We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service”

Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

I booked a room and one of the party rooms in early April for a June date. In late May, I got a voice mail with no call back number saying they were too busy on the date I booked the party room as a convention was in town so I would have to reschedule it. No alternatives, no compensation, no call back when I called to see what could be done and no apology. I would not book an event of any kind- -large or small -- with this facility.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank auroramorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    3
    4
    16
See reviews for
14
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

We spent a weekend at this lodge for a family wedding in the summer of 2009. The buildings were beautiful and clean. Very north-woodsy. There was plenty of space for large groups- the conference room was beautiful! Meeting rooms were available for groups and a very nice lobby area for relaxing. The lodge is located on a golf course, so obviously the grounds are beautiful as well. There isn't much in the area for stores and restaurants, but the lodge has its own restaurant/bar which is very nice. The price was reasonable- at least at the wedding/group rate. I would recommend this place both for a wedding or a weekend retreat in the woods.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthmuffin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

We recently booked two nights at Wendigo Lodge. Our first impression of the resort was good until we went down the hall to our room; the hall was filled with cigarette smoke. We mentioned this to the front desk staff but the smoking continued. Our room was missing the peep hole leaving an open hole between our room and the hall; perfect for the smoke to enter our room. There was a lot of noise during our first night. When this was mentioned to the front staff and conveyed to the people in the room making the noise, it then increased. This included MANY slamming doors.

The next morning when walking past the room, there was a smell of stale smoke and we saw about 6 guns lined up in the entry way. We found out later this room was occupied by a family member of the owner. Based on our experience the night before and what we saw in that room we decided to check out a night early.

There are 2 rules in play here - so, if you decide to stay here, check and see if the owner’s family will be staying at the same time. If they are, you have no recourse on any of their behavior. It is worth a mention that the staff - all of them - were fantastic.

This is not an inexpensive place to stay and there are many other places in Grand Rapids. I’d suggest you check them out and give this place a miss.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Scotgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Rapids hotels

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

Staying at Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center should be a wonderful experience. The lodge and rooms are very nice, the golf course is the best in the area and reasonably priced, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. But our night there didn't turn out that way. The people in the room next door kept us awake much of the night. They were yelling obscenities during much of the time, slamming doors both to the hallway and the patio, and banged against the wall of our room something hard like a golf club or baseball bat. The facility is no smoking but smoke was billowing out of this room and into ours during much of the day and night. And, to top it all off, walking by the door once when it was open, we noticed about five or six shotguns and/or rifles stacked up by the door. We felt threatened by this coupled with the drunken behavior. We complained numerous times to the staff but they seemed unable to address the situation. The following day we found out why. One of the occupants of the offending room was the resort owner's grandson. The staff's efforts to deal with the situation were undermined by the untouchable status of the room's occupants. I will never stay at this facility again and will advise everyone I know to also stay away, until it is under new ownership. What a pity this is because it is a wonderful facility.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bobandjoan124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2007

We stayed here for only one night as we were doing a drive trip and only wished we could stay longer. The resort was awesome from the front desk staff to the golf reception area and the restaurant/ bar.
The suite they had given us was amazing the furniture was to die for and comfort like no other. The kitchen was huge and they gave us a view of the golf course which was great. To seat outside our door and see this was mezmorizing.

The food was great and lots of it for the price we paid. They have great beer on tap as well which is a must after a hot game of golf. We did use the pool and hot tub and they were adequate for us.
A hidden secret this is and I know we will be back

Thanks Charlotte for all your help and advice

  • Liked — the roominess and beauty
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank murchcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2007

I visited Wendigo this past month for an extended weekend, and I'd have to say I was sorely disappointed. Although the buildings and grounds were gorgeous, there was a severe lack in accessibility. There are no elevators, so have fun getting to the second floor if you're unable to walk stairs. There was also no automatic door openers on any of the resorts outer doors, making it difficult for anyone in a wheelchair to hold the door open while trying to get in and out, not to mention using those luggage carts to get in and out. There are no handrails in the showers (now we're talking about the supposed handicap accessible rooms) or slip guards on the floor. Nor is there any sort of bench or seat to sit on in the shower. They did make good accomodation in regards to having it open underneath the kitchen sink to be able to get right up next to it, and larger doorways to go through vs. trying to get through the normal sized doors with a chair. Strange thing: there was parts of the hotel randomly missing throughout. Locks on doors seemed to have been taken off, as well as door handles. There was a door missing completely in one of the bathrooms. There were several other issues that arose, so be very wary if you need any sort of special accomodations... I strongly urge you to look else where to enjoy your stay in Grand Rapids.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank juniperpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2006

Wendigo Golf Club and Resort is a new facility 5 miles from Grand Rapids Minnesota.
We'll leave reviews of the golf course to golfers (not us). The "lodge" is a takeoff on the
grand old lodges of days gone by - with big timbers everywhere including furniture made
out of rustic style timber. The rooms were clean and well equiped for the price paid.
Pets are allowed - a plus for us but a hefty pet fee of $30. Continental breakfast is
average. Food in restaurant just average - nothing memorable. Service was friendly.
Lots of open space and of course 18 holes of golf! No lake. New - so don't expect all
the finishing touches on the property to be completed. Nice indoor pool and sauna area.
Quiet surroundings in a remote location away from the main highway. Bar had nice
drink specials. Kid friendly - lots of kids in the pool area on weekend. New lodge lacks
charm but a pass overall.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJFogelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
3.2 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
3.5 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#4 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#6 of 11 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#8 of 11 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.4 mi away
Timberlake Lodge Hotel
Timberlake Lodge Hotel
#3 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center

Property: Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center
Address: 20108 Golf Crest Rd, Grand Rapids, MN 55744-4786
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Wendigo Hotel Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing