We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Elsewhere!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sawmill Inn of Grand Rapids

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sawmill Inn of Grand Rapids
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay Elsewhere!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Wow! The following review MIGHT show some sarcasm. The room was beautifully updated, in 1970 or earlier. The beds, though rock hard, appeared to inspire a nostalgic feel with the bed spread covers that both looked like they were bought at a garage sale AND felt as though they were meant to torture those unlucky enough to sleep within them. The bartender was about as friendly as Chris Brown after a few cocktails; they felt a tip was expected, not earned. Dining was legendary, just like the sign says; is legendary means that no one will talk about it at any point in their lifetime unless they got deathly sick from it. They did have a karaoke DJ that night, he was awesome but not likely affiliated with the hotel. I agree with many other comments; a landmark, yes. Beautiful outward look, yes. Trash inside, yes. Unless the owners want it to be razed, they should look at selling or hiring a manager who knows how to manager. Bad form, Sawmill, bad form, indeed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel34z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    22
    19
    23
    26
See reviews for
42
14
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is the biggest dump around. Many other nice places to stay in Grand Rapids. You don't need to waste your money here unless you like 30 year old beds and staff that is unpleasant. The owner's done seem to want to keep this landmark in business.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

An older property that needs some updating. The carpets in the hall ways and rooms need to be cleaned. Worked for us for only one night on way to Lake Itasca. Needed a room bad on way from Lake Superior. Only one washer dryer for guests to use. Had to go about 1 mi to an overpriced laundromat off property to wash some clothes. Breakfast and service in am were ok.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs. Will prob be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We just checked into our room and it's nasty as all get out! The carpet is stained, the rooms are older than the hills an it's just plain gross. Just called around for other hotels to no avail. Looks like we are roughing it for the next 2 days. The only good thing is the food here- it's wonderful. Stay somewhere else and come for the food!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bijous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orr, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had 2 adjoining rooms, which were ordinary motel rooms but very clean and with nice furniture. None of the 5 of us got a good night's sleep owing to the old-style mattresses and bad pillows. Bedspreads were used instead of duvets.

Breakfast was included and was very good. We also ate dinner at the restaurant, and we all had dishes which were disappointing, mostly because they had little flavor. The good part of the dinner was that we were each served a delicious popover.

With a some tweaking, this has the potential of being a really nice place. The pool area is quite spacious. And, it's right next door to The Judy Garland Museum and childhood home, which were both well worth seeing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maude59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

The city was busy with summer tourists when we stayed. The hotel hall traffic could get a bit loud at times, as folks walked by who were obviously enjoying being on vacation. It was no problem for us; the other guests were all friendly people. The pool area is huge--ideal for young families.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvaldemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcell, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Rooms are bare bones, haven't been updated in quite awhile and beds/pillows are average or a little below. You do get an actual key to get into the rooms, and love the vintage key slots at the front desk. We did, however, have an awesome experience at the Cedars Dining Room for dinner. Were given a ticket for a free drink since we were spending the night there, received free dessert as it was our anniversary, then were treated to another drink in the bar later on. Bartender made great white russian drinks. Food and drinks were all extremely reasonably priced, if not on the cheaper side. Also received a coupon for free buffet breakfast in the morning. We weren't able to stay for that so cannot comment on quality of food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#4 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#8 of 11 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
15.4 mi away
White Oak Inn & Suites
White Oak Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Deer River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawmill Inn of Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawmill Inn of Grand Rapids

Property: Sawmill Inn of Grand Rapids
Address: 2301 S. Pokegama Ave., Grand Rapids, MN 55744-9521
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sawmill Inn of Grand Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against a backdrop of timber, near area lakes and a lodge like feel, the Sawmill Inn Hotel and Conference Center will make your stay comfortable & relaxing as well as affordable.Over the years, we have attained a widespread reputation for first class dining, extraordinary customer service, quality and value. Approximately 100 full and part time people are employed at the Sawmill Inn, many have been with us for over 20 years. As a cohesive and accommodating team of professionals, we are here to provide you the type of service you deserve.With all of the amenities we have to offer, comfortable rooms, wonderful food, a team of service professionals and a unique and charming northwoods décor, we are dedicated to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable.Whether you enjoy “outdoor” activities like golfing, fishing, hunting, skiing, snowmobiling, hiking or boating...or you're the type who prefers the quiet comfort of simply relaxing by the pool, or unwinding in the sauna or whirlpool ... the Sawmill Inn is the place to stay!124 Rooms including six suitesFree use of AnyTime Fitness Coffee Makers / Hair DryersMicrowaves / Refrigerators(deluxe, king & suites only)High Speed InternetPet FriendlyVideo Game ArcadeGuest LaundryDry Cleaning ServiceRoom ServiceFree HOT Breakfast Monday-FridayPoolside, Poolview, Deluxe & King RoomsSuites12,000 sq. ft.Indoor Recreational Area. Relax in our climate controlled indoor domed pool and recreation area featuring a sauna, whirlpool, heated swimming pool and plenty of room for lounging. As the old adage goes, "Location, location, location," and when it comes to special events, we would definitely agree. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sawmill Inn Of Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Sawmill Hotel Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing