We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally, Totally Wonderful”
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I absolutely love this place. I always stay in the main house portion with its spare Scandinavian decor and awesome, environmentally sound ethos, Everything here is set up in an ingenious way for best use of energy and water, the wood is all reclaimed, the soap all natural, a recycle bin in every room. Even the shower water runs under the floorboards or something to help heat the place!! Very soothing vibe and amazing management. You won't find friendlier, kinder, more helpful hosts anywhere. They should really be commended--all of the guys who work the desk and whoever actually conceived and built the place. The management's kids are great too. And no tacky hotel art on the walls! Very, very clean!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cinichol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

We want to thank you so much for your kind words and noticed how we try to run our business as sustainable as possible. Our artwork are from local artists, the furnishing are part of the art and ambiance of our rooms. We keep it simple so as to give a sense of calm and relaxing. We also try to buy American whenever possible. Every year we try to improve our place and use these principles in all of our decisions. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Located in the downtown of Ely, Adventure Inn is a super, reasonably priced place to stay. Our family of four chose here because of the dog-friendly rooms and we are so glad we did. They upgraded us to a better room and we each had a queen bed to ourselves (the owner told us that we had new mattresses) the room is super roomy. It included a flat screen tv with cable, sm kitchen table with 2 chairs, dresser, microwave and mini fridge. Coffee and tea available in the lobby for the mornings. Also served muffins, donuts and turnovers-not homemade (saw the package the gal took them from) but they were good and really hit the spot. Coffee was really good and high end tea. Yum!

It was quiet when we were there so I can't speak of the noise from rooms.

We've never experience owners or staff that were so friendly or so happy to make sure you have a pleasant stay. We loved their recommendation for the Boathouse Brewery. Excellent beer and food was really good!!!

We will be back!

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I was only in town for one night and though it's a sparsely furnished room (felt a bit IKEAish), it was all that I needed. There was even a fridge and microwave. It was a short walk across the road the market and I was good for dinner.

Parking is onsite and free, so is the wifi. There was no coffee maker in the room, but they have fresh coffee and donuts for breakfast in reception.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

The bed was okay, the pillows forgettable. The bathroom was basic but the shower was excellent! Basic toiletries, bring your own.

Well located on the main street of town and close to the Visitors Centre - an authentic 1930s fishing cabin worth a visit - this is a good base for Ely and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you for your review and hoped your trip across the US was fun and not too tiring. Our rooms have furniture made from either recycled rubber trees or old growth white Pine from an old grain elevator that was built in the 1880s. The beauty in the wood is part of each room. Our soaps that are offered are all natural plant based, free from any chemicals and extremely gentle on hair or skin. We do not have those tiny bottles but mounted hand pumps. Our pillows are down and for some they might be too soft. I appreciate the critique of our rooms and am happy you found them very clean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We know a good room when we see it, and the room at Adventure Inn was superb. We were in the newer addition and the room was large, airy, and clean, clean, clean. The bathroom was surprisingly large and the tile work was excellent. The owners are friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooseStaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words. since you both own a small Inn that is highly rated, I take great comfort in your review. Compliments are the reward for our efforts. We also value any critique as we are constantly looking for ways to improve. we are busy renovating a few more back building rooms, now have commercial WiFi, and the list continues. We pride ourselves on customer service and appreciate our guests comments. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The room was very clean and nice. The only problem I had was with the wi-fi. It was very weak when it did work and most of the time it did not. Other than that I would stay here again and recommend the hotel to anyone.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your kind words and concerns over WiFi. That is a huge challenge in Ely as our providers are limited and we do experience momentary black outs. That being said, we realize that we need to improve our service and are in the process of working with some professionals to improve our WiFi. Connecting to the internet has become vitally important to our guests and so we are in the process of addressing this issue. I do hope a return visit will be much improved with our connection. Thank you again. Sue Edgington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We came to Ely to attend a wedding. The front desk staff was pleasant and hospitable. Our room was comfortable with unique decor. The room was reasonably priced and we truly enjoyed our stay. We would highly recommend staying at the Adventure Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

It started out great-nice flowers and landscaping, outdoor seating, good rates, nice linens.Then we tried to sleep. We could hear conversations 2-3 or more doors away, water running, toilets flushing, all night long. Finally quieted down at about 4am, then started up again at about 5 when the fishing and hunting types started getting up to go fish or hunt. Seriously. It quieted down at about 6:30 - the place had cleared out by then. When we checked out, they didn't ask how every thing was or any of that normal stuff customer service stuff. Weird.

Room Tip: Dont stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gracie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

I was sad to hear that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. We have someone at the desk 24 hrs and if there is a disturbance of any sort we do try hard to quiet the noise. We have had a series of weddings on weekends and the returning guests will be back in the rooms later at night. However, to have noise until 4 is rare. We do have some guests that check out early but we have never had the entire Inn checked out by 6:30. I am sorry however that you were not asked how your stay was. Most guests are asked how their stay was. We do take each review seriously and have been trying to figure why you experienced so much noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
0.9 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#2 of 2 in Ely
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
9.5 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
4.3 mi away
Silver Rapids Lodge
Silver Rapids Lodge
#31 of 34 in Ely
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: 1145 E Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731-1746
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Price Range: £68 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adventure Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure Inn is an earth-friendly, sustainable motel that is dedicated to reducing their energy foot print while providing comfort to their guests. A family run motel. We now have a brand new energy efficient solar thermal building with earthy comfort in mind. Quiet, comfortable with platform beds, hand made furniture,down blankets and pillows. We also have 2 brand new jacuzzi suites. The old economy building no longer exists and we are in the process of rennovating the 10 yr old back building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing