We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a very comfortable place to stay at.”
Review of The Itascan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Itascan Motel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Reviewed 22 February 2011

I stayed at a few more hotels in Grand Rapids for my business trip but did not find them very satisfactory so booked to the itascan. The location of the place is wonderful and in walking distant to restaurants. The staff was very helpful when my computer was not reading their wireless signal and it took them a very long time to fix that with no charge. They also treated me like family. The rooms were clean and peaceful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank constanttraveler1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, General Manager at The Itascan Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2011

Thank you very much for your input. We greatly appreciate positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2010

I stopped after a long ride on the motorcycle, got into my room. Brought in my gear and headed out for some pizza. After a couple of beers with dinner I returned to the room and don't know if it was ever cleaned from the last guest. Of all the motels I have stayed in this one was the worst.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwoWheelTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Manager at The Itascan Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

We would like to thank you for staying at the Itascan. We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope that we can accommodate you better if you choose to stay with us again. Thank you for your imput.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

i loved the owners/ managers, they were friendly and helpful. there is a decent amount of privacy and the rooms are beautiful. i felt very welcome and at home here. it was very close to restuarants and all sorts of shops so it was very convieniant. the cable t.v. just sweatened the pot. love love love this place!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fawndk618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

My wife and I stayed here 7/12/09, for one night, while attending a personal event. Nice, clean room for a fair price. Nice people.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHOPPER21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

i thought that the itascan motel was a very nice and relaxing place to stay. i stayed with my family(a family of 11) and had the time of my life!!! there was a proffesional staff and the rooms were clean and comfortable. the rates were affordable. overall i enjoyed my stay at the itascan motel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashash101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2006

Boy, do I wish that someone else had posted a review of this motel before my mom & I made the mistake of staying there. The only reason we stayed instead of asking for our money back after seeing the room is that we got there fairly late & had already had such a long day that we weren't up for having to find another place to spend the night. My mom & I were driving the Mississippi River Road & looking for a cheap place to stay in Grand Rapids. We stayed at an Americinn the night before & decided we wanted to try a non-chain this night. The Itascan website (----) doesn't make it look like a 4-star hotel, but it makes it look like the rooms are clean, and it says that you get free breakfast. I called around & checked prices and also mapped the various independent motels--the Itascan was about the cheapest available (we paid 53.55 including taxes & fees, senior discount) and is also one of the only independents in town not located right by the train tracks. Problems we encountered:
1) When I was checking in, the woman at the front desk read the price I had been quoted to me and began to question it as if she wouldn't honor it. Presumably this is because I was given the sr. rate as I was traveling with my 73-year old mom and I am in my 30's, obviously not a senior, but come on. You don't question a rate that has already been guaranteed to a customer.
2) The room was FILTHY. There were cobwebs plainly visible below the shelf that the TV was on. My mom took her shoes off & found that the bottoms of her white socks were practically black after walking around for just a few minutes. We made a point of checking for bedbugs before getting into bed.
3) Noisy. The main north/south road through town goes right past the motel. We were even in one of the rooms furthest from the road, but it was still loud.
4) No free breakfast. Matter of fact, there wasn't even an employee in the office when my mom went to check, probably around 8 AM. Someone pulled up & started unlocking the door as we left sometime after 9. Oh well, I can only imagine what their breakfast items would have been like.

Live and learn. I'm no snob, this wasn't the first time I'd stayed in a budget motel, and I don't expect the Ritz for $50. I do expect better than this place, though. Their website & sign outside the building claim that it's newly renovated; if that's the case, I can only imagine what kind of shape it was in before.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ann0724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItascanOwner, Owner at The Itascan Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2010

Dear Trip Advisor,
This review was written almost 5 years ago, and we have made many renovations since then. We have refurnished the rooms and try to meet all the needs of our costumers. Can you please remove this review, for it is written before we made the renovations. And now we make sure that the rooms are thouroughly cleaned. Also, this person recommended another motel, so it might've been written by them.
Thanking you in Advance,
Management of the Itascan Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Grand Rapids, MN
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#3 of 11 in Grand Rapids
237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Forest Lake Motel
Forest Lake Motel
#7 of 11 in Grand Rapids
31 reviews
0.9 mi away
Timberlake Lodge Hotel
Timberlake Lodge Hotel
#4 of 11 in Grand Rapids
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Itascan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Itascan Motel

Address: 610 S Pokegama Ave, Grand Rapids, MN 55744-3822
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range: £44 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Itascan Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Itascan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itascan Hotel Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing