We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Red Velvet Cake”

Rockwood Bar and Grill
Ranked #9 of 31 Restaurants in Ely
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
153 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Red Velvet Cake”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Wildeye Cake appetizers were good, service was great. The Red Velvet Cake was the best I have ever had at a restaurant. Stay away from the Northwoods Nachos the chicken was dry and chewy like a rubber band, we actually could not eat the chicken.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    55
    32
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
st paul, mn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ate there twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

sat outside and had appetizers, good service and friendly waitress. we went back for dinner and the fish was excellent.
thanks to you all!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Jerk pork sandwich is very good. The Blueberry Martini was perfect. The restaurant is on a busy corner but the landscaping makes you forget that it is

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
98 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Decent food, service a bit slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our group of five ate here on a recent visit to Ely. We tried several different entrees and everyone liked what they got. Good food but our service was a bit slow. Would try it again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great Walleye”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We wanted to eat outside but the live music was too loud so we ate inside and really enjoyed the walleye and atmosphere quiet enough to converse with everyone at our table. We had a large group and everyone had different meals and no complaints (except one of us had a few bones in the walleye). Great meal, would definitely go back next time we are in Ely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rockwood Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rockwood Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing