We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Carlson rarely disappoints and the Grand Rapids facility was no exception. Rooms are clean and comfortable. There are fresh cookies when you arrive and a good breakfast in the morning. Free detergent and fabric softener in the guest laundry area. Staff friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the cookies as well as the breakfast. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

We recently played in a PaceSetter basketball tournament in Grand Rapids & our entire team stayed at the Country Inn. The rooms were a great size, the pool & hot tub were all clean & well kept. The breakfast in the morning was more than expected with cereals, oatmeal, breads, muffins, eggs, waffles. The staff was very helpful with getting extra bedding, toothbrushes, again went above & beyond. So THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mn_busy_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the rooms, staff and breakfast. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Love, love, love this hotel. I stay here because I know what to expect, clean rooms, friendly faces! Its charm and comfort bring me back time after time. Good location, near shopping and food. Staff is very willing to direct me to where I need to go, even supply a city map! Last stay the hot tub was down for maintenance but we were still able to enjoy the pool.

GOOD JOB!

Room Tip: No elevator but I like the second floor facing a beautiful wooded area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you always enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry about the hot tub . We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed here for one night. Despite the hot tub being out of order this was a great stay. The staff are very engaging and always have a smile for you. Breakfast was amazing, beds are comfy. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fjohn55744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast. We are sorry about the hot tub it was a unforseen problem. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I just endured the worst night's sleep since the birth of my son. I mean NO sleep the entire night.

Before I go into why, let me list off some the good aspects of this hotel. 1) The pool is okay - kind of small but it entertained the children for about an hour. 2) The staff seemed nice. 3) The free breakfast was actually good - nothing spectacular but it filled us up.

Back to business. Every hotel room of this low to mid-level caliber has an HVAC unit that heats / cools the place. Some have a separate thermostat on the wall, some are controlled directly on the unit itself. The unit in my room had a mind of its own. The fan/blower would go on for 1 minute then remain off for another 2-3 minutes, then go on for a minute, then off for 2-3 minutes. Repeat ad nauseum. No matter how I set the thing, it did this. All night long. Even when I switched the thing to the "off" position. Was it quiet? Oh no. The fan, regardless of its high/low setting sounded like I was outside at an international airport. Really. If all rooms have this happening to them I can't see how anyone sleeps at night.

Other notes: This is an aging hotel. The bathrooms are Motel 6 quality, which may not be bad, but certainly are nothing spectacular. We ran out of hot water for showers. The pillows are squishy feather pillows. The beds are hard and, at least mine, was lumpy as well.

If you have to stay here, stay in the single story section of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

We are sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience during your stay. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise. The hot tub was a unforeseen problem. We did not notify our guest prior to check in because we couldn't predict the hot tub breaking,We offered to find other accomidations for all who this was a important issue to prior to them checking in, because not all guest are affected by this. We try to notify whenever possible. We hope you will consider us again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We traveled to GR for a one day ball tournament and decided that after the games it would be great to enjoy a hot tub rather than drive an hour home. Booked a standard room for $150 a night. We got to the hotel and much to our disappointment the hot tub was out of order! I asked for a discount since the "main attraction" was out of order and was told "We do not discount for the free amenities." Free?
The other major disappoint is the fact that a regular room the next wknd was $96 a night. Just wanna say THANKS COMFORT SUITES! for price gouging. Won't be doing that again.
Clean place, decent breakfast, check in staff friendly and all, but just not even close to value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

We are sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience during your stay. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise. The hot tub was a unforeseen problem. We did not notify our guest prior to check in because we couldn't predict the hot tub breaking,We offered to find other accomidations for all who this was a important issue to prior to them checking in, because not all guest are affected by this. We try to notify whenever possible. We hope you will consider us again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at the Country Inn for a weekend get away. From the moment we walked in we were greeted by the front desk staff smiles and felt very welcome! Our room was very well maintained and excellent job done by housekeeping. The other thing that was so impressive was how quite it was. Usually in the mornings at places you can hear everyone coming and going..not here though. I was already awake but could barely hear anyone in the hallways. Will for sure stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BreezeM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#3 of 11 in Grand Rapids
226 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
21 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sugar Lake Lodge
Sugar Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cohasset
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hidden Haven Resort
Hidden Haven Resort
#2 of 2 in Cohasset
40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
358 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#9 of 11 in Grand Rapids
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids

Address: 2601 S Highway 169, Grand Rapids, MN 55744-9538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: £72 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing