We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fridley
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else.”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I had high hopes for this hotel upon arriving, especially since they've put so much money into the lobby. However, the fact that it shares a parking lot with a Menard's and is located right near the highway should have tipped me off.

For some reason, there were no sheets available - the bed only had a comforter and a fitted sheet. To that I say - GROSS! The room I had had no windows to the outside, as it faced out over an inner courtyard.

Additionally, I received a $15 charge on my credit card 2 days after staying there, without even so much as a phone call from the hotel as to why they were charging me after I had paid the room in full. I emailed them, and they told me that I had "ruined" the sheets by leaving stains, which was false. Given the cleanliness standards of the hotel, it's very likely that the alleged "stains" were already there! I am very unimpressed with the way this was handled, especially since sheet cost is normal overhead for any hotel. Additionally, since they charged me after I had left the hotel, there was no way for them to prove that the "stains" were actually there - I had no recourse but to accept the charges. I complained to the manager, but received no response.

Overall, the worst hotel experience I've had.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globallyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    56
    24
    20
    26
See reviews for
46
43
31
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This hotel is a bit back from the main road, so it's pretty quiet. The room was really big and had a flat screen tv, a small fridge, and a microwave, in the regular rooms. Check in was fast and easy, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolo4815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndmere, North Dakota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Smells, live in people, Hud or something. Would not recomend. Many other options for a less price and better.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyndmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreview
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I checked into this extended stay hotel in October 2011. I have not slept a whole night since and am being forced to consider moving though I have much longer to go on my business trip to the area.
The hotel has a high population of persons who reside there under benefits from HUD or some such City, State, or Federal Aid programs.
Theses folk evidently do not have to work, so they party all night long, hollering, slamming doors, throwing trash, doing laundry at 4 AM etc.....and no one from Staff appears to take notice, though the entire place is covered by an elaborate camera security system! Police cruise the place constantly after dark, and that alone tells you that all has not been well here. Forget using the Business Center since residents tie it up all day cruising the internet.
I think the GM really wants to do better, but he is outnumbered, and folks who live there for free will ruin his place in the long run. They have no respect for others.

Room Tip: Look at the room before making the transaction. No such thing as a quiet room location here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivINN-Fridley, General Manager at LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
I want to thank you for taking the time to pass along your comments about your stay with us at the LivINN Fridley. We are constantly trying to improve and feedback like this helps us to do that. I am sharing your comments with all of our staff and encourage you to stop by the desk so that we can chat a bit about your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to pass along your thoughts.

Best regards,

Rick Engelhard
General Manager
engelhardr@livinn.com
763.571.9440
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I must say I loved the price and the room was great it had a full size fridge, microwave, WiFi, a little desk that was very cute and a very open room. The draw backs because it was less expensive their was a few issues with loud guests with lots of children unsupervised and a few permenant residence that made the place feel odd as you knew this was their actual home not just a long term rental. I was there for 2 weeks for schooling and honestly I will use them again they were worth it.

Room Tip: they printed papers I needed for free
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The hotel is nice, quite and clean for the price you pay, the suite on the newer side are very nice, and the hotel is close to many shops, restaurants, and they are right off the hwy 10min from downtown, plus the manager Rick is very nice I will stay again and tell friends about it as well

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I travel all around the country for work. So I first have to say you get what you pay for.
Good things to know (1) Cheap (2) Close to food (3) Great access to the freeway one maybe two red lights at the most no turns thou. (4) Safe place to stay "see bad things to know for explanation"
Bad things they wont tell you. (1) This hotel has many live inns or full time tenants. and most of these people can't pass background checks for and apartment. (2) This hotel will try to charge you to do a background check on you. I told them HELL no I won't pay extra for that. (3) they will try to tack on an extra fee for the room safe. Again persistence pays off and say you wont pay for it you don't need it and they can take it out if that's the way they want to do business. If its part of the room cost put it on all your advertisements END OF STORY. (4) This hotel is safe due to the frequency of the cops being called out. enough said.

So over all I WOULD recommend staying here I do all the time but know that you are getting one of the best deals to sleep for the night and don't be one of these people on here complaining about getting a great deal and expecting it to be a 5 star.

Room Tip: Get a room in the NEW wing. Don't pay safe fee. Don't pay for back ground check if your a no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bk6418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fridley
1.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Minneapolis Fridley
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Minneapolis-Northwest
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Brooklyn Center
Quality Inn Brooklyn Center
#4 of 8 in Brooklyn Center
103 reviews
3.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - North
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brooklyn Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley

Property: LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley
Address: 5201 Central Ave NE, Fridley, MN 55421-1828
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Fridley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fridley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LivINN Hotels have come to be known as the "Best Value" Hotel Chain for lodging accommodations in the Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota area. Whether you’re on the road, here for an extended stay, or just need a comfortable place to call home for a while, LivINN Hotels offer you more for less. Providing quality guest rooms and suites for hotel guests staying by the night, or by the week, LivINN Hotels offers many of the same amenities and services that other hotel chains provide but at a fraction of their rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livinn Hotel Fridley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing