We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Father's Day Present” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest History Center

Forest History Center
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the past, present and future of Minnesota's forests through guided tours of a 1900s era logging camp and hands-on environmental learning programs. Board the moored river "wanigan," a floating cook shack, take a seat on the porch of a 1930s Minnesota Forest Service patrolman's cabin, climb a 100-foot fire tower and explore the site's self-guided trails.
Laporte, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Father's Day Present”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I promised my dad I would take him to the FHS for Father's Day. We went on a Saturday in July, brought lunch to eat beforehand in the picnic area. The interpretive center was excellent, like a mini-museum. We didn't participate in any of the classes but took the tour to the recreated logging camp. There's discounts for Seniors ($7.00) and children. The "actors" or interpreters were all excellent and we really enjoyed ourselves. It might be a bit boring for very young children. I learned a lot and it was a fun day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    18
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Historically very well done”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

The people do a great job and people who like history will love it. Workers dress and are always in character like Disney. They have special events for kids from time to time and unique experiences

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Tour of old Loggig Camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Bring your kids, go with your family. Its entertaining and informative and some areas are even hands on. Definitely worth the effort.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcano, California
Level Contributor
333 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A local must-see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This place is terrific. It includes a full-scale replica of a logging camp, circa 1900, along with an excellent and educational visitor's center. Learn all about the history of the North Woods!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rwwaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful edutainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

really enjoyed climbing the fire tower and learning from the camp cookie, backsmith and store hands. It outpaced my expectations. Very pretty grounds for walking too. A Grand Rapids must see.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank T-irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forest History Center also viewed

 

Been to Forest History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing