We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good breakfasts”
Review of Keys Cafe & Bakery

Keys Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in Forest Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Consistently good breakfasts”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

You can't go wrong with Keys for breakfast whether it's their one lets or their skillets. Lately I've gone for lunch and been very happy with their soups and sandwiches. Just had their BLT, oh that bacon was awesome!
They have incredible cakes and tarts to go. Its a great place to order cakes for parties.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadianAmericanGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    53
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stacy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistent good eats”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We have a couple of favorites, including the smoked salmon omelet and the Rachel (prepared to our preference). Every once in a while, one of us will get a hunger for the smoked salmon omelet, and it takes no convincing for the other to say "Well, le's go."

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twin cities
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“enough breakfast to last you through lunch”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great traditional breakfast fare. Dinner plate size pancakes and generous portions of most everything. Fast service and friendly staff. Coffee bar too!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wife-o-matic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't order Breakfast on a Friday night....”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stopped in specifically for breakfast during dinner hour. The food had potential but was poorly executed. The hash browns were LEAKING oil all over the plate. Seriously I like "greasy spoon" food but this was out of control. My eggs (ordered hard) were swimming in the hash brown oil. At first I thought the eggs were the oil culprits but soon realized it was the hash browns. Served with two pieces to thick cut toast, sadly the toast was COLD. And by cold I mean the butter spead between the two pieces was not melted. At all! Yuck. The bacon (4 pieces!) was also cold and swimming in it's own oily concoction. I never thought bacon could be too greasy....I was wrong! We did try the cinnamon French toast and that was tasty as well as the pancakes. As for the service, not so great. When we arrived, there were only 2 other tables. We ordered and then table after table received their food. Noticeably the other tables ordered the Fish and Chips dinner special. The waitress didn't even ask "How was everything?" I don't complain but had I been asked I would have pointed out the inedible hashbrown oil.I think if you order breakfast during the AM and order the specials you'll be OK. Had we not ordered breakfast for dinner I would give this only two stars. Won't be back to this location.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Pancakes Ever!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I love the pancakes here! they are as big as a dinner plate and a little sweet and buttery and a tinny bit crunchy and soft and yummy on the inside! My husband and I split 2 normally. I also love that they have sausage patty's, these are so good and made fresh! Also the jam that comes with toast is so delicious! Also they carry diet mountain dew which is a must for my husband :) Service is usually pretty good. Great place for breakfast! Haven't been too impressed with lunch and dinner food here. I find it over priced and kinda blah.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank i3gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keys Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Keys Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing