We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place to go n relax”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Lake Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #23 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Ely
Reviewed 20 March 2010

great place to relax,great people,great cabins,beautiful landscape

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spk95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2009

An excellent place to get back in touch with nature. It was refreshing to find that you can still have a fun-filled family vacation without water parks and amusement rides. Our cabin was newly remodeled yet rustic. It still captured the rustic feel of the north woods. Our children had a wonderful time exploring all the beauty that nature has to offer, fishing off the dock, and the activities that the main lodge had to offer. We all continue to tell our stories to family and friends and have already booked our vacation for next year. We cannot wait to experience more adventures and make memories that will last a lifetime. The opportunities to experience nature are endless. Thanks to Big Lake Wilderness Lodge!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fishaklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2008

We stayed at Big Lake last summer, and we fell in love with the place! The cabins are simple, but VERY clean. The lake is beautiful...fishing was good. The staff is there to really make sure you have a wonderful time! We met several families that were returning again and again to experience this great place!

We have stayed at many locations in Ely and this was by far the best! We loved the fact that we were really out in the woods and there were no stores or touristy spots within miles! It really is like a BWCA vacation in a cabin!

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank MinnesotaKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Venice,FL
16
Reviewed 15 February 2005

Excellent walleye fishing! On a beautiful and quiet lake(you can always find a spot to fish by yourself. We had a BWCAW like vacation,
in a clean cabin.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Woodbury, MN
113
Reviewed 6 September 2003

We've stayed at Big Lake Wilderness Lodge several times and have always looked forward to returning to the beauty and peacefulness of Big Lake. The fish are biting. The cabins are very clean, but simple. The September basket weaving week is great. Well worth the drive.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
16.6 mi away
White Iron Beach Resort
21.4 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
18.4 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
418.5 mi away
Silver Rapids Lodge
Silver Rapids Lodge
#29 of 35 in Ely
107 reviews
13.7 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
391 reviews
14.5 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Lake Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Lake Wilderness Lodge

Address: 4988 Big Lake Rd, PO Box 359, Ely, MN 55731
Region: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Ely
Price Range: £105 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Big Lake Wilderness Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing