We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Adventure Inn
Nearby Hotels
Motel Ely Budget Host(Ely)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Ely Lodge(Ely)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Giant's Ridge(Biwabik)(Great Value!)
US$120
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moose Track Adventures(Ely)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
122
52
13
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
122
52
13
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew buildingcustard shopcoffee and donutshelpful front desk staffbody soapmorning pastriesfresh pastriessized roomfridge and microwavegreat place to stayplay cardsnice bathroomwould stay here againsmall townin townhome baseenjoyed my stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Came off the trail early due to poor weather and no campsites. Choose the inn based on curb appeal. Quiet even though the inn is on the main drag in town. Had a nice cup of local roast coffee while watching the world go by from a small patio garden tucked in between the lot and the building.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

I am so glad you enjoyed our gardens and coffee. Yes! we have guests who stay with us in part because we offer some of the finest coffee out there. And, the coffee originates here in Ely. Happy you were able to enjoy the rest of your trip in spite (or because) of the weather.

Sue and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We (5 fishermen & women from Tennessee & Ohio) stayed at Adventure Inn on two weekends in late August 2013, inbound to the Boundary Waters and outbound for home. We rented a room with 4 beds, adequate for our group. The room was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable. The TV is a little small, as is the bathroom, and the refrigerator and microwave were also small. But all of these niggling complaints are offset by the great room and friendly staff. I would recommend the Adventure Inn to anyone going to Ely - I think it is the best hotel in town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris37830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for your kind words. Our staff prides themselves on having spotless rooms and all of us are the happiest when our guests enjoy the Inn and relax.

Sue and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I booked our night here after reading on-line reviews and we were not disappointed. So glad we stayed here.
We appreciate their earth friendly approach. Staff was very helpful, rooms are large and so, so clean. The bed and bedding was super. The shampoo/shower gel product was the best I have ever used in a hotel with a fabulous citron scent.
We loved the outdoor seating and also the local art displays in the wide hallways. Fabulous art and such a nice touch.

Breakfast offerings were fresh baked delicious pastries - some sweet and some lovely scones. Great coffee and tea as well.
We'd definitely stay here again... can't say enough good things about it. Congratulations to the owners and staff!

Room Tip: We had a main floor room in the new section - with a king bed and jacuzzi tub. A lovely large room with a quiet location... and great places to sit outside. Also the wide hallways with local art and large windows made it a delightful location.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plenderleiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We came to Northern Minnesota from the wilderness of New Jersey and couldn't be more delighted with the inn, the accomodations and the friendliness and attentiveness of the inn keepers and their staff.

We were silly enough to only book a few nights on the theory we'd want to explore other options. We decided we liked itbest here. Luckily they could accommodate us for the extra nights despite rhe busy seaaon. As a result we can confirm that rooms in the older building and new alike are both clean, charming and comfortable.

If you want to be in a comfortable and welcoming place that puts you in walking distance of all the town of Ely has to offer, this should be your first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

After checking out the options in Ely, we took a chance on this place and are glad we did. It was bright and clean. We especially enjoyed the outdoor seating. Breakfast was fresh-baked pastries, coffee and tea, which was perfect for us. We also appreciated the earth-friendly way they care for the property. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNgirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews