We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place in Ely to stay”
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We recently spent the evening at the Adventure Inn and it was the perfect place to stay in Ely. We had a group of 8 and the large room with 4 beds accomodated half our group perfectly. The rooms were very clean, service was excellent the rates very reasonable.

Mark and Sue clearly take great pride in their place and it shows.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mizzou14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

I loved the fluffy comforter and pillows. A very nice room at a moderate price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank strikketoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This is a great place to stay in Ely, Minnesota. The owners Sue & Mark work hard to make your experience unique and special. The motel has been tastefully renovated and has a variety of different accomodation to suit everyone. The two bedroom kitchen suite is spacious and outfitted with everything you might need. Comfortable beds, nice bedding, great kitchen and lots of room. In the main building I stayed in a beautiful room with new furnishings, queen bed, jacuzzi tub, shower (with wonderful rock tiling) and again a spacious room. They also provide coffee and the most wonderful scones and other treats in the morning in the lobby.Sue and Mark went out of their way to give me a rides and offered to drop me off at the North American Bear Centre or the International Wolf Centre if I needed a ride. The motel is located across the street from a grocery store and it is a short walk downtown to shops and restaurants. This motel is more like a hotel. The service and friendship they offer is exceptional.

Room Tip: Both rooms I stayed in were great. The two bedroom was upstairs and the one bedroom was in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IslandGirl5265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Thank you Marlie for your kind words. Mark and I and our staff do try hard to make each guest's stay a comfortable and pleasant stay. We are dedicated to excellent customer service and creating a warm and inviting environment for each of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My husband, myself and 2 of our friends stayed at this inn May 18, 2012. It is recently remodeled. Very clean and conveniently located in the tiny town of Ely, MN. The gal at the desk was so friendly. They serve the best coffee and danish in the morning in the lobby. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunnyMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Adventure Inn, the Best place to stay in Ely, including my own Mother's, who lives in Ely. Mark and Sue, 2nd to none, hands down the best hospitality we have ever seen. God bless Mark & Sue Edgington! :)
Chris & Carol Giffrow
Two Harbors, Mn

Room Tip: Extremely clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Adventure Inn is family owned hotel a short walk from the centre of Ely. Parking was easy and the reception staff helpful. My room was large with a comfortable bed, big TV and nice bathroom. Everything was clean. The owner Sue was really helpful with advice about town and was a very genuine person. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fulbright12Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We were looking for an inexpensive but comfortable place to stay within walking distance of restaurants and shops. We found all of that in the new section of the Adventure Inn. The room had a microwave and small fridge which were nice touches. The bed was comfortable enough and the room clean enough. Fresh morning coffee and pastries served in the lobby were good. The downside to our stay was the thin walls. We could hear every sneeze, cough, and other "lifestyle" sound from the room next door. Definitely could have done without that!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

I am sorry that you had a noisy weekend. Unfortunately, we had a Hockey Tournament in Ely that weekend and they were very noisy, loud guests. I had tried to put them in rooms in the back building and keep the group together, but a few did spill into the new building. Upon check in, they were all given notice about quiet time and that we are a family run Inn.
I am sorry they disturbed your peace. The new building's walls have been designed to keep noise at a minimum. this is the first time I have heard of a problem with sound traveling in our new building, so I must
take responsibility for allowing the team to stay near your room. We try hard to make sure each guest has a comfortable stay, and we do pride ourselves on our customer service and our sustainable practices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.1 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
0.9 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
396 reviews
5.2 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#2 of 2 in Ely
52 reviews
9.5 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
4.3 mi away
Silver Rapids Lodge
Silver Rapids Lodge
#30 of 34 in Ely
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: 1145 E Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731-1746
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Price Range: £67 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adventure Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure Inn is an earth-friendly, sustainable motel that is dedicated to reducing their energy foot print while providing comfort to their guests. A family run motel. We now have a brand new energy efficient solar thermal building with earthy comfort in mind. Quiet, comfortable with platform beds, hand made furniture,down blankets and pillows. We also have 2 brand new jacuzzi suites. The old economy building no longer exists and we are in the process of rennovating the 10 yr old back building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing