We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely setting on Shagawa lake”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Ely Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Ely Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Forest Lake, mn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely setting on Shagawa lake”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Beautiful lobby and great staff and food was great, but no insulation between the rooms. Very loud people in the halls and the cheapest toilet paper known to man. One expects more from this moderate to high priced hotel. Best thing about this hotel is it's location, it's just beautiful with access to walking trails and free canoe and knacks.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room on the ground floor if you want good sleep. There are dog rooms ! In room air co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rblomqu661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    107
    35
    15
    6
See reviews for
168
111
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Growing up this was my favorite place for wild rice soup!! It is still as wonderful as I remember it!! We had prime rib dinner one night. Great food. Great prices. Bar service and staff are so so friendly. We came back for lunch one day. Place was packed. Still, great service/ great food. Their prime rib sandwich is HUGE! And so good. Way better than the steak house prime crisper that has no flavor and very little meat and is pricey. Hands down great place to eat! Love the bar atmosphere!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nici83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The room was pleasant and staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately we didn't get to make the most the jacuzzi/swimming pool but all looked very clean. The setting of the hotel is awesome and over looks a beautiful lake. The room was clean, certainly large enough for a couple but I would not recommend adults sleeping on the pull out sofa's, not comfortable at all! All in all, a good stay!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open directly to outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Cull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

all the machines in the exercise room (all 3 of them that is) were in various stages of brokenness. the staff were obviously annoyed that i had alerted them to this and said" you're not the first one to complain. this place is owned by a huge corporation and nothing gets done very fast. so, the exercise room is what it is....." for 120 bucks a night i expect a working treadmill. stay somewhere downtown and give your money to the mom and pop places who will appreciate your business more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoidandenoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warroad, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a very comfortable & beautiful place to stay overlooking the lake! The restaurant had a delicious breakfast! Access to the 2nd floor was wonderful, as we were able to park right by the door & walk in!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed one night at the Grand Ely Lodge before heading out to dogsled. The room itself wasn't overly fancy, but had large comfortable beds, the room was clean, and it had pretty much everything you would need for a night's stay. The mini-fridge was a nice tough. We did have a chance to visit the pool and hot tub and the hot tub really hit the spot after being out in the woods in the winter the day before.

The place also had free ping pong, some video games, free snowshoes, etc.

We didn't experience the restaurant, but the menu looked pretty tempting.

One potential negative is that it's not within walking distance to the shops and restaurants of downtown Ely (I guess it is within walking distance, but it's a little longer of a walk, maybe a mile or more round trip).

Overall, I thought it was a good value and the service was good and we had a nice clean room.

Room Tip: You might want to request a room with a lake view; the other side looks out onto the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have gone to Ely the last 3 years snowmobiling and have stayed at this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the restaurant has great food, the bar good drinks and service. The staff has always been very helpful and friendly We always enjoy our time here and look forward to going back next year. No complaints.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.9 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 8 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
0.8 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#2 of 3 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
10.1 mi away
Timber Wolf Lodge
Timber Wolf Lodge
#1 of 34 in Ely
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
6.0 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Ely Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Ely Lodge

Property: Grand Ely Lodge
Address: 400 N Pioneer Rd, Ely, MN 55731
Region: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Ely Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Grand Ely Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ely Hotel Ely
Grand Ely Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing