We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sawmill Inn of Grand Rapids
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stay away.”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

All of the rooms are ringing a two story pool area that is not policed properly. Nothing has been soundproofed; therefore, it was a nightmare trying to get to sleep and stay asleep.

The bed area was clean and did mot smell, thank goodness, but the bathroom was disgusting. The newish tile floor has been dirt stained, the grout is filthy, the sink had residue on it, and the tub didn't drain.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwaellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    23
    20
    23
    26
See reviews for
42
14
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Esko, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This place needs a complete overhaul! Used to be a nice place in its day but over the years its become run down and old. The last two times we've stayed here we found bugs in the window woodwork (had ro change rooms) and a worm on the bathroom sink. Bathroom just plain "icky". VERY DIRTY tub, floor, walls, ceiling tiles and sink. AC unit VERY loud. Kept us up all night. Tried to leave it off but room got too warm. Beds have very worn mattresses and bedding. Pillows flat. They ran out of towels so we had to reuse the ones we had used earlier in the day.

The only good thing was the dining room. The food was good. But you could stay next door and walk over here for dinner.

After coming here for yrs now its doubtful we will continue to return which is a shame because we used to love this place. The owners need to invest in some updates and clean the place up first.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprincekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Rapids hotels

California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Hotel has a nice feel and the staff provide great service. The food in the restaurant is excellent. The rooms are just ok and the beds and pillows are not very comfortable. The Judy Garland museum is right next door and that was a fun visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlhensley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ely, mn
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We're we're put in a poolside room which was hot and noisy. When we asked for a different room were told none were available, The rooms were outdated and shabby with an analog tv. The beds were hard and old. Pillows were flat and sheets were thin. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birchlakemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The Sawmill Inn of Grand Rapids is a step back to the 70's Holidome era and while they've done a little Northwoods theming in the common areas, not much else looks like it has changed. (When is the last time you actually got KEYS? Not keycards, but real, metal keys?) The rooms and corridors aren't what we would call retro; they're just old -- and there is really nothing special about this place. Having said that, the pool area attracts just as much attention as the Holidomes of old did and it was packed with families having a good time. It also looked reasonably well-maintained, the service was friendly and we couldn't complain about the rates, either.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Standby4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This was my 38th year & my family's 53rd year staying here for Easter wknd. This use to be the Holiday Inn & though not much has changed..thats the reason we love it! Great food, bar & people. The pool area is the largest I've ever seen in any hotel which makes it great for gatherings & the staff is there for anything you need. There's a great arcade for kids, room service that's very reasonable & shopping at target, cub food's or walmart right across the street. They always have fresh coffee at the lobby desk waiting each morning along with the morning newspapers...it's a great hotel at a great price & it's always good going back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freedom2fly247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

As many other reviewers have said, the rooms that are poolside are extremely loud. We were there on a Saturday night and apparently there were three birthday parties that evening - one in which one family had booked a room and invited 35+ people just to come for the pool and party. Meanwhile, guests that had PAID for rooms found the pool over-run with unsupervised kids.
The pool closes at 11, but there was a loud, drunk group in the area until midnight. I had to call the front desk and they told me the security guard was "working on it".
Beds are uncomfortable and hard - pillows are all flat as though they are old too. One of our beds was broken - sagged terribly when you sat on one side.
I've stayed at "rustic lodges" before and don't have a problem with the outdated, older feel - but this was just plain gross and uncomfortable, not to mention loud. Will never stay here again...

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sstrom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.1 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#4 of 11 in Grand Rapids
217 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sugar Lake Lodge
Sugar Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cohasset
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
326 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#7 of 11 in Grand Rapids
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawmill Inn of Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawmill Inn of Grand Rapids

Property: Sawmill Inn of Grand Rapids
Address: 2301 S. Pokegama Ave., Grand Rapids, MN 55744-9521
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sawmill Inn of Grand Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against a backdrop of timber, near area lakes and a lodge like feel, the Sawmill Inn Hotel and Conference Center will make your stay comfortable & relaxing as well as affordable.Over the years, we have attained a widespread reputation for first class dining, extraordinary customer service, quality and value. Approximately 100 full and part time people are employed at the Sawmill Inn, many have been with us for over 20 years. As a cohesive and accommodating team of professionals, we are here to provide you the type of service you deserve.With all of the amenities we have to offer, comfortable rooms, wonderful food, a team of service professionals and a unique and charming northwoods décor, we are dedicated to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable.Whether you enjoy “outdoor” activities like golfing, fishing, hunting, skiing, snowmobiling, hiking or boating...or you're the type who prefers the quiet comfort of simply relaxing by the pool, or unwinding in the sauna or whirlpool ... the Sawmill Inn is the place to stay!124 Rooms including six suitesFree use of AnyTime Fitness Coffee Makers / Hair DryersMicrowaves / Refrigerators(deluxe, king & suites only)High Speed InternetPet FriendlyVideo Game ArcadeGuest LaundryDry Cleaning ServiceRoom ServiceFree HOT Breakfast Monday-FridayPoolside, Poolview, Deluxe & King RoomsSuites12,000 sq. ft.Indoor Recreational Area. Relax in our climate controlled indoor domed pool and recreation area featuring a sauna, whirlpool, heated swimming pool and plenty of room for lounging. As the old adage goes, "Location, location, location," and when it comes to special events, we would definitely agree. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sawmill Inn Of Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Sawmill Hotel Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing