We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very clean and friendly”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The staff treated us like friends, Check in staff seemed very happy to see us and to serve us. She was also cleaning up in the pool area and stopped to talk and joke with us. I liked there key system that is guaranteed to work all the time, no more going back to get a card reloaded.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank 1Hogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our friendly staff. We actually do feel like we make alot of new friends working here:) We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    93
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
137
74
13
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Overall experience at this facility is great. The rooms are clean, the staff very friendly and the cost is reasonable. They do have a breakfast room with a decent selection. They do have a pool which we didn't use but saw many people that did and the seemed to enjoy the experiance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Adrien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the breakfast selection. Maybe next time you will be able to enjoy the pool. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anola Mb. Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A very nice hotel to stay at where we had no complaints. The staff are very nice, the breakfast is great and we stay every year when we come in for the car show. The location is also very good. We recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Dianna547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to see you every year for the car show. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayzata, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Friendly, clean affordable choice in busy sports/tourist area of northern Minnesota. Helpful, knowledgeable staff. Location is easily accessible to all major tourist attractions and events. Family friendly lodging and breakfast means breakfast, not a few stale rolls and minimal beverages. This spot has what the value conscious traveler needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the breakfast room and location to events while spending time in Northern Mn. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stay here every summer when I am in the area and have never had any complaints. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are clean. Love being able to get coffee when I want to. I plan on staying again next summer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. Thank you for choosing us every year. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
127 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Almost wish we hadn't been travelling so we could stay longer. What a wonderful homey hotel, the grounds, flowers? - spectacular. Rooms are lovely, atmosphere any better. And the cookies so often available now...HOME MADE!! Or at least they certainly tasted that way and that works for us! (They were everywhere, not exactly what we needed from a caloric intake perspective but what the hell, we were on vacation.) Wasn't travelling with my "kids" this trip but big notice that they take dogs. I am so thrilled that more and more hotels are catering to travelers with pets.

Highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeytonSloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the flowers and the cookies,( yes the cookies are home-made). We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Have never stayed at a Country Inn until now, my apologies you are well worth the visit, warm inviting atmosphere the second you walk in the door, just like arriving at home. Thank you to Shara at the front counter for exemplifying that feeling, took the time to introduce herself and co-workers and made us feel at home, cozy room, nicely kept, fantastic breakfast bar maintained by a another lady very concerned about your satisfaction. This trip brought us to many hotels in our travels but none of the other brands even came close to the comfort of this location or the price. My wife says "quaint" and it is. Pass by the rest and come stay with these people, you will be happy you did. "Did I mention free cookies everywhere". Well done, from us to you thank-you very much. We would absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any bad rooms, but back side is away from parking lot and any noise you may get fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mussell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay that you actually felt you were home. We are happy you also got to enjoy the breakfast as well as the home-made cookies. We look forward to your next stay. Let me personally thank you for trying our hotel on your travels.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#3 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sugar Lake Lodge
Sugar Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cohasset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#8 of 11 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
15.5 mi away
White Oak Inn & Suites
White Oak Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Deer River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids

Property: Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
Address: 2601 S Highway 169, Grand Rapids, MN 55744-9538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grand Rapids
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing