We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stomping up above annoying”
Review of Grand Ely Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Ely Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I'm staying in room 118. One level below "deck". I suggest nobody else stay here unless u want to hear people that sound like they weight 600 pounds trampling towards the food bin. Seriously. It's 1054 pm. Friday night. Back and forth stomping.
What the hell is going on up there. Never again!

Also. We did get a smoking room. Smells like someone just smoked like 300 packs of cigarets in here. Really? Do you use fabreeze or air it out? Wow. Gross

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MNReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Grand Ely Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

I didn't have high expectations coming into this place based on the recent reviews, but I have to say there was absolutely nothing to worry about. The room was clean, had a 3 cup coffee coffe maker, and had a great view of the lake. Reception was nice, the pool area was nice. We had the fish fry on Friday at their restaurant and it was good. I noticed that 3 kids (up to 10) can eat free from the kids menu with their parents. Had the bar pizza one night and that was actually tasty too. The exercise room has a tv in the corner with a treadmill, bike, and elliptical (bare bones but equipment looked nice). We had no issues and would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvthecarribean!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our room was clean and neat with a comfortable bed. The view was magnificent. We enjoyed breakfast two times at the restaurant and cocktails at the bar in the evening. The service was always fast and friendly including at the front desk. Unfortunately, there was an unexplained smell of cigarette smoke in our non-smoking room. The unpleasant aroma really took away for our otherwise great experience. We notified the front desk, who then notified the manager. Unfortunately they could not explain the cigarette smell. The thought was that maybe the vents were carrying it in from the outside. Whatever it was the horrible stench of an old ashtray made for a less than desirable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have come back now twice for a four day stay in February. The lodge is very comfortable and clean. The restaurant is great especially the Bar area. The hotel staff is super friendly and Margy in particular is excellent at customer serivce and making your stay feel accomodated.

They have ice house rentals which is great if you like to fish. Bring your skis as there are trails right out of the hotel. Great view of lake Shagawa from the Second and third floor, I would recmomend to request rooms on those floors. Pool and Hot tub are awesome.
Its a great place to stay and explore the winter around ely. See you next Winter GEL!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Grand Ely Lodge is a decent hotel. What made it less nice during our stay was that it was completely overrun by a group of hockey kids and their parents. The kids were largely unsupervised and turned the pool into a running, jumping cannonball zone. The parents dropped them off at the pool and spent hours in the bar. All of them were very loud in the halls and left a mess of snack crumbs all over the place.

Room Tip: Avoid hockey tournaments and get a room away from the pool and party room
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We came to Ely for girls spa weekend and had a fabulous time. Hotel was completely booked and there were lots of people. We booked the Golden Tamarac suite and enjoyed the huge room, jacuzzi tub, beautiful view and comfortable beds. The only suggestions we have for the resort is that the carpets need to be cleaned and parking was a challenge at best. We had to call the front desk for bedding for the pull-out couch so you may want to put that in the room next time. All in all we had a great time and will be back in October.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed here with my 21 yo daughter in March 2013 for one night. We were going dog sledding for the weekend and went up the night before from Minneapolis where my in-laws live. our stay was very short. we got up around 6-7pm and and left the next morning around 7 am. The people were nice and the location is ideal for doing outdoor activities in the Ely area. Similar to a Holiday Inn. Good price for the room and restaurant. It is a little outdated if you plan to spend an extended amount of time in the hotel's complex. Overall good landing point for the Ely area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10,021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
5.9 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
0.9 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 8 in Ely
187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Timber Wolf Lodge
Timber Wolf Lodge
#1 of 35 in Ely
218 reviews
0.8 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#3 of 3 in Ely
51 reviews
9.9 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Ely Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Ely Lodge

Address: 400 N Pioneer Rd, Ely, MN 55731
Region: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Price Range: £130 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Ely Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Grand Ely Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ely Hotel Ely
Grand Ely Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing