We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Itascan Motel(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rapids(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Grove Motel(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
Forest Lake Motel(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Americana Motel(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
1
1
3
4
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
1
3
4
16
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We were really hesitant to check in after reading reviews of this property from last year but after a two-night stay by two of our hockey teams and their families (pee wee and bantams), I think most of the group agreed that it was a decent place - overpriced, however, for the few amenities made available to guests. Sort of Country Inn and Suites amenities for alot more money and alot fewer staff people to help out. The property and the rooms are beautiful, the pool and sauna were open and great for the kids, and a very simple continental breakfast was served both mornings (no on-site restaurant or bar). Food wasn't anything great but it filled 30+ kids sufficiently (scrambled eggs and sausage, milk, juice, coffee, cereals, convenience store danishes and those tiny waxy donuts, toaster waffles). Two people staffing the lodge were pleasant and helpful, although probably overworked for the size of our group. The property suffers from lack of maintenance in things like room window locks, outdoor key card readers access (looked to be ripped off the lodge wall outside), lack of hangers, no mirror over a sink where a mirror should be, computer system fritzing at checkout, etc.., but it was a sufficient and pleasant place to house our boys and families for a winter weekend. Not sure it would be that way if you were one of only a few rooms that were staying there for any evening or weekend, but with our group they did rise to the occasion. The property has such potential, it's a shame that owner doesn't do something more with it. The Grand Rapids area is so beautiful and this could be a gem with some investment and promotion.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The rooms were nice, fairly clean but that was the end of it. Stayed 6 nights, only one breakfast was served and by 9am it was gone before we got there. No other breakfasts were served the rest of our stay. No one is at the front desk after 4pm. We were locked out of our room the 3rd night and had to wake up the son in law to get us in our room. The last night we were there we were locked out again. We had returned to our room at 7pm and could not get in. They have two numbers at the front desk to call. One is for the son in law and the other is for the owner, of which both live in the hotel. No one answered so we left, thinking maybe they were out to dinner, we returned later and no one would answer. We spent an hour calling and knocking on their doors. The owner was there in room 114. You can enter his room from inside and outside. His window was open and tv was on. When we knocked at his door he turned his tv off. We called the police who also called his room and left him a message. In the end we ended up going to another hotel at midnight and checking in. Dirty with no clean clothes or Pj's and we have a little one who turned 3 two wks earlier! The next day we could not wait to get our things and NEVER look back. The owner said it was not his problem and blamed his front desk staff and left! Do not walk away from this hotel, run like h---!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Based on the website, this would be great place to vacation and serve as home base while visiting relatives. However, the website is a FRAUD. There is no restaurant/bar, the 6-10 a.m. breakfast does not exist, there are no front desk personnel during the hours 1730 hours to 0900 hours, the room air conditioning is eradict and the premises are generally unkept (cigarette butts are everywhere). This place gives Grand Rapids a very bad name; next time I will stay in Deer River.

Room Tip: eradict air conditioning. no towel service
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I wish I had read the reviews before we booked two nights here for a wedding! The website looks beautiful...and it's a beautiful lodge from the outside. Unfortunately, the inside has been neglected and the place is run down. Our room had stains on the carpet and smelled like a wet pool towel. The rest of the room appeared to be clean. The brochure said there was a restaurant next door and a 24hour convenience store at the front desk. However the restaurant was permanently closed and the front desk didn't have even water or a toothbrush. Also my 8 year old daughter nearly fell out the second story window when she leaned her head on the screen and it fell out. Echoing a previous writer, the sauna had no door knob...not sure it even worked. The pool shower and bathroom was FILTHY. The breakfast areasaws dirty and I wouldnt let my family eat there so we went out instead. Word of advice-stay away!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mahtomedigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The management should be embarrassed by the condition of the golf course. They have an August deal for $1 a hole - and I still felt ripped off. There is virtually no grass on the tee boxes and the greens looked like that haven't been watered in weeks. The rough is so long, you'd swear you're playing in the US Open. You're better of playing at Eagle Ridge.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
4  Thank GolfGuy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews