had a fun time meeting the other guests and listening to Jim's storytelling. He is good (ask him about his quickest high school wrestling match).

Joan was the perfect hostess, offering us tips and advice. I appreciated her sincere interest in our trip. The resident dog, Maggie was a nice addition. She visited us every morning and evening as if to check-in and make sure we were ok.

We would go back anytime. I didn't hear any complaints from anyone about the cabins or campsites.

I don't have children, but others did. Those kids seemed to be having a very nice time. Lots of silly laughter and running around.

Room Tip: My only complaint is that we didn't stay longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
6.0 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
5.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 8 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
12.0 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Timber Wolf Lodge
Timber Wolf Lodge
#1 of 34 in Ely
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
6.2 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#2 of 3 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
5.3 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Track Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Track Adventures

Property: Moose Track Adventures
Address: 593 Kawishiwi Trl, Ely, MN 55731-8195
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Moose Track Adventures 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moose Track Adventures Resort, Outfitter & Guide Service is located near Ely, Minnesota and has direct access to the famous Boundary Waters Canoe Area (BWCAW). We offer newly remodeled 2 & 3 bedroom cabins only 25 feet from the lake. Each cabin is fully equipped (except kitchen & bath towels). We also offer complete & partial BWCA canoe outfitting and full & 1/2 day guided fishing & fly-fishing trips with professional & experienced guides. Opened May - September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Moose Track Adventures reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing