We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fridley
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointing Hotel”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I am extremely disappointed with this hotel. One of the reasons for booking this hotel was because of the nice pictures and reviews of the pool and spa area. You can imagine my disappointment when we are and there is no pool! The lady at the front desk told us the pool had been removed years ago and that their actual website was update and this was hotels.coms fault. So we checked their actual website and guess what there are pictures of people having a great time in the non existent pool!! This hotel is completely false advertising. The room smelled like smoke, the bathroom vent makes a loud squeaking noise, and the handle to the shower feel off while I was taking a shower! The beds are rather gross as well, hair in the bed and black marks on the pillows! I am not even joking when I say this is the WORST hotel Ive ever stayed in and I have traveled quite a bit! It is also located in a rather sketchy area. Will never stay at a LivInn again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivINNPaul, General Manager at LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
We do understand your frustration with your stay and again, apologize. We just had removed the hot tub feature (the picture you saw on the web) prior to your stay and as we discussed with you as you were being refunded for 100% of your stay; it does take some time to remove amenities from all of our web pages and third party web sites. We do appreciate your feedback and are taking every word of your review into consideration as we strive to exceed our guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    56
    24
    20
    26
See reviews for
46
43
31
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holly, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This hotel is spectacular! All of the staff is outstanding and friendly and willing to go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. I am staying for 2 weeks total (as i write this i have 5 days left). Upon check-in I was greeted by Amber who was outstanding and very friendly. The heater in the room didn't work so the next morning i went to the front desk and informed them and the moved me to a bigger room at no extra charge. In that room the toilet stopped working so within an hour Dan the matienence guy came in and had it fixed in no time. All while being very friendly and caring. Both rooms were very clean and in good repair. The rest of the hotel is in very good condition and you can tell that they put alot of work into keeping it clean. The garden court is very nice. The spa is very nice and well maintained and they have a sauna which is very nice. Ample parking which is great. They have a guest laundry which is very well priced. Another person i have to give a shout out to is Shanda from housekeeping very friendly and welcoming when you see her in the halls. The one negative to the property is that it seems like alot of section 8/welfare recipients stay here so at times it's kinda creepy but other than that very good hotel and excellent price!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivINNPaul, General Manager at LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and there were employees that made your stay with us a memorable experience. The one comment that I would like to address is the mention of the other guests that you encountered during your stay with us. We have a diverse customer base who stay with us for a myriad of reasons some of which are staying with us during a transitional period of their lives. We value your feedback and appreciate that you have had such a wonderful experience at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The staff are very helpful (Paul, Tonya, Shanda, Wendy, Dan, Nashona, Nicheal, Donald, TSE and Jennie). It is great that the company supports helping disabled individuals work and is very refreshing to see the smiling faces of the TSE Crew. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. This is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: 238 is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mh12201980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivINNPaul, General Manager at LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Most of our guests do not take the time to embrace the diversity of our staff. We are fortunate to have such an amazing team around us that fills us up with happiness, hugs, and smiles! Thank you for your kind words and appreciation for what makes us who we are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onalaska, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Enjoyed a great stay at the LivINN Hotel. The room and over all hotel was great not to mention the staff. The women i spoke to while making the reservations "Alma" was very good at her job and was pleasant to speak with. I would defiantly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaac0789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivINNPaul, General Manager at LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about the great service; especially the team member that made your stay more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

One night in NW Minneapolis stay. This room size, comfortable bed and friendly staff was better than most places I have stayed that cost 50% more. If you need a place in this part of the city, look no further. Desk assistant Alma was extremely pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: 160's are very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avalon1270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivINNPaul, General Manager at LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let others know of your comfortable stay at a comfortable price!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fridley, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2013

An elegant experience at a GREAT price! By far the best hotel experience we have ever had--the staff are so friendly. The Manager Paul was so friendly and took the time to talk sports or anything else on our mind. He ws readily available, friendly and offered plenty of suggestions on what to do. The Asst. Manager Tanya was incredible--she runs a tight ship and has people cleaning all day long. What a class act she is to deal with--friendly, warm and personable. She often went out of her way to make us happy. She personifies the "Going the extra mile" cliche.The service here was superb. Friendly staff cleaned our room and the cleanliness of the entire hotel is five star. The hot tub is so nice to relax in after a long day with clean sauna too. The laundry facilities are very reasonably priced and make life convenient. Free internet. The bed was so big and comfortable (it does make it hard to get up, get out of bed though!). We've been to hotels all over the country and never found a hotel this good.
The hotel is surrounded by good restaurants within walking distance and have several restaurants that deliver here. It is very close to the interstate for easy driving for all the Twin Cities have to offer. If you want the best hotel at the best price then I heartily recommend the LivInn Hotel in Fridley, MN.

Room Tip: There are several styles of rooms to choose from--ask the staff for what fits your needs best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivINNPaul, Manager at LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let others know of the experience that you had during your most recent stay with us. It is comments like yours that help us better serve our existing guests and welcome in people who have never heard of our hotel and aren't familiar with the amenities we provide. We look forward to having you back with us soon, and again; thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review! -Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This is the second time (after 2 years) I stayed here and both times they never returned my security deposit . i had to call them at least 20 times to get my 100$ back and that too after ~2-3 months. The staff are not friendly too. Never ever stay again

Room Tip: "never go there, you will loose your security deposit"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sm98765449785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivINNPaul, Manager at LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
We do apologize for any inconveniences you may have incurred during the refunding process I would gladly take the time to discuss this with you if you would like. Please contact me directly at your earliest convenience as I will look into your situation immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fridley
1.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Minneapolis Fridley
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Minneapolis-Northwest
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Brooklyn Center
Quality Inn Brooklyn Center
#4 of 8 in Brooklyn Center
103 reviews
3.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - North
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley

Property: LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley
Address: 5201 Central Ave NE, Fridley, MN 55421-1828
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Fridley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fridley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LivINN Hotels have come to be known as the "Best Value" Hotel Chain for lodging accommodations in the Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota area. Whether you’re on the road, here for an extended stay, or just need a comfortable place to call home for a while, LivINN Hotels offer you more for less. Providing quality guest rooms and suites for hotel guests staying by the night, or by the week, LivINN Hotels offers many of the same amenities and services that other hotel chains provide but at a fraction of their rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livinn Hotel Fridley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing