We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The beds were super comfortable and soft. I understand they are updating the bedding on all the rooms and we were fortunate to get one. Without even asking the staff made sure we had a good, quiet room overlooking the grounds and not the parking lot. Breakfast was on the light side, but enough to hold you over for a few hours.

Room Tip: Ground floor overlooking the grounds is quiet and easy to haul your bags into.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milendr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our beds, there is nothing like a good nights sleep. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    95
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
143
74
13
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sartell, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel was great, rooms were clean and comfy. Breakfast was above average. There were a group of us (17) all 50+. We were sitting at tables close to the check in area. We were visiting and eating supper. I'll admit that with all of us, it was loud. One male employee "Josh" was very rude when he told us we had to be quiet. He came by us with a tray, and yanked it past us, hitting the wall by us, while talking on his cell phone. We asked if there was anywhere else we could go, and he just said "NO". A female worker came by and apologized for his actions, and told us there were tables and chairs outside by the pool area we could sit and visit. When we came back in later, there were a group of teenagers sitting where we had been, being just as noisy as we had been, and "Josh" was sitting at the check in area not minding the noise from them. Other then his rudeness, the stay was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadow700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. I have addressed the issue brought to my attention about 1 certain employee. I do apologize for his actions they were unacceptable. To discuss your concern further, please contact the hotel directly, and ask for Jill Nelson @ 218-327-4960.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel was very clean! All the staff were polite and friendly. Wifi worked well. Breakfast had a varied selection. Pool area was very clean and tidy with a nice hot whirlpool. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our service, breakfast and pool. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel was easy to find and convenient to the major shopping area. This Country Inn was right next door to the Judy Garland Museum. The morning breakfast was good and the hotel swimming pool was nice. If I went back to Grand Rapids I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLHZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the Grand Rapids shopping as well as the Judy Garland Museum location. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arkansastraveler74
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel based off of what I read on Trip Advisor. It was right on! What a nice place for the money! The rooms were spotless. Beds were very comfortable with a down like bedding. Breakfast was good! The only reason I am not giving 5 stars is because we had a room on second floor and there isn't an elevator.


Can't wait to stay again! Highly recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arkansastraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds as well as our breakfast. We can except the 4 stars because of no elevator. I would love one as well. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2014

If you want a clean, quite, comfortable stay and want to be treated well, this is your hotel. You can tell by the details that this hotel is extremely well managed. The staff is courteous and eager to please. It's hard to say too much because I had a seamlessly wonderful stay. The breakfast is above average, and certainly reasonable considering it is included in the stay. The internet is fast and free, and the Judy Garland Museum is next door (not that I took advantage of that, but someone might). On the other side is the Saw Mill Hotel. I can't speak to its rooms, but they may be connected somehow, because you get a drink coupon for its restaurant when you check in. Use it, because the Prime Rib is out of this world. You'll find that Grand Rapids has some very old drive-up-to-your-room Motels that you'll want to avoid. So be careful. I'm here for two weeks and could have moved. But I didn't and wouldn't. This is my first choice if I return. Make it yours and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Todd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us while in the Grand Rapids area, we appreciate it. We are equally happy to hear you went to dinner at the Sawmill Inn, I agree they have the best Prime Rib I have ever eaten. In fact the best food in the Grand Rapids area. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

If you are passing through or looking for a central point to explore Northern Minnesota then consider staying with these folks in Grand Rapids. The property is clean and well-maintained. The lobby is comfortable and there are always tasty treats in the kitchen area. The complimentary breakfast has a nice variety of items and the staff keep the serving trays full! Rooms are clean and spacious. The pool is standard hotel pool size, but it's clean and easy to relax in. There are many great spots to relax at a table with friends around the property and lots of green space for a quick game of tag! And best of all, the staff are welcoming, attentive, and engaging!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Billie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill N, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness as well as our variety we offer for breakfast . We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#3 of 11 in Grand Rapids
216 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
20 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sugar Lake Lodge
Sugar Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cohasset
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
324 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#7 of 11 in Grand Rapids
47 reviews
15.5 mi away
White Oak Inn & Suites
White Oak Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Deer River
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids

Property: Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
Address: 2601 S Highway 169, Grand Rapids, MN 55744-9538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grand Rapids
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing