We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We just stayed one night while traveling. It was very clean and a great price! The continental breakfast was good. Our only complaint was the lack of an elevator. Dragging 4 suitcases upstairs at 11 p.m. wasn't much fun.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KathyWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timberlake_Lodge_144, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2014

Dear KathyWinnipeg,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your stay with us! We're glad you found our hotel to be a great value! Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Grand Rapids
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We checked into this hotel after a horrbile experience at another local motel, Forest Lake Motel in Grand Rapids. I spent almost an hour calling all of the hotels in the area on a Friday afternoon and no body had rooms for two weekend nights. Some had one night or the other, some were completely booked. At the Super 8, they told me they had a room on Friday but not for Sunday. I called all of the hotels twice. On my third call to the Super 8 (I was desperate!!), I spoke with Amanda and told her about my horrible experience at this other hotel. I told her that we could not stay there and again, I was told that they only had a room for Friday. But then, she said to give her a minute and let her check on a few things. She came back on the phone and I was told that we could get a room for both nights but that it was on the second floor!! We didn't care what floor it was on! When we checked in, the room was super clean, smelled fresh and we were thrilled! We found Amanda at the front desk and thanked her. Later that night, we were out in town and we decided to surprise Amanda with a bouquet of flowers to thank her for the excellent customer service that she provided us! Way to go Super 8 and give Amanda a raise! Great customer service is huge in this economy and she is a star!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robynberling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timberlake_Lodge_144, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2014

Dear robynberling,

Wow! Thank you so much for posting about your experience with us! We'll make sure to share your comments with Amanda! It's always great to hear that our guests were taken care of, and even better to hear that we were able to make a tough situation turn into a great one! Thank you again, and please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Not normally a fan of Super 8, but I guess I'll have to rethink that after this stay. The AmericInn only had a room (that wasn't what we were looking for anyway) for $130 but the Super 8 had one for under $90. I can't imagine that the other motel could have been worth $40 dollars more.
The receptionist was very friendly. When we inquired about a good local restaurant she recommended the 17th Street Grill and gave us coupons (Great recommendation see review). The beds were comfortable and the TV and refrigerator worked well. Room was clean. Breakfast was good. The biscuits were not hockey pucks and the sausage gravy was satisfactorily hot. The other items, cereal, waffles, hard boiled eggs etc, were as expected. We thought this place was a good value and recommend it. (Ask about the restaurant coupons.)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElmWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timberlake_Lodge_144, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2014

Dear ElmWI,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us! We're very glad to hear that you found our staff friendly, and that you enjoyed the room & breakfast! Please come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at how clean, nice, and comfortable this hotel is. Super 8s are not usually high on my list. The lobby area plays up the northwoods theme. The beds were very comfortable and had nicer sheets than most cheap hotels do. We had 2 queen beds, a tv, small refrigerator, microwave, chair, and desk area. The room was clean and relatively quiet. There was some highway noise, but the air conditioner covered it. The breakfast was hot, but minimal. There was a standard waffle maker, biscuits and gravy, and the normal continental items such as juice, toast, pastries, hard boiled eggs, 2 types of cereal, yogurt, fruit and coffee. I wasn't really impressed with the breakfast, but I've had much worse at other hotels. For the price and convenience, this was a great place to stay! I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 4nhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timberlake_Lodge_144, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2014

Dear abchico,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your stay with us! We're very glad to hear that you found your stay enjoyable and a great value. Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was by far the cleanest and best maintained Super 8 we have ever stayed at. This motel is definitely worth the nightly price. Very friendly staff. Great cookies as a welcoming gift and the smell of fresh baked cookies added to the very homey feeling. Glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timberlake_Lodge_144, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Dear Eugene F,

Thank you so much for your excellent comments! We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! The cookies are indeed a treat, and we're very glad to hear that you enjoyed them! Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Super 8 on our way up to a local resort it was very clean and the employees were very friendly and helpful after a long drive from Indiana would recommend this motel to everyone great place!!

Room Tip: we stayed on the second floor was very quit
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timberlake_Lodge_144, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Dear Eric C,

thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to post about your recent visit with us! We're glad to hear you enjoyed-after a long drive, it's always nice to have friendly people waiting for you! Please come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Super 8 for a weekend convention. The motel and room was immaculate, and the staff was incredibly friendly.

We had no problems during our stay. We have stayed at the motel a few times, and all our stays have been great. The motel itself is in very good shape. It's obvious the owners/management want to maintain the building.

The breakfast included waffles, sausage and biscuits (SOS for us vets), and the usual continental breakfast faire. All was very good and fresh.

The location is very easy to find: right on Hwy 169 on the east side. There are many restaurants and stores within walking distance (pizza, McDons, KFC, and others, depending on how far you want to walk). The rooms have a microwave and fridge.

This motel does not have a swimming pool, however the motel behind does, and you can purchase a pass, which we did not have time to do on this visit..

The only negative things I can say, which are both very minor, are the bath towels are very small, and the breakfast starts at 5:00am, but only goes until 9:30, including weekends.

Room Tip: The McDonald's across the street (about 2 blocks away) is open 24/7 at least on the weekends...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dadidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timberlake_Lodge_144, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Dear dadidm,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your recent visits, and for your service! We always love to hear that our guest enjoy our offerings, and our staff as well! Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.5 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#3 of 11 in Grand Rapids
222 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sugar Lake Lodge
Sugar Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cohasset
70 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#9 of 11 in Grand Rapids
50 reviews
15.3 mi away
White Oak Inn & Suites
White Oak Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Deer River
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Grand Rapids

Address: 1702 S Pokegama Ave, Junction Highway 169 South & Airport Road, Grand Rapids, MN 55744-4271
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: £60 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Grand Rapids 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest up at Super 8 Grand Rapids hotel, located at the intersection of U.S. Highway 169 South and Airport Road. Our Grand Rapids, MN, hotel sits just minutes from family-friendly pastimes like Children’s Discovery Museum and Hill Annex Mine State Park. Enjoy close proximity to some of the finest ski resorts and hiking trails in the region.Our pet-friendly hotel in Grand Rapids, MN, offers convenient amenities to help you save time. Our rooms come with free Wi-Fi, microwave, refrigerator, large-vehicle parking with outside outlets and access to guest laundry facilities. Enjoy a sound sleep, then fuel up with free SuperStart continental breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Super Eight Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Super Eight
Grand Rapids Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing