We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad We Tried It.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Glad We Tried It.”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Not normally a fan of Super 8, but I guess I'll have to rethink that after this stay. The AmericInn only had a room (that wasn't what we were looking for anyway) for $130 but the Super 8 had one for under $90. I can't imagine that the other motel could have been worth $40 dollars more.
The receptionist was very friendly. When we inquired about a good local restaurant she recommended the 17th Street Grill and gave us coupons (Great recommendation see review). The beds were comfortable and the TV and refrigerator worked well. Room was clean. Breakfast was good. The biscuits were not hockey pucks and the sausage gravy was satisfactorily hot. The other items, cereal, waffles, hard boiled eggs etc, were as expected. We thought this place was a good value and recommend it. (Ask about the restaurant coupons.)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElmWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timberlake_Lodge_144, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 5 October 2014
Dear ElmWI,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us! We're very glad to hear that you found our staff friendly, and that you enjoyed the room & breakfast! Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    102
    34
    14
    6
See reviews for
132
70
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at how clean, nice, and comfortable this hotel is. Super 8s are not usually high on my list. The lobby area plays up the northwoods theme. The beds were very comfortable and had nicer sheets than most cheap hotels do. We had 2 queen beds, a tv, small refrigerator, microwave, chair, and desk area. The room was clean and relatively quiet. There was some highway noise, but the air conditioner covered it. The breakfast was hot, but minimal. There was a standard waffle maker, biscuits and gravy, and the normal continental items such as juice, toast, pastries, hard boiled eggs, 2 types of cereal, yogurt, fruit and coffee. I wasn't really impressed with the breakfast, but I've had much worse at other hotels. For the price and convenience, this was a great place to stay! I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4nhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timberlake_Lodge_144, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 5 October 2014
Dear abchico,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your stay with us! We're very glad to hear that you found your stay enjoyable and a great value. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was by far the cleanest and best maintained Super 8 we have ever stayed at. This motel is definitely worth the nightly price. Very friendly staff. Great cookies as a welcoming gift and the smell of fresh baked cookies added to the very homey feeling. Glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timberlake_Lodge_144, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Dear Eugene F,

Thank you so much for your excellent comments! We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! The cookies are indeed a treat, and we're very glad to hear that you enjoyed them! Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Super 8 on our way up to a local resort it was very clean and the employees were very friendly and helpful after a long drive from Indiana would recommend this motel to everyone great place!!

Room Tip: we stayed on the second floor was very quit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timberlake_Lodge_144, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Dear Eric C,

thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to post about your recent visit with us! We're glad to hear you enjoyed-after a long drive, it's always nice to have friendly people waiting for you! Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee, Mn
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Super 8 for a weekend convention. The motel and room was immaculate, and the staff was incredibly friendly.

We had no problems during our stay. We have stayed at the motel a few times, and all our stays have been great. The motel itself is in very good shape. It's obvious the owners/management want to maintain the building.

The breakfast included waffles, sausage and biscuits (SOS for us vets), and the usual continental breakfast faire. All was very good and fresh.

The location is very easy to find: right on Hwy 169 on the east side. There are many restaurants and stores within walking distance (pizza, McDons, KFC, and others, depending on how far you want to walk). The rooms have a microwave and fridge.

This motel does not have a swimming pool, however the motel behind does, and you can purchase a pass, which we did not have time to do on this visit..

The only negative things I can say, which are both very minor, are the bath towels are very small, and the breakfast starts at 5:00am, but only goes until 9:30, including weekends.

Room Tip: The McDonald's across the street (about 2 blocks away) is open 24/7 at least on the weekends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timberlake_Lodge_144, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Dear dadidm,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your recent visits, and for your service! We always love to hear that our guest enjoy our offerings, and our staff as well! Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
longmont, colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My grandson and I stayed at the Super 8 in Grand Rapids because I was visiting the area for my sister's memorial service. We had reservations for 3 nights and were very pleased with the room and the service. My grandson wanted to swim so we were able to purchase a swim pass for the pool, hot tub, slides, etc. at the motel right behind the Super 8. It cost $10.00 for the entire length of stay and he had a wonderful time. The room had a micro-wave and refrigerator and they brought us an ironing board and iron on request.
On the afternoon of the 3rd day I found out my brother was in ICU in Mpls. and I went to the desk to tell them I had to leave and returned the keys. When they heard why our visit was being cut short they didn't charge for the last night! Very considerate and something that wouldn't happen at most places. I will definitely stay there again when in the area.
The motel is located close to eating places, grocery stores, Target, etc. and is easy to get in and out of. Thank you very much for your consideration and compassion!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spunkysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timberlake_Lodge_144, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Dear spunkysam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your recent stay with us! We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and were so sorry to hear that you had to leave due to the emergency. We wish you and your family nothing but the best, and we would be glad to have you whenever you can make it back to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.5 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#4 of 11 in Grand Rapids
211 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sugar Lake Lodge
Sugar Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cohasset
67 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#7 of 11 in Grand Rapids
47 reviews
15.3 mi away
White Oak Inn & Suites
White Oak Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Deer River
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Grand Rapids

Property: Super 8 Grand Rapids
Address: 1702 S Pokegama Ave, Junction Highway 169 South & Airport Road, Grand Rapids, MN 55744-4271
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Grand Rapids 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest up at Super 8 Grand Rapids hotel, located at the intersection of U.S. Highway 169 South and Airport Road. Our Grand Rapids, MN, hotel sits just minutes from family-friendly pastimes like Children’s Discovery Museum and Hill Annex Mine State Park. Enjoy close proximity to some of the finest ski resorts and hiking trails in the region.Our pet-friendly hotel in Grand Rapids, MN, offers convenient amenities to help you save time. Our rooms come with free Wi-Fi, microwave, refrigerator, large-vehicle parking with outside outlets and access to guest laundry facilities. Enjoy a sound sleep, then fuel up with free SuperStart continental breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Super Eight Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Super Eight
Grand Rapids Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing