We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel Ely Budget Host
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gladstone, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The AAA guide was "spot on" on this one. Like the other reviewers stated this is a step back in time as far as decor, but it is definitely the cleanest place we found. It also had a refrigerator, microwave and flat screen TV! The owners were very pleasant and helpful as far as suggesting places to eat, visit and directions around the area. The motel was very quiet even though it was full. Only a 3 block walk to the park with a new playground. We even met people from the country of Norway there. The morning breakfast was limited to breakfast bars and muffins which there could have been more of, or a slightly larger selection. There was no pool but they do have a sauna for a small nominal fee. The coffee was empty, the one downer for me since I need a cup in the morning to get moving! Also the drapes did not close all the way and the morning light was shining directly across the pillow to wake us up early..... Wished we could have stayed longer or checkout could have been 11 am to get a few more ZZZZZ's.

Room Tip: If you have a big rig you may have to park on the street, their parking lot is very small. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scholr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    41
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
43
45
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel after coming out of the Boundary Waters for several days. We booked here because of good reviews and a great price, and were very pleased with our experience. Rooms were immaculate, the staff was friendly and helpful and the whole feel reminded me of what family owned models used to be when I was a kid.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We found out about this motel when doing research through Trip Advisor and the reviews were spot on. It was just what we needed for our trip to Ely with our grand kids. We toured the Soudan Mine near Tower on the way to Ely from the Twin Cities area. The International Wolf center and North American Bear Center are close by as well as local lakes so this location was very handy. Our room was very clean, the staff were friendly and helpful. We look forward to returning to Ely for other activities and would definitely stay here again. AAA also had a good review on this property. All in all, a good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james-peg j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longboat Key, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

Seriously, the people here should train other hotels on houskeeping. While this may not be the fanciest hotel I have ever stayed in, it is by far the cleanest. I love Ely, and one of the things I love about it is that it is a little like going back in time, and staying here is like going back in time :) I would reccomend and stay here again. Everyone is very friendly, I wish the housekeepers would come clean my house!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stcloudmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelEly, Owner at Motel Ely Budget Host, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you St. Cloud Mom for staying with us. We're glad you found the room so clean, but if we sent our housekeeping ladies down to clean your house they wouldn't be here to do our rooms!
Glad you liked our retro rooms, and even our chairs we had Reupholstered vs. buying new.
Thanks for the nice review and hope to see you back soon :)
Rog and Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We were stranded in Ely due to car troubles and were lucky enough to find a room at this clean, comfortable hotel. The staff was friendly, flexible and competent and truly cared about our predicament. We especially appreciated the three queen beds in our room - perfect for our family of five. We were within walking distance of a grocery store, laundry and, importantly, a frozen custard stand. Motel Ely made our unexpected stay feel like a bit of a holiday (and we didn't even get a chance to use the sauna!)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crookston, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We were on a family vacation and were hoping to go camping, but had to change plans at the last minute due to rain. When calling Motel Ely, they told me on the phone that the room would be $79.00 for the night (it was a Tuesday night). Upon arriving they told us that the room was $89.00+tax. The room was clean. Beds were decent. We were told that there was continental breakfast (and when you are traveling and trying to stay on a budget, that is a plus!). The breakfast was a hard boiled egg and a muffin. That was a downer. But overall, it was decent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jills4788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Motel Ely Budget Host, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Jills4788, first we would like to thank you for staying with us and glad you found the room so clean you would rate it as excellent. Not knowing when you called if the person you spoke to thought you were inquiring about a room with one bed? We do offer a continental breakfast that does include coffee, juice, muffins, fruit, and hard boiled eggs. Possibly it did not get restocked quickley enough, but that is what we put out each day.

We hope you decide to stay with us again on your next visit to Ely.
Thanks again for staying with us.
Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I am a frequent business traveler and rely on Trip Advisor tremendously when making last second accommodation choices. After seeing several positive reviews regarding Motel Ely, it seemed to be a no-brainer, when it came to choosing a motel as I was passing through Ely. Honestly, I couldn't have made a better choice! As small town accommodations go, Motel Ely was first-class! My room was remarkably clean and extremely comfortable. You get the feeling of a "mom and pop" establishment, the minute you are greeted by the wonderful staff. they make you feel more than welcome and are attentive to the weary traveler's needs. I wished that I had more time to stay here, and enjoy the quaint small town feel that Ely provides, the area seemed so beautiful, peaceful and serene. Next time I am in town, I will DEFINITELY be staying here, and will consider making it a longer stay! Many thanks to the Staff at Motel Ely!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ely
0.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 8 in Ely
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
378 reviews
0.8 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#2 of 3 in Ely
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
14.1 mi away
Junction Inn Suites & Conference Center
9.7 mi away
Timber Wolf Lodge
Timber Wolf Lodge
#1 of 35 in Ely
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Ely Budget Host? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Ely Budget Host

Property: Motel Ely Budget Host
Address: 1047 E Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Ely Budget Host 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA rated. Free WIFI accessible from all rooms. Impeccably clean comfortable rooms. Fridge, micro, in room coffee, and phones in all rooms. Walking distance to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Motel Ely Budget Host reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing