We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Historic Hutchinson House B&B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Owatonna)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
132
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was deliciousfrench bulldoggreat hostsheated floor in the bathroomfood preferenceswalking distance to downtownother guestscheese caveprivate bathbed and breakfastgreat conversationfabulous stayan easy drivemain levelspent two nightspainted ladyryder cup
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

In July 2013 my wife and I biked the Sakatah Singing Hills rail trail from Mankato, MN, to Faribault, MN. We started at Butler House B&B in Mankato, stayed one night at Hutchinson House, then biked back the next day. Both places offered friendly hospitality, comfortable lodging, and elegant breakfasts. Both houses are over a century old, but offer modern appointments, including wi-fi. The decor in Hutchinson House is somewhat fresher, more recently refurbished, with a correspondingly higher price. Butler House is very homey, features beautiful rooms, with the walls in the first floor public areas decorated with unique outdoor scenes painted "fresco" on the plaster. It is also a bargain to boot.

The "Butler" at Hutchinson House? Tami and Doug have a quiet, laid back and very well behaved bulldog named Butler.

For bikers, the door-to-door distance is about 44 miles of easy railroad grade, including about 5 miles of city streets total on both ends. Good dining is available within easy walks of either house. Dave at Butler House allowed us to leave our car parked in front of his place while we were gone, and kept the baggage we didn't carry with us on the ride. The trail is entirely paved, but the central portion in Le Sueur County is a bit rough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Tami and Doug are outstanding hosts; the bulldog, Butler, minds his own business but is curious and friendly. The breakfasts are delicious and generally not the standard B&B fare of egg casseroles with cheese and spinach! Rooms are all different, very comfortable beds, but don't expect a wide screen flat TV. In the summer, enjoy the porch; in the winter the public rooms are comfortable and full of interesting stuff to peruse. The Hutchinson House is reason alone to visit Faribault; sadly there are very limited dining options in the nearby historic downtown. People seeking an escape will find this a worthwhile stop. Bicyclists who don't enjoy tent camping can experience the great trails in the area and return to a fabulous shower and comfortable nights sleep and look forward to an excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Johnson's Pride has great layout and plenty of daylight; more than making up for a small but well organized bathroom. If you are looking for a more spacious bath go for Dr Haesslys.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeedSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

A beautiful home with fabulous hospitality, in walking distance of wonderful restaurants and fun shopping in a charming town a half hour from the metro, AND a most delightful English bulldog named Butler. I loved this B & B. Can you tell? Sure cookie cutter hotels may be a bit cheaper, but you can't compare that to the experience of sleeping in a beautiful home with incredible food next to main street and all this great town has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cleolundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We spent a weekend at this B&B with friends and had a great time. The rooms are neat, comfortable, clean -- take a tour to see them all! The breakfasts were fantastic and the hosts -- Tammi and Doug are fun.The home is beautiful and well maintained and Tammi and Doug go out of their way to make you welcome. And, what can you say about Butler, the pet bulldog? He's super!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farfromthecrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We have stayed here several times over the last 2 years (I only figured out how to use the review tab here) and every time we have found it the perfect home away from home - only better! Tami and Doug make our stays special and enjoyable, breakfast is a marvel and the rooms are cozy and comfortable without being fussy. There is nothing I would change!!

Room Tip: There is no pool, I can't figure out how to untick the box. All the rooms are lovely!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews