We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel Ely Budget Host
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
“More than we expected”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We like to stay at family owned small hotels. We read the reviews for Motel Ely so thought we'd try it out. Our room felt so warm and cozy with knotty pine and comfy bed. The owners were out of town so family members in charge. We really enjoyed them. Would recommend to anyone. Great recommendations, wolf center, bear center, and Dorothy Molter museum. Just a really nice time.

Room Tip: Room 4 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillestad0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    40
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
43
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had a good stay at this motel in 2011 and decided to stay again, rooms are still very clean and the bed was comfortable. The room this time had a refrigerator, microwave and a bigger bathroom. I do wish the staff was a little quieter in the mornings or maybe just fix the door so it does not slam each time they come and go from the basement! We did not have their breakfast, but they offer fresh fruit, boiled eggs and muffins

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelEly, Owner at Motel Ely Budget Host, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
MKM, thank you for your review and for staying with us....multiple times, we do appreciate your stays. AS FOR THE DOOR, housekeeping really does try and work with our guests comfort in mind but that screen door was an issue. You will be happy to know a new door has been installed! Not only is it less noisy but looks much better.

Again, thank you for staying with us.
Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed one night before a canoe trip to Quetico. As others have said, the rooms are not fancy but are clean. We had a room with three queen beds which worked well for us (one couple and one friend). We left too early the next morning to try out the continental breakfast. Wi Fi worked fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cljensens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
202 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We made our reservation 6 weeks ago and found the Motel to be clean and comfortable. Rooms are in a "U" shape around the parking area. Very noisy in the morning as early morning hunters and fisherman get their start. Ear plugs did not help. Queen bed had 2 pillows with no extras and the bathroom was not stocked with Kleenex. Continental Breakfast was hard boiled eggs, bananas, apples, oranges, 4 ounce containers of orange juice and choc chip muffins or blueberry muffins. We paid 89.95 for a Sunday night, but while in the office a lady walked in and said she spoke with someone who offered her a room with 2 queen beds for 79.95. A short time later, a man pulled up and walked into the office. He was told the rate was 89.95 but the price was negotiable. They agreed on 79.95. I'm sitting in the office thinking "hey, I want 10 bucks back." Since the lady behind the desk said "price is negotiable" I thought I would let you know. We could hear the conversation from the people in room 13 and when the shower ran, boy was it loud. Thin walls or loud pipes, not sure which.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRubin510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, MN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This motel is nothing fancy, but who always needs fancy. The room that we had was nice and clean, and very comfortable. The parking area is "U" shaped and you can park right in front of your room. The parking area is nice and protected also. Did I say "nice and clean rooms".

Room Tip: I have to assume that all of the rooms are nice and clean. So just pick a room that fits your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDRVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelEly, Owner at Motel Ely Budget Host, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review. Glad you found your room to your liking. Hope to see you back again.
Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a good place to stay. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. Parking is a bit limited; it appears to have sufficient spots for every room - but the length of the spots is appropriate for subcompact cars only -- this is particularly true near the street where our room was. We skipped the continental breakfast because it was pretty meager. No complaints about these things as we planned to eat breakfast in town and I ordinarily try to park away from other cars to avoid door dings. TV with some cable channels, a microwave and small refrigerator was in the room. This was the second time I stayed here and was not disappointed; particularly when evaluating what we got for the money.

Room Tip: a tip about parking - park around the corner. Ample parking on the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canoecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelEly, Owner at Motel Ely Budget Host, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Canoecat,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for staying with us a second time! We'll pass on the clean and comfortable comment to our housekeepers, they appreciate hearing. Hope to see you on your third visit :)
Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here on 3 different occasions to date. Very comfortable clean and convenient. Close to everything and Chance the Black Lab is always a welcome sight. We like to visit the North American Bear Center and recommend this hotel to all the Lily Padders.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 8 in Ely
180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
371 reviews
0.8 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#3 of 3 in Ely
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Silver Rapids Lodge
Silver Rapids Lodge
#34 of 34 in Ely
100 reviews
5.3 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
9.7 mi away
Timber Wolf Lodge
Timber Wolf Lodge
#1 of 34 in Ely
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Ely Budget Host? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Ely Budget Host

Property: Motel Ely Budget Host
Address: 1047 E Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Ely Budget Host 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA rated. Free WIFI accessible from all rooms. Impeccably clean comfortable rooms. Fridge, micro, in room coffee, and phones in all rooms. Walking distance to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Motel Ely Budget Host reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing