We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is what it is” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of New China Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
New China Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 40 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham
Level Contributor
95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just your run of the mill Chinese Restaurant. Everything comes in a box from Sysco/US Foods. The service was pretty good and for the most part, clean. It will fix your want for chinese food, but nothing to brag about.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not all that”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Atmosphere was lacking and service was mediocre at best. Food was the highlight and it was only fair to good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grand rapids, mn
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not many choices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have been a couple times to eat and re-evaluate this place. It's on the smaller side which we enjoy but the food choices are very limited, it's a very small buffet. We have run into the problem of the food being empty and a very long time for it to be refilled. The food they put out is average, the service is pleasant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mnnelsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cohasset, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“christmas shopping lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

after doing some christmas shopping my aunt and i stopped in for lunch. they have a nice size buffet. nice verity of food. we both got a fill.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stapleton, Alabama
Level Contributor
144 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good chinese Buffet.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

They do a great buffet at this Restaurant. the food is fresh and well cooked. You can Easily "Over Eat" here. but once in a while that's not a bad thing

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kanukgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New China Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to New China Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing