We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disgusted with the owner of the property”

Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disgusted with the owner of the property”
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Booked a two night stay 3 months prior to our trip to Wendigo. First night was just okay, nothing to brag about. Second day our key cards were turned off early afternoon for all three rooms that we booked and there was no desk attendant at the check in desk to get the key cards turned back on. Called all 5-6 phone numbers listed on a sheet of paper at the front desk and left messages for assistance and not a sole returned our calls. We finally had to reprogram our own key cards to get back in our rooms after we waited approx. 5 hours for someone. They never did return our phone calls nor come to the hotel to help us out. I could go on forever with the terrible service at Wendigo but I don't have time and not enough space. The hotel was left open with no attendant or any type of staff on duty from early to mid-afternnon on our second day through the entire night.
DON'T STAY AT WENDIGO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank diane_hasbargen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    3
    4
    16
See reviews for
14
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

My spouse and I have stayed here several times in the past 5 years and we have always had a good experience. This time was different. First, we noticed that the road going into the hotel had not been plowed after a snowfall the night before. It wasn't until the 3rd night that someone plowed the road. The first room that they gave us had not been cleaned but the woman at the front desk promptly set us up in a better room. She was very helpful and accommodating. It was very quiet the first night. However, the next two nights were horrible. Some of the guests were loud and shouting obscenties in the halls as late as 2 am in the morning. There were banging of doors, kids running all over and shouting going on. The front desk did offer to move us down to the end of hall one night but we were already in bed and did not want to pack up everything and move.

The garbage bin outside of hotel was overflowing with bags of trash. The pool was not functioning due to some safety issues and still some of the guests were allowed to us it.

It is clear that there is a managment/owner problem here. I hope this place will survive.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lakelover60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

This place used to be amazing and beautiful. It has really gone down in overall quality over the years and appears to be on its way out. I would recmommend saving your money and health and to find something else. The pool is green, there are full garbage bags all over, the plants and outside foliage have not been tended to in months, they have old construction supplies laying all over the place in front of the entrance, it is dirty and the staff is rude and innapropriate.
I have never written a review before this but felt that I better warn people that want to enjoy Grand Rapids. There are several other places to go with so much more to offer. (Timberlake Lodge, Rutger's, etc.)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank funfunfun18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Rapids hotels

Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

I booked a room and one of the party rooms in early April for a June date. In late May, I got a voice mail with no call back number saying they were too busy on the date I booked the party room as a convention was in town so I would have to reschedule it. No alternatives, no compensation, no call back when I called to see what could be done and no apology. I would not book an event of any kind- -large or small -- with this facility.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank auroramorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We spent a weekend at this lodge for a family wedding in the summer of 2009. The buildings were beautiful and clean. Very north-woodsy. There was plenty of space for large groups- the conference room was beautiful! Meeting rooms were available for groups and a very nice lobby area for relaxing. The lodge is located on a golf course, so obviously the grounds are beautiful as well. There isn't much in the area for stores and restaurants, but the lodge has its own restaurant/bar which is very nice. The price was reasonable- at least at the wedding/group rate. I would recommend this place both for a wedding or a weekend retreat in the woods.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthmuffin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We recently booked two nights at Wendigo Lodge. Our first impression of the resort was good until we went down the hall to our room; the hall was filled with cigarette smoke. We mentioned this to the front desk staff but the smoking continued. Our room was missing the peep hole leaving an open hole between our room and the hall; perfect for the smoke to enter our room. There was a lot of noise during our first night. When this was mentioned to the front staff and conveyed to the people in the room making the noise, it then increased. This included MANY slamming doors.

The next morning when walking past the room, there was a smell of stale smoke and we saw about 6 guns lined up in the entry way. We found out later this room was occupied by a family member of the owner. Based on our experience the night before and what we saw in that room we decided to check out a night early.

There are 2 rules in play here - so, if you decide to stay here, check and see if the owner’s family will be staying at the same time. If they are, you have no recourse on any of their behavior. It is worth a mention that the staff - all of them - were fantastic.

This is not an inexpensive place to stay and there are many other places in Grand Rapids. I’d suggest you check them out and give this place a miss.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Scotgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Staying at Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center should be a wonderful experience. The lodge and rooms are very nice, the golf course is the best in the area and reasonably priced, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. But our night there didn't turn out that way. The people in the room next door kept us awake much of the night. They were yelling obscenities during much of the time, slamming doors both to the hallway and the patio, and banged against the wall of our room something hard like a golf club or baseball bat. The facility is no smoking but smoke was billowing out of this room and into ours during much of the day and night. And, to top it all off, walking by the door once when it was open, we noticed about five or six shotguns and/or rifles stacked up by the door. We felt threatened by this coupled with the drunken behavior. We complained numerous times to the staff but they seemed unable to address the situation. The following day we found out why. One of the occupants of the offending room was the resort owner's grandson. The staff's efforts to deal with the situation were undermined by the untouchable status of the room's occupants. I will never stay at this facility again and will advise everyone I know to also stay away, until it is under new ownership. What a pity this is because it is a wonderful facility.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bobandjoan124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
3.2 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
3.5 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#4 of 11 in Grand Rapids
217 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Sugar Lake Lodge
Sugar Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cohasset
68 reviews
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
325 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#7 of 11 in Grand Rapids
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center

Property: Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center
Address: 20108 Golf Crest Rd, Grand Rapids, MN 55744-4786
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Wendigo Hotel Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing